We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good PIzza, a little over priced”
Review of Pluto's Pizzeria

Pluto's Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Pluto's Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 30 Restaurants in French Lick
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in Pluto's Alley underneath the Spa at French Lick Springs Hotel, Pluto's Pizzeria offers a variety of homemade calzones, stromboli and pizza served whole or by the slice. In the hotel's heyday the Pluto bar served hot or cold Pluto water piped directly from the spring. Guests at the hotel were encouraged to drink the water praised for its seemingly limitless health benefits.
Dickson, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good PIzza, a little over priced”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The pizza was average. I was staying at the hotel and it was convenient. It was open late and near the arcade for the kids.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcclurkans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    31
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frozen all the way”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nothing tasted like real home made food. Frozen and then heated or microwaved. It also was very noisy and there was no way one could carry on a conversation at our table.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beach47USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Captive Audience”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's the only pizza you can get in the hotel, and the only relatively quick and inexpensive food option. The monopoly shows in the quality of the pizza. Had it on a previous trip and it was disappointing, this trip it was equally disappointing. Skip unless you have to avail yourself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wallyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, way too overpriced”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The food itself was good quality, but much too expensive for what we got. I ordered a lobster bisque, which was way too thick and creamy. I've had lobster bisque many times, and I've never seen it so thick. The taste of it, however, was quite good. My father ordered a $53 steak, but had to order a side dish for an extra charge. After asking the server's opinion, I ordered the Shrimp linguine as a main dish. He informed me that the white sauce was not too thick or creamy, but also not too thin either. (I didn't want it to be too heavy of a meal). However, it ended up being quite heavy. The taste of it was excellent, and the shrimp was definitely large. But with the thick lobster bisque, it was just too much. My mom ordered the crab cakes as her main meal, which were delicious. By the end, none of us could even consider having room for dessert. The experience overall was good, but too much money for what we got.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I visited with two other couples and had a wonderful dinner! We were lucky to be seated in the wine room, which offered wonderful ambiance and privacy. At no time did we feel rushed and it was lovely to be able to visit and enjoy the evening. The menu is excellent, with a fine assortment of cuts of meat and also seafood and other fare. My filet was perfectly prepared, and so tender I could have cut it with my fork. Sides can be served family style, or should I say steak house style. The corn with truffle sauce was outstanding - actually each side was terrific. Service was excellent and the staff knows the menu well. The presentation was also lovely.

The food is not inexpensive but then niether are the cuts of meat offered. If you're looking for something special -- this is it -- and we appreciated that. Ladies leave with a beautiful long stemmed red rose -- a nice touch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pluto's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Pluto's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing