We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Goshen
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Ohio
1 review
“UGH”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is out-dated and tired. I noted the other comments stating that the staff was friendly; however I only encountered once such soul. My first room was filthy and the bed was as hard as a rock. I moved the next night to what appeared to be the cleaner side of the facility but suffered the wrath of the neighbor’s toddlers! I absolutely agree that this Courtyard does not hold up to Marriott standards and I even called Marriott to discuss this. They simply referred me to the hotel manager who never returned my call. He emailed me (I am a rewards member and email is on file) and stated that he was sorry and would give me 2,000 bonus reward points. While I am appreciative, I am simply disappointed. I give it my best effort to always stand by Marriott and use their facilities when I travel, however I will not be returning here. It is a shame because I will be now frequently traveling to this area. I hope this helps someone else. I never complain and typically rave about Marriott. What a letdown! To add one more thing, the internet is only wired in the rooms!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    48
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
33
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel is a little outdated, but the staff make up for it. The front desk help was always very friendly and showed that they cared for their guests.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BoilerUp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

If you are a diehard Marriott point collector like me and will stay in any Marriott property for the points and stays, then this Courtyard is your only option. Otherwise stay at the new Holiday Inn!

This is an old hotel gone under and purchased by Marriott Properties. the Rooms are dirty, the plumbing is old and the bathrooms are poorly maintained. The room service does the bare minimum and will not change the sheets unless you request it.

The staff is polite and friendly, The breakfast is geriatrics food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKlimeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel rooms are in need of a serious update. I can't understand why central AC units aren't the first thing to be installed! The main reason for my review, however, is to comment on the restaurant service. The morning server was rude by anyone's standards, and definitely not the first person you want greeting you in the morning. I was taken aback by how fast she shoved my check in front of me. I hadn't even sat down from the breakfast bar! I am a very frequent business traveler (80% of the month) but I guarantee that the next time I return to Goshen, it will not be to this property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I am extremely sorry to hear that you did not feel your stay was up to Marriott standards. I assure you, we are carrying on in the Marriott tradition of excellence that has made Marriott an internationally recognized name associated with excellence around the world for over eighty years. The Courtyard by Marriott in Goshen is Indiana Amish Country's premier hotel. We have achieved consistently high marks on various Marriott property inspections. Please contact me on your next visit to the area and I will see to it that your next stay is a better one and will be at a special manager discount. My apologies and I hope to hear from you.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Courtyard by Marriott Goshen proved to be a very nice stay. The property is well maintained, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff very accommodating. I would definitely book a room again at the Courtyard. Reviews that reflect individual idiosyncrasies when traveling should be taken for what they are worth. When traveling, you are not at your home - you are sharing a property with other people who may bring bad manners, etc. The fact that you might not have the perfect wireless environment, etc. may influence your decision on a property - but, give me a clean room, nice staff and a warm friendly environment like the Courtyard by Marriott Goshen - and we will be back every time to enjoy! Kudos to Alan - the Night Auditor for his help checking in and out - and thanks for your friendly manner!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCinIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goshengm, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back, we here at the Courtyard by Marriott in Goshen appreciate your business and can't wait to see you on your next visit to the Goshen area.

Derrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizen of life
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The rooms are clean and the staff tries to be friendly and helpful, but this hotel just doesn't cut it. Was told 4 days in a row that the wired internet connection in my room would be fixed, it never was. They compensated us with breakfast vouchers (typical hot breakfast found at most upscale hotels, difference is they charge $7 for it instead of including it with the room like most others.) Had to ask for them each morning at the front desk and explain why I was supposed to be getting them, had one desk jockey try to make me feel bad for getting them! I reminded him that I would much rather have internet access than BREAKFAST!!! Beds are rock hard, no fridge, microwave, etc. Just not what I expect from a Marriott property. Plenty of other acceptable choices in the area, get 1 of those instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel is not a standard "Courtyard," in that it wasn't built using the Courtyard prototype. Instead, the Courtyard program has been adapted to a pre-existing building, built (I would conjecture) in the 1970's.

The exterior has a sort of modern Scandinavia-meets-Adirondack lodge look, with flagstone pillars and rough-sawn, dark brown painted siding, and ribbons of windows. It stands out in a positive way among the banal sprawlscape of Highway 33 ("Lincolnway").

The interiors represent a somewhat awkward marriage of Courtyard standards and the pre-existing "Adirondack Moderne." The furnishings are generic--fairly new, basically comfortable, certainly clean, but not the slightest bit stylish or distinctive.

Not surprisingly for an older property, this hotel performed very poorly when it comes to acoustic separation. The demising partitions blocked remarkably little of the neighbors' noise; plumbing was noisy; and the doors blocked remarkably little of the hall noise.

After falling asleep somewhat early on my second night, I was awakened by a family with toddlers moving into the adjacent room. I could hear everything--I can even tell you the boys' names. I got dressed, went to the front desk, and asked to switch rooms. The employee was extremely accommodating and efficient. He made a point of checking the rooms adjacent to the available rooms for potentially noisy guest groups. He gave me a free breakfast voucher (otherwise it's $6.95 for a rather good and copious buffet). He offered to assist moving my stuff. I switched rooms at about midnight.

The noise level in the second room was okay, but this was really only because the neighboring rooms had single occupants who (like me) spent little time there. I could still clearly hear their phones ring, a snatch of TV, when they showered, etc.

There is an indoor-outdoor pool, as advertised. The outdoor part is closed in the winter. The indoor part isn't large, and one "sunbathes" under an acoustic tile ceiling with 2' x 2' fluorescent lights, like one would find in an open office. But there is a hot tub (indoor) and it was a pleasant amenity.

One modest surprise: no elevator. If you're on the second floor, you lug your baggage up & down the stairs. Not a big deal to me, as I pack light and am fit, but I saw several guests struggling. (Given the excellent service, I expect that these guests were offered but refused assistance, as I did.)

From what I could determine, Goshen has no hotel/motel offerings other than the mid- to low-market brands of national chains. One, the Holiday Inn Express, is a very recent building, built to the national prototypical standard. Therefore it might be expected to have better acoustic separations (this is something hotel architects figured out in the 1990's). I cannot personally vouch for it one way or the other; however, I will probably give it a try next time I'm in Goshen. The Courtyard's lack of acoustic separation is a very serious problem to me.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skidrowe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goshen
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 6 in Goshen
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Goshen
Comfort Inn Goshen
#6 of 6 in Goshen
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
771 reviews
13.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
10.8 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Lincolnway E, Goshen, IN 46526-6412 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Goshen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Goshen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Goshen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn and Suites Goshen is located in the middle of Amish Country on Lincolnway East, just 45 minutes from South Bend and close to downtown Goshen, and is near attractions like the Old Bag Factory, the Quilt Garden Tour, and the Shipshewana Flea Market. Business travelers also appreciate the close proximity to Elkhart County Courthouse, Goshen College, and the Goshen industrial parks. This hotel in Goshen, IN offers a welcoming lodge-style lobby complete with a fireplace, 24hr market, a unique indoor/outdoor pool, and a free full hot breakfast buffet daily. Guest rooms are highlighted by free WiFi, new Sealy pillow top mattresses, in room refrigerators and microwaves, 46" flat screen TV's with premium cable. When looking for a little more space on the road, upgrade to the Presidential Suite with separate sleeping and living area, microwave, and mini-fridge. Choose the Quality Inn and Suites Goshen and enjoy the comfort and convenience that make this the top Goshen, IN hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Goshen Hotel Goshen
Courtyard Goshen
Goshen Courtyard
Goshen Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing