We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid budget hotel, close to a park preserve with running paths!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
634 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A solid budget hotel, close to a park preserve with running paths!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I chose this Hampton Inn (I was traveling to Fort Wayne and South Bend) because it is located next to Eagle Marsh Nature Preserve, which has some walking/running trails for a little morning run.

The hotel is standard Hampton Inn, pleasant staff, decent buffet breakfast, free wifi, etc. and it's located off I-69 and Hwy 24. The road to the hotel isn't the easiest to find, since you have to snake your way around Olde Canal Pl. which is adjacent to the park as well.

There are restaurants close by for you fellow travelers, and having the nature preserve within a few steps is great for a quick morning run that isn't on a busy street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello Mlindzy,
Thank you so much choosing our Hampton Inn! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Fort Wayne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    129
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
165
93
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Hampton Inn in Fort Wayne is a bit out of the way. Yes, it's near I-69 but the hotel is only accessible on a service road off West Jefferson which only has a couple of office buildings, Indiana Wesleyan University and an Extended Stay America. There are several hotels on the opposite side of I-69 and quite a few restaurants as well. There is virtually nothing on this side of the interstate, which means you will definitely need a car if you stay here.

The hotel has a nice breakfast area and lobby. They offer a nice breakfast of cereal, juice, waffles, and a few selections which change daily including a breakfast meat like sausage or bacon. The bottom floor also has an indoor pool/jacuzzi area and an outdoor patio with a propane grill for guests. They even lended me a spatula to get up the burgers. The bottom floor also features a business center and a fitness center, complete with treadmills and weights.

The room is clean and comfortable. I travel a lot and prefer Hampton Inns because of their comfortable beds. This hotel was no exception. The window had a view overlooking the parking lot, but I'm not sure any room had a good view. There's nothing much scenic in the area. The wireless internet was rather slow.

Overall, I'd say this hotel offered a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello Wearly_traveller25,
Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay with us! We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The floor I stayed on was recently renovated and the decorating seemed updated and fresh. Room was generally clean (a little bit of dust that I think was from the recent renovation) and very comfortable. The AC/heating unit worked VERY well and the bed was quite comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. My only real complaint is the water pressure in the shower was a bit lacking. Aside from that, it was a great stay and I was truly impressed with the free breakfast options. I would recommend and would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the newly renovated rooms on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Chippi1,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we really appreciate it. You will be glad to hear that we have completed our renovation and all floors are now new! Also, we have fixed the problems with our water pressure. Thanks again for choosing the Hampton Inn Southwest and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is an otherwise fine Hampton, but the hot water was just a tiny trickle in the shower. I notified the front desk when I left. Not sure if they did anything about it since I didn't have time to switch rooms before I needed to leave. As a business traveler, I'm looking for a hot shower in the morning, a comfortable bed, a hot breakfast, and reliable wifi. This place gave me 3 of the 4.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the hot water before you go to bed. In the morning, it will be too late to do anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Joelinda,
I would like to update you on the water pressure trouble you experienced during your stay with us. We have resolved all water pressure problems and are happy to say that we are completed renovated! I hope you will give us another chance to earn you as a guest. I think we can make it four of four on your list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Have stayed here several times..generally the staff is good and service to o. Location is a plus and lots of options nearby to eat and shop.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antaryami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My girlfriends and I get together a couple times a year for shopping, eating, and visiting. This time we chose the Hampton Southwest, and we were very pleased. The cleanliness, the staff, the reservation process, and the location were all perfect. I was disappointed to read previous reviews about theft; we were there two nights and left all kinds of things in the room.....no problem for us.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a quiet part of town, so I honestly don't think there would be a bad room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My daughter and I spent 5 nights at this hotel. The hotel itself was fine, however my daughter and I had about $350 worth of things stolen over several days. I made a report to the management after the first few things were missing, and the following day we had more things taken. In talking to some of the other guests during breakfast, I found out that they had things taken from their room as well. Again, they talked to the management team, but nothing was done. They told me that the hotel was not responsible for my loss, and that their insurance representatives said they wer not responsible as well. Hampton Inn made no effort to compensate me in any way for the loss. I typically stay at Hampton Inn's and Hilton Hotels, but I will not be supporting this company anymore. I plan to tell as many people as I can about the lack of concern and customer service I experienced. Never again Hampon and Hilton - no class.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick R, Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hello David,
I understand how frustrating it can be to feel as though you have not been heard. I am terribly sorry for any problems you experienced during your stay with us. I want to assure you that all of our associates undergo an extensive background check, and we do not tolerate inapropriate behavior of any kind. Although extremely rare, in a case of a theft complaint we would do a very thorough investigation which involves several safety measures we have in place and interviews with any and all associates which may have knowledge of the situation. We take these things very seriously and care very much. Again, I am so sorry that you have been unsatisfied with the steps that we have taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
#4 of 44 in Fort Wayne
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
#5 of 44 in Fort Wayne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Fort Wayne at the Grand Wayne Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Best Western Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ft. Wayne North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest
Address: 8219 W Jefferson Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN 46804-4796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Wayne
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see our newly renovated hotel! Make yourself at home in a comfy guest room at and unwind on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®, watch TV or stay connected with free wireless internet access. Start your day right with a Hampton Free Hot Breakfast and make sure you sample our delicious waffles. If you don’t have time to join us for breakfast, grab a healthy Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, as you leave the hotel. Catch up with work in our free business center or host a meeting in our well-equipped meeting room. After a long day, rejuvenate in our newly updated fitness center complete with free weights, refresh in our indoor pool and whirlpool and make sure you join us for our Managers Reception* Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne Southwest Hotel Fort Wayne
Hampton Inn Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing