We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Majestic Star Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gary
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for the second time. Although the last visit was positive this seemed a little nicer. Definitely noticed the lobby was updated since and they got a new sign. Other than that the room was the same, clean but this time we had the water view. Room had shampoo/cond, iron/board, body bar soap, cable tv, a/c, coffe maker/coffee but a king size bed only had 3 dinky pillows...just one more would be better, but if I really wanted one I could have asked the front desk and gotten one. There is a free shuttle to & from the casino, it was only a 4-5 minute covered walk to casino. First 1/2 is a walk along side of Lake Michigan...the bottom of the walkway is open, but they have fans randomly placed throughout the walkway. Yes it was humid in the walkway but no biggie, walked through there when it was colder also (oct/nov) and they have heaters placed throughout. the second 1/2 is enclosed, elevators and air conditioned. I would stay again & would tell anyone else who is there to strictly gamble and have a good time to stay there also. If you want to swim, lift weights or do work from a work station then go to a Holiday Inn. We were very happy with the Majestic Casino's laid back atmosphere, couldn't ask for nicer casino employees. We are from Detroit and are used to the large, loud and in your face casinos. Majestic is just the opposite, very refreshing.

Room Tip: Hotel is not near any type of convenience store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    23
    15
    30
See reviews for
7
31
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

First of all I will say they have excellent customer service. The check in was speedy and efficient. The cons were that the side doors didn't work with key access. Also, there was rust over the bathroom doors. They could do with an upgrade of furniture since we had a table with only one chair. There were cobwebs in the ceiling corners. The bed itself was comfy even though they only provided 3 pillows for a king size bed. Overall it was a quiet stay but be warned that you can only pay with a credit card and no children are allowed each guest has to be 21 also. Great customer service but the room itself could use some updating.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daynalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Majestic Star Hotel will clearly not win any awards for it's tremendous facilities nor service, but the property met my basic needs of cleanliness and safety. I read other reviews ripping into the facility for being dirty and had some concerns before arriving. However, the hotel and the rooms were reasonably clean and had everything in working order.

The positives kind of end there, though. Looking for a workout room? You will need to go elsewhere. The same goes for a business center. Other than vending machines, there are no extras on the property. This creates some difficulty as the hotel and casino are isolated from the rest of civilization. Since the casino does not offer a gift shop, it would be wise to prepare yourself beforehand with all required personal items.

The hotel property sits roughly 1/3 of a mile or so from the casino. The connecting walkway is covered, although it is certainly worth noting that only part of the walkway is fully enclosed. Thus, in unpleasant weather, some of the elements from the environment can come into play. While the chances of getting wet may be slim, you are subject to the outside temperature for most of the walk. There are no moving walkways.

Some reviews of this property had poor comments regarding the buffet. Yet, I found the breakfast buffet to be a nice value at $5.00 plus tax (it is more without a player's card from the casino). The buffet is located near the casino part of the property and will require the aforementioned walk from the hotel.

This is not the kind of property that will necessarily make you desire a return trip. It is acceptable for a night or two so long as you are fully prepared to not have any extras. One other note that needs to be viewed if traveling on a tour bus: There is a railroad track crossing above a bridge on the way into the property. While I am unsure of the exact dimensions, many tour buses will not fit under this bridge. It is important to contact the property in advance to see if you may need to take an alternate route in.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gary hotels

Chicago Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

To give out something is one thing, but to give out something of value is another. I do not think your guest expect the world from the majestic,but asking for clean and working items in each room is a must. The casino is extremely smoky. The 5 dollar buffet need a huge change.the payout use to be pretty good under Don the previous owner, now you can feed a machine all day but leave broke very often.no one expect to win all the time but to lose all day and night is another. For the most part staff is very very kind and supportive without management listening to staff as to what complaints staff inform management about that casino customer have. I use to enjoy my stay and wagering at the majestic but not anymore. Hopefully management learn that cutting back at customer expense is not good business!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Hotel is dirty. Bathroom had hair all over the sides of the tub. We had a package and drove a long way and they tried to give us a $5 buffet in place of a $100 dinner. They didn't even have a small refrigerator in the room which I thought was odd for a casino hotel. Even the smaller motels usually have them these days.
The place was packed and you could hardly get on a slot machine. The staff was extremely rude as was the shuttle driver. As we were leaving the next morning there were several people we saw sleeping all over the casino. They even tried to give us a hard time about using the $5 dollar coupon for the free buffet because it had written on it 3/31 or 4/1. OK it was 4/1 so what's the problem. They actually had to have their supervisor come and sign off on it which took a long time. Kind of a scary place. Will never go there again.
On top of it all I didn't win one cent.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Once again I had mailed to me free night stays here, so I gave in and tried it. First at checkin, they didnt even ask me for ID just the reservation name and no deposit. That tells you how careful they are for w ho stays t here. The room is awful, very old, smelly and stains everywhere. I went down to the casino and had the buffet. Seriously, it leaves nothing to rave about, Food is ice cold, many kinds of chicken you can imagine LOL and so many empty trays where food s hould go. When you go up for another plate, make sure you tell someone, they take your things away each time and you end up with an empty table.
Going back to the room and looking again at the poor condition and how I was nervous to even lay on the bed, I left. I guess this supports the old adage, you get what you pay for, free is not always better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank troi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Decided to up and drive 4 1/2 hrs from detroit to indy to try out their casinos. Paying $60 for a room at a casino had me a little worried but it is what it is, a $60 room. Got one king bed in a non-smoking room, requested more pillows which were immediately delivered. Room was clean and acceptable. Coffee maker worked fine. Yes it is a little walk to casino (mostly covered) but we took the free shuttle back. Casino was good. A ton of slots and only one area of table games but a good variety. Went to their buffet for lunch which happened to only be $5, well worth $5, i may even have paid $10 but not much more. All employees in hotel and casino were kind and helpful. Yes the hotel and casino are dated, but its a very laid back atmosphere. Very different from the detroit casino's and hotels i have gotten used too. Like i said, cheap stay and cheap eats....totally worth the drive and will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gary
1.2 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
4.6 mi away
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
8.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
13.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Star Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Star Casino & Hotel

Property: Majestic Star Casino & Hotel
Address: 1 Buffington Harbor Dr, Gary, IN 46406-3000 (Formerly Trump Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Gary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Star Casino & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Star Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Star Casinos Hotel Gary
Majestic Star Hotel
Majestic Star Gary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing