We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at The Quarters”

Artists Inn & Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in French Lick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artists Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 French Lick B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stayed at The Quarters”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Delightful cottage that was just perfect for two couples meeting for a holiday season get together. Well furnished and equipped for meal preparation and dining. Cozy, but spacious enough for quiet times away from one another if necessary. Would recommend for up to four adults; don’t think I would recommend for children or for the fifth or sixth person mentioned in the description of the property.

An excellent value at a great location.

Additional information at artistsinnandcottages

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsj615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage right next to the Artists Inn. The cottage was beautiful and very artful. Everything was immaculate and we could see real easy that great care is taken to insure cleanliness of the property. The price was excellent and a lot lower than Bed and Breakfast extablishments we have stayed at in other states. the Innkeeper was very helpful and access to all attractions was convient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeaniIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My partner and I along with two of our friends (who are also a couple) came to stay this past weekend. We were less than thrilled about the acomidations at Amelia's Cottage.

This particular cottage (small 2 bedroom, one bathroom house) is located right next to The Artists Inn. While it is very close to French Lick Resort (about a ten min. walk), it lacks the interior appeal of the resort.

Our first turn off was being told to park in a specific spot as the owner of the cottage parked her car in the garage of the house. We all felt this was a bit odd.

The interior of the cottage is EXTREMELY outdated. No dishwasher, and no dish soap?! We were also informed via note in bathroom to do our own dishes or pay a $45 fee, we did not mind doing our dishes but had to go buy our own dish soap. The note also informed us to take our trash with us when departing. This request is asking a lot in my opinion. We have stayed in many cabins, cottages, and rentals and have never been expected to bring trash in the car with us.

The kitchen had some items, but was not stocked as it states on the website. If you are wanting to cook in this house give yourself PLENTY of time to preheat the oven. It is outdated. Also bring additional utensils with you.

The cottage has one very small TV in the living room. The two bedrooms were small, but beds were both very comfortable. Unfortunately, there were a lot of things that were unkept; such as a missing blade on the ceiling fan, light bulb burned out in multiple areas, and huge hair ball in the shower. Other than those things, the house was very clean.

Overall, I feel that charging $187 (includes tax) per night is way too much considering how outdated the house is. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

It's like staying with relatives. If your relatives had a beautifully appointed home and then mysteriously vanished. In other words, it's great. Feels like you're in a home, not just another hotel, while creating an ambience that is not to be missed. I stay here about once a year and would not miss it.

One more thing, the lady who runs the place is pretty cool - nice to deal with someone who is a professional innkeeper and flexible, not some stiff-shirt at a hotel lobby. And, for those who wonder where the "artist" in the title comes from, she has some of her own work and several other regional artists on the walls, which is a great touch. Overall, I highly recommend.

P.S. Only a few blocks from the casino... walking distance for most. Great for nights when you want to drink and don't want to worry about driving back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sven_olafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Beautiful inn with lovely artwork. Neat mixture of antique and eclectic surroundings. Very close to main attractions and a short walk to the casino. The Spa package that we had was awesome would recommend to all who visit this this inn. The inn keeper was very nice and helpful in her recommendations. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Thank you Vesta, for a wonderful stay in your cozy cottage. We enjoyed our quiet time away from the hustle and bustle until we were ready to explore the town, the resort and casino on foot. Thanks, too, for allowing us to see the Inn and your beautiful original artwork. Next time I hope to return with a group of girlfriends and take advantage of your girls' week-end spa package.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshaPodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The inn was very cozy and well kept. Our favorite part about the place was the porch. It was a great place to drink coffee and talk to my friends. On the other hand, the lady who owned and managed this inn had a small "apartment" connected to the house. She had to enter through our front door to get into her "apartment." On several occasions over the 2 nights that I stayed there, she came through the house onto the porch. One of the times was to move the sprinkler that she had going in the flower garden. She could have easily walked around the house to do this. Then she came back through the house. She also came into the house while we were not there. She never said why she was in the house but made a comment to let us know that she had been in the house. She also had many of her food items in our fridge. When we checked in she said that she kept some things in this refrigerator because she didn't have enough room in hers. After we bought some groceries the next day, we didn't have enough room for our groceries and we said something to her. She came over and took out a few of her things. She commented that her refrigerator went out several days ago so she had to put her food in ours and there was nothing she could do about it.

We never felt we had any privacy there. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus French Lick
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Days Inn Jasper
Days Inn Jasper
#2 of 5 in Jasper
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
French Lick Springs Hotel
French Lick Springs Hotel
#2 of 5 in French Lick
1,162 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Baden Springs Hotel
West Baden Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Baden Springs
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists Inn & Cottages

Property: Artists Inn & Cottages
Address: 592 S Summit St, French Lick, IN 47432-1361
Location: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the hillside, this historic inn is strategically located in the heart of French Lick. It is within a five minute drive of three beautiful golf courses, the all new Pete Dye, the newly renovated Donald Ross and the new nine hole course, the Bendelow. You will also enjoy nearby skiing and the 8,800 acre lake, both within a ten to fifteen minute drive. It is also just a short walk to the French Lick Resort and casino, and only two blocks from shopping and restaurants. Wireless internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing