We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
French Lick Springs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Wanatah, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the West Baden hotel at French Lick for the Indiana Dental Association Convention. The pictures on the internet don't give the location justice because it is outstanding there! There is so much history inside West Baden and the French Lick hotel and it was awesome looking at all the different pictures on the walls. The rooms were exceptionally clean and very spacious. In fact the beds were some of the comfiest I have ever slept in! I also had a massage at the spa and it was wonderful, a little over priced though! Although there were many wonderful things, we had our fair share of bad ones too. The restaurants inside the French Lick Hotel & Casino were awful. We ate at the Power Plant on our first night and had to wait almost a whole hour to receive our food. It was 10PM before we ate and the food was awful. The chicken was dry and had no flavor and the salad was soggy. When we complained they said the kitchen was far from where the restaurant was. We also ate at one of the buffets in the hotel between classes and the people were very unfriendly. It was like we were bothering them and also they were handling silverware with their hands and plopped it on our plates. We never were asked if we wanted drinks and when we did we got a "what do you want" answer. It seems like there are way to many young kids working there and they have no manners at all. We also smelled an awful smell multiple times of rotten eggs. The pool was nice, but many bugs were in it and when asked if they could skim it, it was again a big ordeal to do so.This hotel may be beautiful and have some amazing history, but if they want to make sure this resort stays up and running they have many things to work on. Two very important things, the friendliness of there staff and the food. i would not go back unless I hear they are doing some MAJOR improvements.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchLickResort, Manager at French Lick Springs Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on the condition and appearance of the Resort property and grounds. We appreciate them as much as we are disappointed at your unhappy experience in our restaurants. We pride ourselves on the quality of both our food and our service and clearly did not deliver either to you and we apologize for that failure. We are constantly training our service team in the importance of guest focus and the need to look through the eyes of our guests to see how we are doing.

Your letter, although disappointing to us, will help us accomplish exactly the major improvements you said were required to persuade you to give us another try. On your return you may expect to experience a completely different level of service and the quality of food that positive memories are made of.

The aroma you mentioned is a part of the history of the Resort and, in fact, is the reason there is a resort in French Lick and West Baden. Pluto Water comes from natural springs that abound in our area and contains a number of minerals including sulphur which provide both its’ ‘medicinal’ qualities and the occasionally pungent reminder of our heritage.

All of us at the French Lick Resort value each of our guests for their contribution to our growth and development and we look forward to providing you and your family with an authentic Resort experience on your return.

Thanks,
Dave Conant
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    308
    87
    41
    30
See reviews for
292
442
22
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at French Lick Springs Resort. The rooms were excellent and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. We loved sitting on the front porch in the rocking chairs and just peoplewatching. Although we were there as a couple, it seemed like a great place for family too! Many things going on for kids. We enjoyed the DJ at the pool (although he played a little too loud for our taste), bowling at Pluto's Alley, gambling at the casino, shopping at the boutiques, and horseback riding. The fitness center was really nice as well. Only complaint, smells we would get sometimes. On four seperate occasions (and at different locations) we smelled a sewage type smell. It only lasted a few minutes each time but it was really awful and made you wonder what was going on..very odd.

Other than that, our stay was really great. A nice long Memorial Day weekend stay which left us recharged and relaxed. Just what we needed!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krisinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Seriously...this was the absolute worst place we have ever stayed at. The rooms were beyond smelly. There were bugs everywhere. The decor made us want to vomit. The only reason we didn't was that the food was so inedible that we had nothing to throw up. The steak restaurant pales in comparison to the Sizzler. Do NOT waste your money. Each table in their "gorgeous" hotel lobby was beautifully decorated with a box of Kleenex. Huh? The only explanation we had for this was that the whole place smelled so badly that everyone's eyes were watering. The ads make it look like some glamorous hotel...it is not. It is a dump. Even the pool area...which we thought would give us some solice had a dj playing music so loudly that our ear drums were bursting. We asked them if they could turn it down because everyone was complaining. They said they would...but they didn't. It was awful. I beg of you...do NOT waste your money on this place. We peeled out at 6:00 a.m. the morning of check out. We couldn't get out fast enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mandricnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchLickResort, General Manager at French Lick Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your visit to the French Lick Resort. Did you get a chance to share any of your observations with our staff during your visit? As you can imagine, it is difficult for us to fully address your complaints more than 8 month after your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I am not into gambling, but I do so only so I have a reason to visit the hotel.
Both the French Lick and West Baden hotels have been beautifully restored
to what they were almost a century ago. We love to take our grandson
in the summer because he loves the pool and Spring 8 through the day,
and eating ice cream on the veranda in the evening. There is a nice
bowling alley and game room also in the hotel. Our favorite place to
eat is the Power Plant, it has a nice menu and affordable prices.
My husband loves the fitness center, all up to date machines, top
of the line!

The beds are very comfy complete with elegant bedding. The bathrooms
are spacious and beautiful with marble counter tops. If you want to be
lazy and stay in the room, they have nice flat screen tvs to watch. We love
going to French Lick for the week-end!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchLickResort, Public Relations Manager at French Lick Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
We love that your post mentioned that you travel with your grandson. We have lots of intergenerational families who visit and always enjoy hearing how they like to spend their time here. The pool, bowling alley and Power Plant are all great choices! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My husband and I had not stayed here since 2004, prior to the multimillion dollar overhaul. It is amazing how beautifully they have refurbished it. We came for a convention and found the meeting facilities nice and the catered food very good.

We were not impressed with the resort's pricey buffet. Less expensive options include a sandwich shop, ice cream shop which also sells breakfast (great cinnamon rolls), and a bar. There is a Denny's across the street and a Dairy Queen nearby. A friend recommended the French Lick winery cafe, but we did not have a chance to go.

The staff were all extremely friendly. There wasn't one employee I passed in the hallway who did not say hello and smile.

I took an informative tour of the resort to learn about the history and would recommend it. Definitely visit the nearby West Baden hotel, too - amazingly beautiful. There is a huge spa, but the prices are close to double what I have paid at upscale spas in Indianapolis, so I did not try it.

By far, the biggest (and really only) disappointment was the casino. The main casino is a smoking facility, which you must walk through to get to the non-smoking casino. You can smell the smoke way before you get there. Very poorly designed, in my opinion. We went for about 30 minutes and I was done. The non-smoking casino is smaller and full of penny and nickel slots, which I found very strange. But if you aren't going to gamble, you will likely have an enjoyable time if you stay in the main hotel.

This is less than an hour drive to nearby Holiday World & Splashin Safari theme park, so if you have children, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmdfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchLickResort, Manager at French Lick Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
We apologize for your experience at the French Lick Casino. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our facility so we will take a look at our devices that turn the air here. Normally, we are proud that to have one of the most smoke-free casino environments in Indiana. As for our non-smoking room, we built it where it is currently located so we could provide the absolute best non-smoking guest experience in the Midwest. There was no other area within the footprint of the building that would allow us to completely enclose the room and not just simply tack up “No Smoking” signs to represent a non-smoking section. Our non-smoking room has its own air system that continually blows air out of the room insuring that smoke from our main floor does not enter the room. Finally, most of the game themes on the main smoking floor are also available in the non-smoking room. We have all denominations there, ranging from $.05 to $1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This was a great getaway for my husband and I. We have been here twice and looking foward to the next time. The staff was excellant! My husband also golfed at the Donald Ross and enjoyed it very much. The resort from the rooms,pool,restaurants,bowling alley,spa and the casino has it all. GORGEOUS!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchLickResort, Public Relations Manager at French Lick Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
We are thrilled to hear that you all has such a lovely visit. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We love that you are already looking forward to a return trip. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My wife and I traveled to The French Lick Resort and Casino for the first time for our 16th Wedding Anniversary. We had a fabulous time and would highly recommended the experience. We loved the feeling of stepping back in time. After an easy check in at the French Lick Springs hotel, we changed and went to dinner at 1875. The food and service lived up to the prices on the menu. I had rack of lamb and my wife enjoyed the filet. I highly recommend the French Onion soup. We then walked dinner off by touring the West Baden Hotel. The pictures don’t give this place justice. After sampling drinks in almost every bar we hit the casino. We are not real big gamblers but the French Lick casino has an upscale feel vs the casino at home. The non-smoking area was a relief compared to the casino boats we have been on before. We ended the night listening to jazz at the very entertaining Power Plant bar. The next morning we ate breakfast at the buffet, which also has off menu selections. I had delicious steak and eggs while my wife enjoyed the buffet. Overall the surroundings along with the staff made it worth the trip. A real plus was friendliness and knowledge of the staff. Everyone from the shuttle bus driver to the bartenders was able to answer all the questions we had about the history of the hotels. It was nice to talk to so many people from the islands. We did miss out on quite of bit, so we are already planning another trip back in the fall with friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlohaMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchLickResort, Public Relations Manager at French Lick Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
First, let us say Happy Anniversary! Second, please know how much we are honored that you chose to spend this special day with us. Your comments about our staff are priceless. They have a genuine love of the resort and we are glad that shone through. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus French Lick
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
1.0 mi away
West Baden Springs Hotel
West Baden Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Baden Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lick Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Springs Hotel

Property: French Lick Springs Hotel
Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432-9389 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Lick Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your French Lick Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort
French Lick Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing