We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate feeling with an old time elegance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Lick Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
French Lick Springs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Intimate feeling with an old time elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

My husband and I have traveled to, and spent many nights at the French Lick Resort and Casino. It's a bit of a drive from where we live, and is in a quaint little Southern Indiana town, but the scenery never grows old for us, as it is beautiful.
The hotel is totally old time elegant, especially in the lobby where the gilded ceilings and paintings are spectacular. The history tour given by staff, is really interesting and makes us all the more appreciative of what it was back then, and the effort to restore it as it is now.
Beautiful!
The rooms are simple, yet classic, and very clean. Coffee makers, blow dryers, ironing boards, state of the art TV's, and scrumptious bedding make us feel very pampered. The toiletries are those that are available in their spa, which by the way is excellent. People that work there, really seem to enjoy their jobs, and after talking with a few of them, I've learned they often travel over an hour each way to do them. And they love it that much, to do so.
As for the restaurants, our preference is eating in the Diamond Jim restaurant, inside the casino, which is a short walk from the hotel. The variety is nice, the service is prompt, and the portions are large, with relatively inexpensive prices. We've also eaten at the steak house within the resort, and found it to have very good food, and excellent service, and a little pricey. The dinner menu was a much better choice than the breakfast. You can't beat Diamond Jim's omelettes!!
The casino is bright, and not cramped feeling, with a good selection of table games and slots. It's always easy to find an attendant if you need one, and the drink service is fast. They offer a free shuttle that runs every 15 minutes or so, or even on demand during the wee hours if needed. This runs back and forth to the other properties of French Lick Resort, and the West Baden Resort, which is about a 10 minute shuttle ride away, and an absolute must, to see. Again, the history behind these two properties is worth knowing. Be sure, to take the shuttle and visit West Baden. It's a gorgeous domed building, that offers hotel/restaurants/spa, but no casino. Hop the shuttle back to French Lick, for that!
We've taken many friends, and some relatives to this resort over the years, and every single person, has fallen in love with it. Fortunately, we live close enough to 'enjoy the drive'.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kismet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    300
    86
    41
    30
See reviews for
279
426
21
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Absolutely amazing place to stay!!! the entire area is pretty!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amt198511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Lost our room and seats to the show, she booked the wrong night wrong show.

"Sorry tuff luck but have a good evening" I drop my $300 somewger else next time

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nate317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Our family of nine, most all adults, just returned from a week-end at the French Lick Resort. The hotel has been totally restored. Our rooms were in the springs section. The rooms were clean, flat screen TV and a large, very nice bathroom. The hotel is a good value in order to attract patrons to the attached casino. We found the staff to be very accommodating. I recommend the resort rather than the West Baden hotel. All the activities are at the Resort. Don't expect the Ritz but you will not pay Ritz prices.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABWColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

The hotel was beautiful and service was great! Keep in mind hotel is very old, but it is still in very good shape. Rooms tastefully decorated to match the time period the hotel was built. Though we did have a couple of ladybugs in our room... Hmm... saw another reviewer had some as well. The hotel MUST have a water softner b/c my skin and hair never felt so good as it did while we were there. One night, I didn't even have to wear makeup and my hair almost fixed itself! lol. Had a hot stone therapy massage at the spa, highly recommended! One of the nicest spas I have ever been to. Dinner at 1875 steakhouse was wonderful! Also ate at Sinclair's at West Baden, also wonderful!! Shuttle every 15 minutes between hotels. Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tn.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

My wife and i were out for a lovers get-a-way. I was treated very poor and ignored by at least 4 of the employees. The same employees oggled my wife and made her feel very uncomfortable. The slots at the casino were the worst we have ever played through out our travels. The room smelt musky and moldy. The activities are very limited as the town itself seems to turn into a ghost town after dark. The employees need more training and to learn it is not ok to hit on a married woman or any guest, they need to learn self control or a better screening process.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Visited with my wife after Christmas. She had heard about it through a friend who had been here in the summer. The food is way overpriced and quite terrible. The rooms are small, though not overbearingly so, though we did need to call about a minor ladybug infestation in the bathroom. The staff definitely puts
in the effort, but all seem to be on their first day. Ran out of toilet paper at 5 am and the front desk said they couldn't give us anymore and would need to call housekeeping; wanted to buy a newspaper, which had just been delivered and were sitting in front of the desk, but was told I'd have to wait until whenever the little shop opened. Not the end of the world in either case, but indicative nonetheless. Spa costs twice as much as similar services in Chicago; it's as if the place priced and designed elements to the locales, assuming that they'd know no better. This is not a luxury resort. Think standard Casino+Days Inn+IHOP+airport food.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sduncan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Lick
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Jasper
Days Inn Jasper
#2 of 5 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lick Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Springs Hotel

Property: French Lick Springs Hotel
Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432-9389 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Lick Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your French Lick Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort
French Lick Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing