We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER”
Review of Country Hearth Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Hearth Inn
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
fortwayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

i would never recommend this place to anybody whatsoever. This place was horrible. I was here on a trip with my family for a week for the holidays. On the first night, my kids got bug bites and had to be taken to the doctor. when i went and told the man at the front office about it, he told me that an exterminator would be called and that my room would be switched. I should of just left because the new room wasnt any better. the bathtub had silly putty in the bottom of it and the microwave didnt work. After calling to complain about that four times i just gave up because face it, it wasnt gonna happen. The tv also had about five channels and each one was fuzzier then the last. Not only that but they wanted me to pay for the exterminator to fix the bug problem when we should of got a discount for the new room. Then when i told the lady in the office i was checking out she started calling me names and cursing at me and she also got in my wifes face a little bit. Then threatened to call the cops if i didnt leave immediately. that was the biggest favor she did me all week. I very happily left. Not only that but neither room was very clean when i first stepped foot in it. and the milk that they served at breakfast was spoiled the whole time i was there. They also give you one set of towels per week, no matter how much you ask them. This was the worst stay ever. you would be better off sleeping in your car. trust me.! (p.s- i hope you have strong tires because there are potholes and broken glass everywhere in the parking lot)

Room Tip: Sleep in your car. Anythings better than a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutiepie122895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    4
    1
    14
See reviews for
9
4
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

A worn-out, indifferently maintained property in an awkward location. The room says it's non-smoking, but there was a musty, almost smokey smell in the lobby, hallways, and my room. The room furnishings were mostly functional, but badly scarred and worn. The heater/air conditioner had a missing control knob, and was poorly sealed to the wall with duct tape. The room's window was clouded to the point of being nearly opaque, yet was impossible to unlock to vent the room's fusty atmosphere. At least all the light bulbs worked.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I'm relocating to the Fort Wayne, IN area and needed a cheap place to stay. I stayed at the Country Hearth for 12 days. My weekly rate was $150/week.

What did that get me?

1. Bed
2. Microwave
3. Microfridge
4. Bathroom
5. Wifi

The room was made up 6 days a week (not on Sunday - and the manager let me know that when I checked in).

I had to defrost the microfridge (huge ice chunk - which is common). Management should save some money by unplugging the microfridge when it's not being used. The microwave, though small, was adequate for my needs.

The bathroom is supplied with soap, towels, washcloths, and a floor towel. No shampoo or anything else. Met my basic needs.

One washer and dryer is available - I was able to use it once; the other time I needed to wash clothes the washer was being used I went to the laundromat.

The breakfast is very spartan - glad that I had a microfridge :-) I bought my own food and ate in the room.

If I needed a room for a night or two, I probably wouldn't stay at the County Hearth; there are multiple inexpensive options close by (Knight's Inn, Motel 6, Red Roof). But if you are looking for inexpensive longer-term lodging, for $150/week, the Country Hearth worked just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I received prompt, friendly service throughout my stay, and room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortWayneOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san franciso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days because my one teenage girl join the skating competition here in city. the price is really affordable, room clean, cont. breakfast, nice staffs. but before I check out, some of the rude quests older ladies casting out dirty mouth to the desk clerks, with no reasons at all, if she don't like the place, why she don't want check out? because she is cheap and can't find any comparison motel with good rates and good services. I feel sorry for the clerk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank money0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We checked in and there was no hot water. We checked with the front desk who said to wait 1o minutes. We tried again 1/2 hour and an no hot water. The front desk did nothing. After 2 hours of waiting we left but the hotel refused to refund our money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justafamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed here in June. The owners are very friendly but the staff is rude, helpless, and incompetent. The sheets weren't clean. There were several hairs on the pillows and in the sheets. I was refused a refund. I was even refused fresh linen so I could change the sheets.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyTrain76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Wayne
22.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Decatur
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Wayne
Red Roof Inn Fort Wayne
#36 of 44 in Fort Wayne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Wayne North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Wayne
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ft. Wayne North
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Wayne - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hearth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn

Property: Country Hearth Inn
Address: 2908 Goshen Rd, Fort Wayne, IN 46808-1322 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hearth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing