We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither fish nor foul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neither fish nor foul”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The room was clean. The office staff was helpful. The hotel was quiet. The bed was uncomfortable. I found it difficult to find buried inside a local office park. I was somewhat troubled by the residents of an extended stay facility smoking and drinking in an adjacent parking lot. I saw no evidence of any trouble in that regard. I'd read elsewhere about trouble receiving local stations on the room television. As such, I didn't take the time to report it again. That problem doesn't seem to have found a resolution. Basically, an average hotel stay...neither excellent nor poor. I'd likely stay elsewhere next visit to Ft. Wayne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Brian S,
We are so happy that you found our hotel to be clean and our service to be helpful! Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn Southwest. I understand that the downside of our quiet hotel is our location is a little further off the highway than expected. I'm sorry that you had trouble finding us. I'm also sad to hear that you had trouble with our television channels. I do hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty on your next visit to Fort Wayne.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    129
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
165
93
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Family of four stayed here for one night. Great price, great stay and great breakfast. I have to say their breakfast choices are much better than most other places. The pool was nice and the beds comfy. Would stay again if through the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier7189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Hoosier 7189,
We are thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and our Clean and Fresh Hampton Beds! Thank you very much for choosing our Hampton Inn Southwest, it was our honor to serve you.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, OH
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed at the SW Fort Wayne Hampton several times and I have never been disappointed. Renee at the front desk was very friendly as were others I encountered. The hotel is in a safe area and was very quiet. I also enjoyed the continental breakfast.

Only complaint I have as one other reviewer mentioned was some of the cable channels were cutting out. Not a big deal as I didn't go to Fort Wayne to sit in the hotel and watch TV, but it was a nuisance and I figured it was worth mentioning so maybe it could be resolved for future guests?

Room Tip: Room 201 is a King Whirlpool suite and located at the end of the 2nd floor...and even though it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear OhioLW,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor! We are so thrilled that you have enjoyed our hotel and staff. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean and very friendly. Staff is courteous and helpful.

We stayed during 3 Rivers fest, and the girls BB teams were on property. Young girls in the breakfast area putting on their socks and brushing their hair while mom and sis are on their smart phones. That's very poor of mom to allow it. We ate in our room instead.

The coffee table was covered with empty creamers and powdered condiments. Why? The trash basket was full.

Rooms were wonderfully cleaned daily by friendly staff.

I'd have rated this property a 5 if the dining area was properly supervised for all guests to enjoy and not the convenience of groups.

Room Tip: Be sure to get up early if you're going to enjoy the breakfast. Kids take over the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post concerning your stay with us. While we are happy that you enjoyed our service, our goal is to ensure that every guest is taken care of. I am terribly sorry that you felt the need to eat in your room. We never want any of our guests to feel unwelcomed. While we cannot completely control what each guest decides to do in the lobby we can control the cleanliness of our hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies.
I hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty as our guest on your next trip to Fort Wayne.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was close to where we needed to be. The staff was very nice and friendly. It was quiet. The breakfast was better than most. The room was clean and nicely furnished. Some of the tv channels cut in and out sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank tutlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Tutlemom,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, and the cleanliness of our hotel. We work so hard to put the emphasis on our guests' comfort and we're thrilled that you noticed! I understand that a TV channel cutting out can be very annoying and we are looking into the cause at this very moment. Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn Southwest and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were staying in the area for almost two weeks because my father had been in a car accident and was being treated at the Lutheran Hospital and rehab center for a broken neck and two crushed hands. Having the inn to "go home to" each night and a convenient and healthy breakfast provided each morning (which meant that we actually ate breakfast) was invaluable. The comfortable surroundings and the staff at the inn were both very welcoming, and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our situation was highly stressful, and our stay at the inn made it tenable and, at times, even enjoyable... and that's amazing. We were and are thankful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffery K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Jeffery K,
We were honored to serve you during a difficult and stressful time. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel, and for posting your kind words. We hope to serve you in the future under better circumstances.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I arrived with a very warm welcome at the front desk. The breakfast was good and so was the coffee like always. The housekeeping staff was very cheerful with a smile. I would stay at this hotel again if down in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Todd A.,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoy our full complimentary breakfast and coffee! We love to serve our guests and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Fort Wayne.

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
#4 of 44 in Fort Wayne
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
#5 of 44 in Fort Wayne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Fort Wayne at the Grand Wayne Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Best Western Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ft. Wayne North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest
Address: 8219 W Jefferson Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN 46804-4796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Wayne
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see our newly renovated hotel! Make yourself at home in a comfy guest room at and unwind on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, watch TV or stay connected with free wireless internet access. Start your day right with a Hampton Free Hot Breakfast and make sure you sample our delicious waffles. If you don’t have time to join us for breakfast, grab a healthy Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, as you leave the hotel. Catch up with work in our free business center or host a meeting in our well-equipped meeting room. After a long day, rejuvenate in our newly updated fitness center complete with free weights, refresh in our indoor pool and whirlpool and make sure you join us for our Managers Reception* Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne Southwest Hotel Fort Wayne
Hampton Inn Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing