We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful fall getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fortville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Fortville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delightful fall getaway!”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My husband and I were visiting Indiana for a family wedding and we wanted one quiet night! We picked the right place because Jim and Linda offer a clean, quiet and warm environment. We felt we were visiting friends...Linda is someone who, as you get to know her, you feel like she has been your friend for years. Fortville is far enough out in the country that you feel like you are far away (and we live in crowded California!) but it is close enough to all the things you want and need in a suburb!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jname5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
107
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cleveland,oh
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed at many lovely B+B's. The Ivy House is one of the very best and an unexpected gem tucked away in a charming neighborhood. The home is immaculate, the beds and 300 thread count cotton sheets a slice of heaven, and the food incredible. The innkeeper, Linda, was our favorite part of the stay. After only 2 nights, the Ivy House felt like home and Linda a new friend! If you are reading reviews for an upcoming stay, stop now, pick up the phone or jot off an email, and pray Linda and Jim have availability.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank propsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, IL
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was our 4th visit to the Ivy House...the reason we keep coming back is not just the beautiful accommodations, but because of the owners, Jim & Linda. They are so generous and genuine. Visiting with them, you can feel their enthusiasm & passion for what they do. This visit, our hot air balloon, CaZoo-ee!!, was part of the INDY Air Show.
Our early morning wake up came at 4:30 AM, yet Jim still tip-toed up to our room with a beautifully appointed tray of coffee & juice..."to-go" cups were offered to keep us awake on our short trip to the Mount Comfort Airport. The boys got their ' fix' from the variety of pops & water available from the mini-fridge. We had long days at the air field but returned to soak in the antique tubs and sleep on the most heavenly beds.
Each room we've stayed in - we've had our own bathroom and privacy - yet we feel free to use the house and porch as if it were our own home.
Most of our stays are filled with early morning ballooning, as we join with balloon pilots in the Fortville area to fly. Being from Illinois, our pilot friends put us up at the Ivy House. What a stroke of luck for us.
For the first time in all of my visits, I skipped ballooning one morning, and I got to sit and enjoy a full breakfast with the other guests. I was excited to finally eat in the dining room and be served on the gorgeous china & silver settings. I was served a huge bowl of fresh fruit, lots of hot coffee, and an offering of a variety of juices & teas were available. The breakfast casserole/coffee cake was hot & homemade, served along with crispy bacon. Yum. Everything was wonderful. The other guests were just as impressed with the Inn as I was. Conversation was fun as we got to know each other and I felt as if I had just made two new friends. My son asked for something not on the menu. Well, Jim and Linda went right to work getting him his special toast.
What a treasure this Inn is. It's set in a picturesque midwestern town, where yards are taken care of and children play at the park. Finding this Bed & Breakfast just outside of Indianapolis has been a real stroke of luck. We have gifted friends and family with a getaway trip to the Ivy House...I can't think of a better way to reward someone you love.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaZooDanville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I have been meaning to do this for a bit now. What a lovely place to stay! Sometimes B & B's are wonderful and sometimes they are less than ideal. This was a page out of the must see catalogue. Everything about it was charming but upscale. It is just the perfect place for a business traveler to get away and still feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confidential_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2009

A had a fairly spur-of-the-moment plan to whisk my boyfriend away from our real world traffic for a bit. Shopped on my iPhone for a few minutes in the middle of the night and found the Ivy House with all the details spelled out, photos and great reviews. The next day I sent an inquiry to the innkeeper and received a very prompt and pleasant reply. Booked. It seemed perfect.

We're just here in Indianapolis, which isn't much of a drive at all, but crossing over out of the city, things started to slow down immediately. We pulled up in the driveway and just leaned into each other and took a breath of "yessssss" before getting out. Tucked away in a residential area of character-filled homes and neighborhood charm, Spring just starting to take hold of the surroundings, welcome found in every detail. The innkeeper, with whom I had communicated via email a few times prior to arrival, was just as sweet as I knew she would be. Gave us a quick tour, understanding that we were there to unwind, put our minds at ease about everything and offered guidance on local dining. The room could not have been more perfect in size and style and privacy. Best bed EVER, perfectly maintained everything, and she had gone to some effort to provide specific flowers I had requested, that were just perfectly presented and made just the right emotional impact.

We walked downstairs in the morning holding hands in our jammies to be greeted with a luxuriously healthy meal with a lovely place setting that we could smell baking throughout the house as we stirred awake. Everything was taken care of and we were able to begin a beautiful day with both peace and energy. We are big fans of a simple lifestyle, and appreciated the small town. We chose Chinese food on paper plates in town vs. travelling far for a sit-down at a fancy restaurant. Took a nap on a blanket in the park by the gazebo. Walked for hours, met very kind people and just enjoyed that feeling of not needing to be anywhere. That's pretty much perfect for us.

I wouldn't have changed a thing. All around, an excellent experience that we will absolutely revisit. The Ivy House itself is the perfect example of the bed and breakfast concept--someone opening their home to you and making your presence feel like a treat. Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ivy House for our anniversary. It was beautiful with it's antique doors and period decor! The rooms were immaculate and every need was met! The Innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating but gave us our space as well. Every detail was thought of right down to the beautiful linens and quilts and the plush robes and towels. The breakfast was delicious, stuffed french toast and fruit, yum! We enjoyed going out for dinner close by and then relaxing on the front porch swing. If you want a quiet romantic getaway this is the place! We will definately be a return customer.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymom609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Having never been to a Bed and Breakfast, we didn't know what to expect. Linda was very helpful, and the grounds were quite beautiful, and so our first stay at any Bed and Breakfast was also where we chose to host our wedding. If you love ivy and cozy houses that always smell of freshly baked goods, the Ivy House is definitely for you! Breakfast was comfortably casual, and Linda's souffle was incredible. The architecture and decorations are well thought out, and we found everything we could have wanted elegantly tucked away within easy reach. It's obvious that the Noltes have much experience in providing hospitality.

  • Liked — Our hostess was wonderful
  • Disliked — We can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zannalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortville
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Northeast / Fishers
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Indianapolis NE - Noblesville
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Noblesville - Indianapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Indianapolis - Fishers
10.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northeast
16.1 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Indianapolis Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Ivy House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 304 N Merrill St, Fortville, IN 46040-1030
Location: United States > Indiana > Fortville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fortville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes NE of Indianapolis,and under 10 minutes to Noblesville and Fishers this premier Indiana Bed & Breakfast is one of the Top 10 in the State. Proud to be featured on HGTV. Our attention to detail and personal service along with the respect of your privacy will make the Ivy House a perfect choice while in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Fortville
The Ivy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing