We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fortville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Fortville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We found the Ivy House on the internet and took a chance. It was awesome! Close enough to Indy that we spend the day there and spent the night at the Ivy House. The house is so clean, outstanding. Decorated so lovely. They really take pride in what they do and it shows. I would recommend this B&B to anyone! We will go there again. It was so relaxing, just what we needed. I can't say enough how impressed we were with the entire Ivy house experience. Go there! Now!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peace74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 174 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2009

I have stayed at the Ivy House 3 times, with each stay I am more pleased with my selection. Having to stay in hotels in most areas I travel, I look forward to my visits in the Fortville area, so I can stay at the Ivy House. Linda would win the "Hostess of Year" award if there were such an award. Every little detail is addressed which include: robes, turn down with candies, homemade desserts, and my favorite break dish, the Ham Souffle. I feel so welcome and safe when I stay there, it's like visiting a relative, but with more attention. I fully recommend the Ivy House to any traveler that wants to be pampered. MLSchnell Jasper Indiana

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We chose the Ivy House B&B from their website. The home and rooms are even better in person. As soon as you walk in you are greeted with such warmth. The whole house is so clean you can smell it. The rooms are very clean and the sheets are out of this world-I even went the next day to buy myself a set. Breakfast was amazing and I even had to ask her a few recipes because after I got home I kept thinking about the food. We would highly recommend this B&B and plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fashionmom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We just returned from a night stay at the Ivy House Bed & Breakfast and had a such a relaxing night! We live just a few miles away from the Ivy House but were looking for a one night getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We found the Ivy House online and saw all of the wonderful reviews. The Ivy House is one of the best kept secrets of this area. The house is located in the small town of Fortville. You can tell by your surroundings how much history is in the town and in the house just by looking around. The Ivy House is a very well-kept, home with beautiful antiques. It's obvious that the owners take a lot of pride in their B&B. We stayed in the English Ivy room. We were warmly welcomed by Jim & Linda, the Owners. They showed us around and had us feeling very at home from the moment we arrived. After a short nap when we arrived, we awoke to the smell of brownies baking that were left in the dining room for us. We drove to Broad Ripple and ate dinner at Mama Carolla's (about a 25 minute easy drive). Our room at the inn was immaculate and very tastefully decorated. Very cozy, comfy bedding! Breakfast consisted of a fruit mixture of pineapple, kiwi and bananas with a yummy dip, egg/ham soufflet and a delicious cranberry muffin, as well as juices, teas and coffee. Jim & Linda are both such sweet people who genuinely care about their guests. They made themselves available to us the entire time during our stay. We will definitely return to this bed and breakfast in the future...even if it is just a 20 minute drive from home. A wonderful relaxing night for these 2 parents who rarely get to experience a night away. We highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purduemomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I were visiting Indiana for a family wedding and we wanted one quiet night! We picked the right place because Jim and Linda offer a clean, quiet and warm environment. We felt we were visiting friends...Linda is someone who, as you get to know her, you feel like she has been your friend for years. Fortville is far enough out in the country that you feel like you are far away (and we live in crowded California!) but it is close enough to all the things you want and need in a suburb!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jname5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed at many lovely B+B's. The Ivy House is one of the very best and an unexpected gem tucked away in a charming neighborhood. The home is immaculate, the beds and 300 thread count cotton sheets a slice of heaven, and the food incredible. The innkeeper, Linda, was our favorite part of the stay. After only 2 nights, the Ivy House felt like home and Linda a new friend! If you are reading reviews for an upcoming stay, stop now, pick up the phone or jot off an email, and pray Linda and Jim have availability.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was our 4th visit to the Ivy House...the reason we keep coming back is not just the beautiful accommodations, but because of the owners, Jim & Linda. They are so generous and genuine. Visiting with them, you can feel their enthusiasm & passion for what they do. This visit, our hot air balloon, CaZoo-ee!!, was part of the INDY Air Show.
Our early morning wake up came at 4:30 AM, yet Jim still tip-toed up to our room with a beautifully appointed tray of coffee & juice..."to-go" cups were offered to keep us awake on our short trip to the Mount Comfort Airport. The boys got their ' fix' from the variety of pops & water available from the mini-fridge. We had long days at the air field but returned to soak in the antique tubs and sleep on the most heavenly beds.
Each room we've stayed in - we've had our own bathroom and privacy - yet we feel free to use the house and porch as if it were our own home.
Most of our stays are filled with early morning ballooning, as we join with balloon pilots in the Fortville area to fly. Being from Illinois, our pilot friends put us up at the Ivy House. What a stroke of luck for us.
For the first time in all of my visits, I skipped ballooning one morning, and I got to sit and enjoy a full breakfast with the other guests. I was excited to finally eat in the dining room and be served on the gorgeous china & silver settings. I was served a huge bowl of fresh fruit, lots of hot coffee, and an offering of a variety of juices & teas were available. The breakfast casserole/coffee cake was hot & homemade, served along with crispy bacon. Yum. Everything was wonderful. The other guests were just as impressed with the Inn as I was. Conversation was fun as we got to know each other and I felt as if I had just made two new friends. My son asked for something not on the menu. Well, Jim and Linda went right to work getting him his special toast.
What a treasure this Inn is. It's set in a picturesque midwestern town, where yards are taken care of and children play at the park. Finding this Bed & Breakfast just outside of Indianapolis has been a real stroke of luck. We have gifted friends and family with a getaway trip to the Ivy House...I can't think of a better way to reward someone you love.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaZooDanville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortville
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Noblesville - Indianapolis
9.9 mi away
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Go...
#59 of 185 in Indianapolis
94 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Northeast / Fishers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Indianapolis - Fishers
9.7 mi away
The Prairie Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 304 N Merrill St, Fortville, IN 46040-1030
Location: United States > Indiana > Fortville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fortville
Price Range: $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes NE of Indianapolis,and under 10 minutes to Noblesville and Fishers this premier Indiana Bed & Breakfast is one of the Top 10 in the State. Proud to be featured on HGTV. Our attention to detail and personal service along with the respect of your privacy will make the Ivy House a perfect choice while in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Fortville
The Ivy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing