We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the Gambler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Majestic Star Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gary
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
376 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Convenient for the Gambler”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is a 24-hour shuttle between the hotel and casino, but if the train is running or is stopped, there could be a long delay. However, it is possible to walk between the two buildings because there is a covered walkway. Yes, the train track separates the two buildings.

The room had a comfortable bed, a side chair, table and chair, iron and ironing board, and an old-style television. And a clock! In addition, you felt close to your neighbors because I could hear coughing in the next room. Perhaps most people only stay in the room to freshen up between trips to the casino.

The room had the smallest tub I've ever seen, but shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were provided. A coffee maker was provided.

The one thing I want to emphasize is that every person I encountered was friendly and helpful. Perhaps if the traveler demonstrates a little courtesy, they will be rewarded in kind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwjwjwjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    23
    15
    30
See reviews for
7
31
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found this place by accident off he GPS. We weren't able to check it out on trip advisor. It turned out to be a nice hotel. The beds were comfortable, room was clean bathroom was clean and had a really nice buffet at the casino. We were told the wifi wasn't working but it worked for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A few weeks ago my friend and I stayed at the Majestic Star Hotel & Casino, Gary, Indiana. This was truly a fun place to stay even if you are not a gambling person. I mainly stayed there for the fabulous seafood & steak buffet and the live entertainment on the weekends. The rooms were reasonable and the staff extremely friendly. I would definitely stay there again when in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanadelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Of all the casinos in this area this is probably the dingiest one. Essentially they've taken two old riverboat casinos and kind of welded them together. I really like rolling in to this place about 4 am because there is always a colorful bunch of characters hanging around. Yes this place is smoky and a little run down but it's safe and believe it or not I've actually left here a winner on a couple of occasions. I don't know about the rest of you but it seems like most of the casinos aren't giving up squat lately. Another bright note is the breakfast buffet I wasn't expecting much but left pleasantly surprised. They had made to order omelets and waffles everything was fresh and very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with 3 friends one of them being a black card member which is this casinos highest tier card so he got us a comped room. The minute we arrived I could already tell this hotel and casino was very outdated from looking at the two rusted casino boats by the parking garage. We checked in at the desk by a rude lady at the desk and walked into our room which was hands down one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in, room wss very bare with only two beds two pictures a table and tv. This room made a motel 6 room look like the ritz Carlton. Bathroom was no better when we looked at the tub and saw a pubic hair on tub!!!! Gross!! We then decided to head to casino but found out you have to walk a half mile in an outdoor covered walkway which is not so fun to do in December. Once we arrived inside casino the decor is a little more updated and semi nicer than the outdated hotel. Casino has two boats that look like they haven't been touched or maintained in years since they don't sail anymore, majestic two was a little nicer than majestic one. After loosing a couple hundred we decided to call it a night and requested a late checkout and was told they don't do late checkouts on weekends. Really??? Not even for one of your highest players??? Place was so disappointing. Have been to all the casinos in the area now and this casino and hotel is hands down the worst!! Ameristar casino is right down the street and Is gorgeous!! Beautiful rooms there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coaler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gary hotels

Fredonia Wi USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was expecting much nicer due to "The Donald" being the originator...it was a clean, basic room.Fine for the price. Not so much as a tv guide or local services brochure...not even a pencil and paper. Dont stay for the buffet next door though, we were grateful the windows opened!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms are dated but clean, the staff were nice, but the hotel sits very near a railroad and trains pass and are very noisy. The beds are very firm and the furniture is dated. The area does not have a safe appeal. I did not feel safe the parking lot was dark and not well lit , but I did see police and security patrolling. The price was $59 not bad for a casino hotel. Sorry but I will not stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gary
1.2 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
4.6 mi away
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
13.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
8.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Star Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Star Casino & Hotel

Property: Majestic Star Casino & Hotel
Address: 1 Buffington Harbor Dr, Gary, IN 46406-3000 (Formerly Trump Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Gary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Star Casino & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Star Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Star Casinos Hotel Gary
Majestic Star Hotel
Majestic Star Gary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing