We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Granger
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Went to ND football game with friends. We checked in on Friday afternoon after a 12 hour drive, and after unpacking and a short nap, we left to go to Notre Dame University to spend the rest of the day and see a hockey game. Very tired and in need to wake up early, we arrived back to the hotel at 1:30 am. We saw the drum corps at midnight in NDU. (very enjoyable). Since the temperature had cooled down, we turned on the heaters to both rooms which were adjoining. Shortly after, a terrible smell had engulfed both rooms and the smoke detector went off in one of the rooms. We quickly turned off the heaters, open the windows and the doors to air the rooms out, as well we turned on the bathroom fans. Two things came to our immediate attention. We were on the third floor, and one of the windows we opened, had no screen! The window was wide open with no screen! Good thing we had no children or pets! Also, the room with the alarm ringing did not have a working fan in the bathroom. We called the manager, Muhammad Chaudhry, and he came to our rooms to inspect the heaters. It was obvious that they were not maintained, but he would not admit to that. He said that the smell would go away eventually. He asked if we wanted a new room, however by this time it was 2:30 am, we were already unpacked and we needed to awake at 8:00am. We left the windows and doors open (and one fan running) with the heat on high. The manager said he would take care of us when we checked out. We were staying two nights, and he knew this since he checked us in. It wasn't until 3:30 that we went to sleep that night. After parking at ND early in the morning we had a short nap in the car so our whole day would not be ruined. On check out on Sunday, Muhammad was nowhere to be found, and left no memo with the desk clerk about our situation. She said she could take $50 off the one night. We said it was unacceptable and asked to speak to Muhammed. She called him, and I proceeded to argue with him on the phone for almost an hour! At times I had to ask him to slow down his speaking so I could understand him. He said he would give us $60 off. Again unacceptable. The rooms price was inflated to $200/night due to the game, and the regular rates were $60. We offered to pay the regular rate for the one night. Muhammed would not budge. I asked him to meet us half way and he wouldn't. We tried for $75 off and he wouldn't. Tired and now not looking forward to a long drive home, we took the $60 off and left very disappointed. Easy to do nothing when hiding behind a phone Muhammed. As we were leaving, a staff member said to us, "it is very hard to get any money from an Arabian". Wow, did she really say that? It was quite offensive. We go to a Notre Dame game every year, however we will NEVER AGAIN step foot in a RED ROOF INN. The hotel was very empty, and now we understand why. I'm surprised they are still in business! Oh, by the way, the rooms were not very clean either. Hair on sink when we arrived, etc. All I can say about the RED ROOF INN and our experience, is DISGUSTING. Beware travellers, for $200/night, I think as consumers we should all expect and deserve better!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is really a great hotel to stay in. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was very spacious and CLEAN!! Continental breakfast in the morning was very nice bonus and wi-fi. We had a very relaxing stay and will definitly return for all our future stays.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenasue73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

At ck in the front desk staff was so friendly, they truely made me feel welcomed. The lobby was nice and clean as was the room. Absolutely LOVED the jucuzzi tub we had inside our room and being that we were there for 2 days it was also a nice addition to have a frig in the room as well as free internet access. This location also offered a free breakfast in the morning.
I also really liked the location, it is kind of tucked away yet so close to so many things.
Would definately stay again and reccomend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haterskeep_hatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stayed overnight while traveling cross country. The room price was reasonable. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Everything in the room worked. The room was large in size; possibly close to 500 square feet.

My room overlooked the Indiana Toll Road, but it was quiet - did not hear the highway all night. Early August must be the dead season for this hotel; there must not have been more than 10 rooms occupied, and even though my room was right off the lobby, there was no noise at all!

Most Red Roofs offer coffee and that's it. This one actually has a breakfast room with breakfast. The meal is nothing special - there is nothing hot, just cereal and some (decent) pastries and bagels, but it is more than I usually find at The Roof.

I often travel with a dog, and much appreciated the walking areas and the garbage cans for easy disposal of clean-up supplies. It is surprising how many hotels place only one exterior garbage can, and put it right next to the front door to the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chowowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were very satisfied with our stay. We feel it was even better than the last time we stayed there. The staff members were very accomodating. The reasonable price was very much appreciated, too. We will stay there again the next time we are in town.
C. S. Dillon
Florida

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiley22Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel once last year (after it was renovated) and it wasn't spectacular but everything has recently been upgraded so it was at least pleasant. We thought that since we'd had an ok experience there last year we would stay there again. NEVER AGAIN! The whole floor smelled like smoke. Our room was non-smoking but filthy! The security lock on the door was broken off and when we told the clerk on duty her response was "ok" no more no less. The bathroom was filthy. The sink was cruddy and the bathtub was downright dangerous it was so slippery. There was no coffee in the room but there was an empty small refridgerator? Don't know what that was all about... The carpeting throughout the hotel is in sad need of a cleaning. The continental breakfast consists of 4 plastic bulk food bins of dry ceral, some prepackaged "buns" and 2 carafes of coffee (which ran out....) I'm not sure if the staff was awake when I checked in or out. They are the most subdued hotel staff I've ever met. No smiles, no how was your stay, come again NOTHING but here's your receipt. I don't expect to be in a four star hotel at this price but I would expect that the rooms were clean and the staff at the very least be friendly. Sorry for you but I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spagal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We had low expectations for this 2 star hotel and we were pleasantly surprised when it exceeded our expectations. The room was nice; the breakfast area was beautiful; breakfast offerings were 4 cereals and donuts. No complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank heyjude2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granger
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mishawaka / South Bend at Heritage Square
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - South Bend - Mishawaka - North
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mishawaka, IN
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mishawaka South Bend Area
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame

Address: 1325 E University Dr, Granger, IN 46530-4473
Location: United States > Indiana > Granger
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Granger
Price Range: $59 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Mishawaka - Notre Dame Hotel Mishawaka
Mishawaka Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing