We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
French Lick Springs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a fabulous visit over the Thanksgiving weekend!!! What a beautiful old hotel, made even more lovely with all the holiday decorations (see my pics). Folks, this is a Historic Hotel. In fact, just recently saw an article where they were voted the #1 historic hotel in America!

Check-in was easy, which was a welcome relief since we expected otherwise with all the additional (holiday) guests. Our room was very comfortable, but a little stark....could have used a recliner or sofa in all that open space.

The bathroom had double sinks/mirrors, which is always a huge bonus!

We only had one meal on property, and that was at The Power Plant. The food was good, but not great. The service was good, but not great. But, the entertainment was phenomenal....Sarah Stivers and her jazz quartet played music froim various genres including rock, pop, jazz and disco. We enjoyed them very much.

We had a lot of fun at the casino. They offer everything from craps to slots and everything in between.

We didn't participate, but they had this very fun family pajama thing going on.....we'd see whole families dressed in matching pjs...waiting for story time with Mrs. Claus, I think.

There are several adorable little shops along the route from the hotel to the casino. Candy store, clothing, jewelry and even a Christmas Store just for the holidays.

(We took HWY 150 (the back way?)from Louisville, KY to French Lick, IN...... What a beautiful drive it was....very scenic.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stayed here Thanksgiving night. The place was very big and grand with a Great Gatsby 1920's feel to it. It was nicely decorated for Christmas. We had the Thanksgiving buffet included in the room. Dinner was nice. Visited the casino and neighboring West Baldin, both very nice. I was a little disappointed with the room but the bed was comfortable. Defiantly a older crowd.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My fiancé and I recently traveled here for a weekend getaway arriving on a Thursday and departing on Saturday. We had the most wonderful time!

We got a great deal on the room, and with 2 nights stay, we received a $100 hotel credit that could be used at any of the restaurants or bars there, or at any of their golf courses. What an awesome perk that turned out to be.

Our room was wonderful,..... clean, in good condition, and bathroom was very modern. We enjoyed the casino, although that was not the center of our visit, and not our reason for visit.

We ate lunch at the Donald Ross golf course at Hagen's restaurant (also owned by the resort) and had a great meal on the patio overlooking the 18th green. We drove to the restaurant in our personal car, however, when we returned at a later time, we took the shuttle from the hotel.

Definitely a must to grab one of the shuttles to visit West Baden Springs hotel and garden property. It is absolutely gorgeous, and neat to see and read about the history. Grab a drink at their lobby bar and sit on one of the lounge chairs and watch the people. It's wonderful!

The hotel will make any or all arrangements that you might need. For example, we wanted to play afternoon golf at Donald Ross, and they went to our car (which was valet parked, included in the price of the room) and got our golf clubs and shoes, and transported them to the golf course. When they picked us up at our arranged time to make it to our tee time, they already had our golf clubs on the cart at the course, shoes ready to go, and the clubs had been cleaned. The golf course called them and let them know that we were done playing our round, and they came back and loaded everything up and took us back to the resort. All free of charge!! We of course tipped the drivers, caddies, etc, but they did not expect it.

We enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools while we were there. Indoor pool was nice to sit in the Jacuzzi in the evening, and we enjoyed an afternoon at the outdoor pool as well. The bar and restaurant next to the pools is also a great option for drinks and a snack.

The staff here at French Lick can not be matched. They did everything right. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who might be interested in visiting a hotel and casino with golf, and I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a very well refurbished piece history that is having a renaissance because of casino gambling. The history of the French Lick Sulphur Springs and the West Baden Springs is worth a read on Wikipedia. In its glory days, trains would depart from big cities and have express service right to the fron of the French Lick Resort. The old train depot is still standing, and has been converted into a kids area for guests.

The Hotel is an excellent piece of architecture and is deservedly on the National Register Of Historic Places. The lobby is spectacular with its gold trim and detailed woodwork. The floor is a giant mosaic tile masterpiece meant many designs. AT&T his time, the hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas.

Check-in was fast and efficient and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean and had all the usual hotel room amenities including a digital programmable safe. The bed was particularly comfortable. The room over looked the courtyard behind the hotel where the spring is located.

The Thanksgiving day program included several of the conference rooms set up for kids activities. There were holiday movies, ping pong, crafts, balloon animals, and a big projector showing the NFL games. This was no additional charge. There was also free coffee and tea. Last year they had a much better location in the indoor tennis center that had several bouncy castles as well as cookies and soft drinks for kids.

The hotel also has many miles of hiking and biking trails, golf, tennis, indoor and outdoor pools, horseback riding, and gambling. There is a railroad museum adjacent to the resort that offers scenic railroad excursions. The gambling is similar to other places in Indiana and offers a variety of table games, slots and video poker. There is some full pay 9/6 Jacks in the non-smoking room of the casino if you are a $1 fvideo poker player.

The cities of French Lick and West Baden continue to benefit from the revitalized resorts that connect their towns. The resort is a nice place to visit, and there are many family activities to keep everyone busy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderfully restored historic hotel. The hotel is attached to large meeting space and a casino. If you do not gamble or play golf you may get bored quickly. There is a spa, bowling lanes and several pizza outlets all of which do not interest me. The city of French Lick is unremarkable and the dining options are more unremarkable.

The resort does offer free transportation to West Baden Hotel and the three golf courses I had the good fortune of meeting Heather a Guest Transportation Driver who took us to Hagen's restaurant. The restaurant was great but the highlight of my stay was Heather who embodies the definition of hospitality, warmth and customer service.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank IndyGuyontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was nice, but not as nice as West Baden. Still, I'm glad we stayed to experience both hotels. Lovely grounds, great pool, and the high stakes gambling area allows cigar smoking. That was a favorite part!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank laura22204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the French Lick Resort this weekend. We were were there for a Community Marriage Builders weekend. Upon arriving we were taken back by how beautiful the hotel is!! When you step in to the lobby it takes your breath away!! It is GORGEOUS!!! The architecture is AMAZING!! Gold leaf and crown molding as far as the eye can see. The hotel was decked out for Christmas. Check in was a breeze! We were in the Springs Wing on the fifth floor, Room number 2537. I went back out and my husband was ready to park and get the stuff inside. My husband didn't have any cash on him at the time so he didn't want to use the complementary valet and bell hop with out being able to tip. So, we were off to find parking...it was kind of difficult. We didn't want to park in the parking garage, it would have been a LONG WALK! So, we circled around and found a spot behind the hotel. It was very clear that we went the wrong way once we got all our stuff out of truck and walked up the hill and came to an employee door. OOOOPS.., with my bad back and my short patience i didn't want turn around and walk all the way around the large hotel back to the front door. An employee who was out doors on a break kindly came up and let us in the back door and told us we could use the service elevator to get to our wing quickly. He was extremely kind and understood that we had no clue where we were going! Once inside, a housekeeper was clocking out and kindly directed us to the service elevator and gave us directions to our room. We found our room with ease and was very surprised how cozy the large halls were. Opening the door to the room were were very happy. Spacious, Very Clean, Updated and very warm feeling. The room had a king size bed, flat screen tv (tv service is not so great) and two very large windows that over looks the woods behind the hotel. The bathroom was WONDERFUL!! Great space, very clean, granite counter tops, tile floor and side walls, great hot water in the sink and shower, etc...The bed was great, pillows are slightly flimsy but better than other hotel pillows (i always take mine with me). During our stay we walked all over most of the hotel. We swam in the indoor pool which is really nice especially with the dolphin water fountain in the center. They had a water basketball goal set up in the pool as well so we enjoyed a nice game of friendly water ball. The hot tub was AMAZING!! Crystal clear water, perfect temperature and very roomy!! We shopped in the Promenade Shops, ate at the Power Plant Bar and Grill, The Grand Colonnade Restaurant, Hagen's Club House Restaurant (those reviews to come) and utilized the complimentary shuttle service and later the bellhop service. Heather, the shuttle driver was so great and as friendly as could be. She talked highly of how the resort gives back to the community and you could tell she truly loved her job. Bill, was the bellhop who helped us with our luggage. He was wonderful! Super friendly, very informative, down to earth and someone who also loved his job. My tip for you is make sure you have cash in your pocket if you utilize the wonderful services of these hard working individuals, they deserve it!! From your housekeeper, shuttle driver, waiters and waitresses, to you bell hops we were treated with the utmost respect and had WONDERFUL service all around!! I will absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone and my husband and i expect to come back soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus French Lick
0.5 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
21.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Jasper
1 mi away
West Baden Springs Hotel
West Baden Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Baden Springs
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lick Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Springs Hotel

Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range: $173 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Lick Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your French Lick Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort
French Lick Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing