We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“(Almost) Nothing Has Changed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“(Almost) Nothing Has Changed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel was a Marriott until the end of 2012, and the only place I've ever stayed in Fort Wayne. The property itself was not the greatest, but the location was perfect, and the wonderful staff always made it feel like home, so I always looked forward to returning. During my last Marriott visit in December, the staff assured me that nothing would chance when I returned in 2013.

For the most part, they were correct. My few minor issues were probably related to transition pains:
1. The hotel itself nearly impossible to find on bing/google searches. I eventually booked it through Expedia.
2. Billing peculiarities. For reasons I don't understand, I was called back to the restaurant to pay my check with my credit card, because they couldn't post the room charge to my account. However, a drink from the concierge lounge three hours earlier went through, no problem.
3. Hours at the Rum Runners bar are cut to Friday/Saturday only. This means that if you want a simple, inexpensive meal, you now have to get in your car (unless you can stomach Arby's....blecch).

Overall, a very nice stay; same as it ever was.

The fact of the matter, is that rewards points are hugely important for most frequent business travelers, and I can't imagine this hotel not taking a gut shot by losing its Marriott flag. I hope they survive this, because there is a group of first-rate professionals running this place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay!

Our team has worked diligently over the past month to ensure a smooth transition from Marriott to Hotel Fort Wayne. I appreciate you bringing these points to our attention so we can address them appropriately.

Our new website should be "live" by the end of this week. This will make the hotel much more visible on search engines and easier to find for all guests.

I apologize for the confusion in the Red River steakhouse. At this point, I cannot be sure of the reason behind the billing issues; however, I have passed along your comments to our restaurant manager for further review.

We made the decision to limit the hours for Rum Runners to Friday & Saturday during the slower winter months. However, if any guest has a special favorite from the Rum Runners menu, we are more than happy to prepare it in our steakhouse at any time.

Thank you for your kind words and candid review - we hope to see you back the next time you visit Fort Wayne!

Michael S
Reservations Manager
Hotel Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    157
    103
    43
    21
See reviews for
168
53
20
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Greetings,

I have been staying at this hotel for almost two years and recently they transferred from the Marriott chain to an independent (Hotel Ft. Wayne). I am a Platium, Marriott rewards member and I only stay at Marriott, seriously. However, because of this family that I have adopted at the Hotel Ft. Wayne, I did not mind not receiving my points for my recent stay. I must say that they have the same great service just a different name. The front desk staff (Selina Goings, Jessica Wilson, Amber M) are always available to assist me with all of my needs. They know me and what I like and assure that I am very comfortable, I feel safe there. Also, the conciege's group (Jill Collins and Tim) are professional and at the same time they provide exceptional service and they absolutely cater to each one personally. It is funny because I had one person say, "I was worried about you" because I did not get to the hotel at my normal time after work.

If you are ever in the area, please stay at the Hotel Ft. Wayne and experience the wonderful, warm service that I have received and tell them I said Hello!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PleziaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for all your great comments - I will make sure to pass the feedback along to our entire team. We have many long-term employees who are committed to our hotel and it is great to know that our efforts are appreciated.

We hope to you see you back soon!

Thank you,

Michael S.
Reservations Manager
Hotel Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband, my daughter and I stayed here for one night.

This hotel is conveniently located off of I-69, exactly in the part of town where we wanted to be. It's close to lots of great stuff; excellent restaurants, a movie theater, DeBrand's Chocolates (YUM), etc.

The room was well-appointed, we requested a room with two beds and a fridge and that is exactly what we got. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The bedding was warm and nice. The room temperature was actually exactly where it needed to be for our comfort, so we didn't have to do any adjusting at all. The room was also very quiet, which was a huge blessing and made for a very restful sleep.

My daughter played at the pool while I sat poolside and used the free wireless internet connection on my iPad. Very nice. She thoroughly enjoyed the pool. It was not crowded in the pool area but did have a few people enjoying the space.

The staff were wonderful. Check-in was an absolute breeze & they slid the receipt under the door so check-out was easy, too.

Our son lives in Fort Wayne & I would definitely enjoy staying at this hotel again next time we visit him.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacieJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your room and our amenities. If you have an opportunity to return in the summer, we will also have the outdoor portion of the pool open. This doubles the size of our pool area and is very popular with guests in the warmer months.

I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we hope you return soon!

Thank you,

Michael S
Reservations Manager
Hotel Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past year or so (I am a Marriott Rewards member and try to stick with full service properties if available) and have always been impressed by the staff and the property overall. Like the previous review mentioned, it is an older hotel but they have maintained the rooms very well. I was surprised on my most recent visit to find the hotel operating as an independent but they haven't missed a beat. Would consider staying here again the next time I'm in Fort Wayne.

Room Tip: Concierge Floor is a nice upgrade if they have it available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I will make sure to pass your comments along to our entire staff. We hope to see you back again soon the next time you visit our city!

Thank you,

Michael S
Reservations Manager
Hotel Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
207 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked this through Marriott, but in December the hotel was dropped by Marriott or went independent. We were a little worried about this at first.

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is older, but not run down. There is actually a great bit of history there. The rooms were nice and seemed updated. The bathrooms were a little small. Our primary reason for picking this hotel was for the pool and hot tub. Our kids love to swim and the Hyatt across the street did not have a pool. The breakfast buffet was a nice add on.

Overall, our experience was very good here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStolleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us.

I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our pool facilities and enjoyed the breakfast during your stay. Our team has worked very hard to ensure a seamless transition to an independent property and I'm glad you enjoyed your overall experience.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Thank you,

Michael S
Reservations Manager
Hotel Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Wayne
1.0 mi away
Don Hall's Guesthouse
Don Hall's Guesthouse
#13 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
#9 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
#4 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 305 E Washington Center Rd, Fort Wayne, IN 46825-4406 (Formerly Hotel Fort Wayne)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels provide a place to sleep.... we create outstanding memories... Hotel Fort Wayne is the premier site in Fort Wayne, Indiana for weddings, business meetings, seminars, youth sports, and family reunions. Our guest experience and meeting specialists will hold your hand as you plan your event so that you create meaningful get-togethers and outstanding memories. But we're more than a meetings hotel, as we are family friendly, AAA rated, and TAG approved. With convenience from Interstate 69 and less than 5 miles to downtown Fort Wayne, Indiana, the Hotel Fort Wayne specializes in Hoosier hospitality, All-American City quality and access to sports venues, major corporations and leisure activities. Whether coming to visit the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo, the Memorial Coliseum or Fort Wayne's baseball team, the Tincaps, our location is ideal to wherever you point your adventure. Near Spiece Fieldhouse, Parkview SportOne Volleyball Fieldhouse, and Lutheran Health SportsCenter Ice Arena, this hotel is also close to Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne and Parkview Regional Medical Center. Major corporations close by include General Motors, Raytheon, Vera Bradley and Exelis. Free Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access are available throughout the property... whether it's while watching a 32" flat screen from your comfortable king or double guest room or suite, at our indoor or outdoor pool, or as you dine in our restaurant. Complimentary parking is plentiful at the Hotel Fort Wayne. Also featuring... 24-hour fitness center Fort Wayne's ONLY Concierge Lounge, available as an upgrade from standard rooms Red River Steakhouse serving seafood, steaks, ribs ,sandwiches and salads and Duesy's Sports Bar & Grille. Featuring all your favorite sports on 27 big screen TV's. Not a bad seat in the house and the best smoked wings in the city. Whirlpool and sundeck Pet friendly, select rooms only, fee applies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Wayne Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Wayne Marriott Hotel Fort Wayne
Marriott Fort Wayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing