We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice thing to do.”

French Lick Scenic Railway
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in French Lick
Attraction details
Avon, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice thing to do.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

train is wobbly so I was getting motion sickness. The kids enjoyed it, which was important. Some interesting facts, but don't think house Larry Byrd grew up in is important. As a matter of fact, it doesn't even have a basketball goal there anymore.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pegjomorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    43
    18
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the visit.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We did take the train ride and enjoyed our visit to the railway. Something different in a small town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skyzdlimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing time on the train.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

They gave us an awesome military discount, so the ride got off to a great start for us. It was an hour 45 minute round-trip outing with a long tunnel. Nice, relaxing time on the train and the conductors pointed out interesting parts of the scenery.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun time on the Polar Express”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My whole family took the Polar Express train ride, and we all had a wonderful time! The look on my Granddaughter's face while she was dancing with the elves, dancing with the other children, looking out of the train windows at Santa and the elves, was priceless. I thought she was going to burst with joy when Santa got on the train. It was a heartwarming site to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Another Great Polar Express”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second Polar Express weekend.
The trip was great. Our group always bring their own books to read along with. This year they collected autographs from Santa and the elves. Our conductor and elves helped the children follow along in their book. While the loud speaker may not have been loud, it could have been our position on the train. We were in the back where the Elves and Santa walked thru. The elves had all our girls dancing and singing. They all loved the bells Santa gave them. I will say the professional photographer took a lot more time this year setting up the photos. Our girls loved the hot chocolate and cookies. They just really enjoy the entire experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisetmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Lick Scenic Railway also viewed

 

Been to French Lick Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing