We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
French Lick Springs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The french lick hotel is a very nice historic facility.We went over for the spring break. The hotel was full but we did not feel crowded. There are some reasonable dining choices. The steak house is very expensive and the food did not impress. The Golf courses were great and was geared to all levels of Play. A large indoor tennis and golf driving range was available and the staff at the sports center were friendly and eager to help. Overall a great weekend destination a little pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our fifth visit to French Lick resort for our bi-annual sister's getaway and per the usual we had a fantastic, fun and relaxing five-night stay. If you are looking for a place to relax, gamble, golf, spa or just sit by a beautiful pool and be pampered we highly recommend a trip to French Lick.

Our double queen room was just what we needed: comfortable beds with nice linens, a well-outfitted bath with a nice amenities, plush towels, and good lighting, ample storage for our clothing. The only things lacking were a make-up mirror and an in-room safe, but we did just fine without. Housekeeping at the resort was first rate. We were sleeping in and enjoying room service breakfast and never felt pressured--as you sometimes do--to leave the room for housekeeping. We always returned to a freshly made-up room that was well supplied and inviting. The view over this courtyard to the spring house was beautiful as well and made the brief periods of time spent lounging in the room all the nicer.

The staff at the resort make the experience truly special. From the friendly valet and bellman service to the concierge and front-desk reception we never encountered anything less than 5-star friendliness and the best customer service. There is something to be said for staff that are always smiling and available to offer assistance and at French Lick this always seems sincere and not merely ingrained from training.

We enjoyed our daily breakfasts in bed and the food was delicious, the correct temperature, and shockingly prompt! The in-room dining staff were like everyone we encountered: friendly and working to make the experience exceed expectations. We didn't indulge in any of the fine dining this visit but Diamond Jim's and Nosh met our needs serving good food with a smile.

We spent a lot of our time this visit in the casino, an experience made special by the casino host, Linda McIntosh. Linda is the perfect hostess and I simply cannot use enough adjectives and superlatives to convey how much she enriched our experience. I travel often and have rarely encountered someone with her conscientious commitment to making guests comfortable and happy! All I can say is Wow and thank you!

The casino itself is clean, well-maintained and comfortable. The slots and table games are quite simply fun and while we didn't hit the jackpot we had even had fun losing our alotted funds! Again, the staff from dealers to waitresses know their jobs and do them very well. I prefer the French Lick casino to all others we have visited because it is always clean, safe, secure and comfortable.

We are already planning our return to Fench Lick in the autumn. We are anxiously awaiting another pampered, fun-filled week at the resort. They never disappoint which makes it well worth the time and effort required to get there from Maryland. Anyone who values historic properties and exceptional service should visit the resort. Fench Lick and West Baden resorts are rare experiences and are truly places to "make some memories" with family, friends or colleagues.

I give this resort my highest recommendation. It is worth a trip to the wilds of southern Indiana where you will be impressed by the beautiful surroundings and the exceptional service!

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room but if noisy children bother you let the front desk know you would pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My sister and I visit the resort twice a year for our sister's getaway. This was our fifth trip. While I live in Northern Indiana and my sister lives out of state, we prefer to travel a few hours to French Lick to guarantee the best experience possible. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is polite, friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, the view was lovely and the beds are wonderful. We came back to a clean room, restocked with nice amenities every day. Room service was prompt and the food was excellent. Linda McIntosh, the casino host, made our little trip something to remember. She took time with us to make sure we had the best time ever. While all the French Lick staff were kind and helpful, Linda stands out. Seek her out if you go. While in the casino, we also met Liz and Alice, casino staff who were not only friendly, but treated us like royalty. We enjoyed meals this trip at Diamond Jim's and Nosh. We truly enjoyed ourselves every day and would highly recommend the hotel, it's restaurants, shops and the casino to anyone. We will definitely return in the fall, if not before.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spring Wing this trip. We requested a room close to the elevator and casino. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janb62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

French Lick is not a simple drive from most locations in Indiana, but it's become worth the trip. Upgrades made a few years ago were well-chosen and executed. Though the steakhouse is lacking, the rest of food/beverage is good quality and value. Ice stayed here several times and have learned to ask at the desk for certain room preferences because this is not a cookie cutter property. If you want a larger room with a view and and you will typically receive.

Room Tip: Communicate your expectations/needs at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed her on a sprig break "girls get away"
I loved the old feel of the rooms.. they were in keeping with the history and time of the hotel, with out feeling out dated.
The rooms are nice, the bathrooms are very nice! our room was very clean, and the bed was very comfy.
They have a nice spa (even nicer sap at west baden springs hotel)
The grounds all around this hotel are beautiful, no mater what time of year you stay.
Lots of little shops, we spent half a day just looking at all of them.
They have a big heated out doors pool.
we ate at in a little place right next to the slot machines.. The food was ok, nothing to get excited about.
If you stay at French Lick make sure you go over and explore west baden springs hotel! there is also old time train cars by the hotels, that you can explore.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurka_Murry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I never expected to be transported back into time. It was an unexpected surprise. Upon arrival we were happily greeted by valet who offer you a towel to freshen up or water after your long travel. The lobby was full of employees with smiling faces who greeted everyone. I was mesmorized by all the ornate detail along the hallway over to my room. The room was equally stunning with a comfy bed. We came for a concert and loved the sound quality and no bad seating. We ordered room service after concert and it was not bad. The wait was long (1 hour) but that was to be expected with a full hotel and concert getting. I think everyone ordered at the same time. the Pool area was spacious and I loved the long hours they were open. I would only have one negative comment about the entire weekend and it was the sounds from hallway seemed amplified. A little hard to sleep in the following morning. this resort is a bit pricey but I was not disappointed what so ever. After our stay, I read reviews about rude staff and I didn't find that at all. I was greeted by every employee with a smiling face and a well wish. I am excited to stay again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mmgarr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

dont let the fanciness of this hotel kid you, worst food ever. I think something is wrong with food & bev department. I stayed march 8 & 9 2013. You expect with high prices. high quality, not so at frenchlick. bed was so bad, we both had a backache. for the price, go some where else, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus French Lick
0.5 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
1 mi away
West Baden Springs Hotel
West Baden Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Baden Springs
1,838 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Legend of French Lick Resort
The Legend of French Lick Resort
#1 of 1 in West Baden Springs
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lick Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Springs Hotel

Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range: $173 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Lick Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your French Lick Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort
French Lick Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing