We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$16 drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hagen's

Hagen's
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hagen's is clubhouse dining with a panoramic view of our Donald Ross Course. The restaurant is named for legendary golfer Walter Hagen who won the 1924 PGA Championship at the golf course. The menu features soups and salads to steaks and seafood. Guests can also sit at the expansive bar where gangster Al Capone was believed to have carved a message. Just don't sit in the wrong seat!
Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$16 drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A double cocktail was 16 bucks.
Appetizers were quite good (unusual spinach dip and quesadilla).

Dinner was bland, tasteless and over cooked. (Mahi mahi)

Server was ok then disappeared. No one ever offered dessert, last beer came so long after we finished I sent it back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRONCCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    106
    42
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not prepared for the amount of people!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Waitress was extremely slow...we asked for the kids meals first which we did not get. She put an order in before ours and we were there ahead of the other table. Was gone a lot and never came back to check on things. Fish was overlooked...couldn't even eat it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepperridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Easy to get to....Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our group was staying at French Lick Resort and decided to try Hagen's restaurant, located at one of the golf courses run by the resort. Since this was a French Lick property, the first nice aspect was that we could take the free French Lick shuttle to and from the restaurant. The restaurant itself was located at the top of a hill with wonderful views of the rolling golf course. The dining room is of average size, with a "club" feel to it. We were quickly served our drinks and our friendly server was soon ready to take our order. Everyone ordered a different menu item from beef medallions to an oriental chicken wrap to a 1/2 pound hamburger. Several exchanges regarding side items were requested and all were accommodated with no upcharges. Everyone loved their food. Especially remarked upon was the bacon tomato dressing that came on the wedge salad. The brownie sundae that we all shared was especially delicious as well. When we finished our meal and were ready to head out, we let our server know that we needed a return shuttle and it arrived shortly thereafter. All in all, a pleasant and convenient dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice dining with a good view of the golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We dined here on Friday night. The location is quite nice in the rolling hills about 3 miles southwest of downtown French Lick. Many of the indoor tables have a view of the golf course and there is also outside seating.

The food is very good. I can personally attest that the bbq ribs and the pork chops are very good. Of course the bbq ribs in St. Louis or Memphis are better, but this is probably about the best you will find in southern Indiana. They have a broad range of choices on the menu - steaks, burgers, pasta, ribs, salads, sandwiches, etc. so there is something for every taste. The staff was very accommodating to special requests and very helpful in menu and wine choices.

This is a club house bar and restaurant, so it was a bit noisy, but that didn't bother us. They have several tv's and not all tuned to the golf channel! They have a large porch with rockers that makes for a nice place to relax before or after dinner. They are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

For dinner for four with drinks, taxes and tip the total was $125. Probably one of the better choices for dining in the French Lick area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent meal, horrible fish.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here one night. Enjoyed the atmosphere, the beautiful views of the golf course, and the very good staff. The food was not overly priced like the hotel restaurants. My wife had the smothered chicken which was good, but I had the smoked salmon that was horrible. It was undercooked and slimy. I had only a few bites and I am pretty sure it made me sick the next day. I don't like to complain, but I would have thought the waitress would have asked why I only had two or three bites of the fish. Dessert was good, cheesecake stuffed strawberries, but a little pricey. Probably would go back, but will stick with something easy like a cheeseburger...definitely not fish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriTim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagen's also viewed

 

Been to Hagen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing