We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greencastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The INN at DePauw & Event Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greencastle
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really great experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

On both drips to DePauw - first to see the college and second to check my son in - we had excellent service. Everyone was so nice, our rooms were very clean. The air conditioner system was a bit loud but we didn't care since everything else was so nice and inviting. The desk associates answered all my questions and gave great directions and their cookies were GREAT!
Our room was quiet even though it faced Indiana and there were a bunch of kids checking in. We will try to stay at the Inn whenever we come to see our son there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saki5394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sure we will be seeing you over the course of the next 4 years so we will try to make sure the air conditioners are running a little more quietly!! And as always we will have great cookies and friendly staff here to greet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
13
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our son and his fiance had their wedding reception at the Inn at DePauw. Without exception, every staff person did everything they could to make our experience and that of our guests wonderful. We spent three nights and our out of town guests spent two nights at the Inn. The guest rooms are very nice and quiet, the bed was very comfortable, the food is excellent but it was the staff that made the entire weekend memorable. From the front desk staff to the chef to the event coordinators, to the wait staff, everyone was extremely attentive, friendly and courteous. Everything is very convenient at the Inn with the dining room open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a sports bar for lunch, dinner and late evening gatherings. The lobby area is great for meeting up with friends or catching a little TV on the large flat panel TV. The reception was outstanding! Every detail was tended to, the room was beautiful and the food was great. It certainly will be an incredible weekend to remember!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the very nice review. We in turn really enjoyed having your friends and family here with us at the Inn. I am glad that you were able to spend time enjoying each other and that all of your expectations were met. Thank you again we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I had lived in Greencastle for 8 years, but moved away 25 years ago. We stopped there for one night while on a recent trip. There aren't many hotel options in the area and we remember when this hotel (formerly The Walden Inn) was built. It was very nice at that time.

We stayed one night and the hotel was very nice, a bit above average. We had a king room on the second floor facing S. Jackson St. We quickly noticed that the windows gave very little sound proofing. We could hear people talking as they walked by on the sidewalk and traffic, even though there wasn't much, was as if our window was open. The room was very nice and modestly decorated. The bathroom area was small and was made for one person at a time. We didn't have any meals at the hotel. The restaurant area looked neat and well kept, but was empty the evening we arrived and the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for returning to the Inn after 25 years. I'm sure a lot has changed in that time, but I am pleased that you found the Inn to be comfortable. We hope that you will visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Inn at DePauw, Greencastle, In. and it was an excellent experience.
We have two small poodles (teacup) and the staff loved them. We were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff. The rooms were comfortable and quiet and we will certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Well thank you very much for letting all of us enjoy the company of Guido and Ginger, they were as nice and friendly as their owners. We hope that all of you will be back to visit us soon, and thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently held an anniversary party for my parents at the hotel. Lauren was absolutely wonderful to work with. We worked together for about 3 months. She was so helpful and had great ideas.The event was in the Galleria and was just beautiful. The day of the event was perfect. The staff for the day was not only helpful, but very friendly to those in attendance. I would recommend the hotel for any type of event. Stephanie G.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Stephanie,
Thank you for your response. I have to agree with you, Lauren does a wonderful job with all of her events, and I'm so happy that all worked out perfect for your parents anniversary!
Thank you again, we hope to see you again!
Michele Faison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

my sister and i found this to be the only nice hotel/motel in town. the front desk reception was very cordial and help. the rooms were modest but clean and functional. the breakfast buffet was first class and to our surprise, "the old duck" is now located in the hotel. i attended meetings and meals(again the food was quite good). a plus, is the location is right on campus. i would recomend the inn!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your recommendations. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and had a nice time visiting the DePauw campus. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We held a cocktail buffet at the Inn for our daughter's sorority. Everything from the initial contact with the banquet manager to the event itself went smoothly. The menu was perfect and the food delicious. The staff was helpful and professional.We received numerous compliments from the attendees. Would definitely hold an event there again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juevos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are very happy that all turned out so well for your cocktail reception and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greencastle
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Cloverdale
Super 8 Cloverdale
#1 of 6 in Cloverdale
420 reviews
20.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Rockville
Econo Lodge Rockville
#3 of 4 in Rockville
68 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Covered Bridge Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Cloverdale Greencastle
8.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cloverdale
38 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cloverdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN at DePauw & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN at DePauw & Event Center

Property: The INN at DePauw & Event Center
Address: 2 West Seminary Street, Greencastle, IN 46135-1640
Location: United States > Indiana > Greencastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greencastle
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
The Inn At Depauw And Event Center
The Inn At Depauw & Event Hotel Greencastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing