We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer and food!”
Review of The Hoppy Gnome

The Hoppy Gnome
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 6/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #8 of 793 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The beer was great. They dont just serve their own but there were many selections for beers from other breweries as well. The food was great. The service was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank virginiagirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 316 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2019

Hoppy Gnome was established in 2016. Interestingly, they are owned and operated by the same people as BakerStreet Steakhouse. They are open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. They are at the corner of Berry and Clinton. Metered parking is available along Clinton or in a parking lot (free from 3 PM to 9 AM) across Berry from the entrance. We had discussed dining here previously but this was our first visit. Our fivesome (4 adults, 1 child) headed to Hoppy Gnome for dinner of a Saturday evening. We arrived at ~6 pm to find them swamped. Hostess informed us of an expected 30 minuet wait (possibly less). Sadly, in spite of our reminder alarm token, our place in line was lost. A couple families (with kids) arriving after us were seated first. We ended up waiting ~70 minutes. Admit that this experience was a bit of a downer - not as much the wait as the hostess losing our place in line. Manager, Connor, was pleasant. He was quite personable with the guests waiting in their 'lobby' area waiting for seating. He also was nice when we politely asked what was happening with our table after waiting an hour. When we gained a table, our waitress Jen was also very nice. She was happy to review menu choices with us and provide us beverages. Their menu is varied with some very creative choices for appetizers, tacos, salads and entrees. I understand that tacos are their specialty. However, these are not typical tacos. Rather a taco (flour or corn shell) is the vehicle via which some interesting culinary options are delivered. Further they explained that their menu 'rotates' two - four times per year, keeping meal options interesting. One in our group had their Vegan Sushi (rice, mango, Fresno chile, cucumber, pickled red onion, cilantro, nori & Avocado), which she liked. Our child shared tacos with the rest of us. We sampled their Smoked Brisket (apple-wood smoked Brisket, chipotle & cherry salsa, fried scallions), The Bob Marley (smoked jerk chicken, hemp seeds, pineapple salsa, fire roasted red peppers, sour cream), Korean Short Rib (braised beef short rib, Korean BBQ sauce, cilantro-lime-cabbage slaw),
Dante’s Inferno (garlic-chili tempura chicken, pepper jack cheese, seven levels of hell hot sauce), Three Little Pigs (pork belly, carnitas, pork cheek, Kentucky whiskey glaze, smoked jalapeño coleslaw), Mahi Mahi (blackened mahi mahi, pineapple salsa, guacamole), and Chili Glazed shrimp (breaded shrimp, chili glaze, jicama & cucumber slaw). I had the Smoked Brisket, Korean Short Ribs and 3 Little Pigs. The flavors of all were good. My only critique is that the associated flavors of the Smoked Brisket and Korean Short Rib tacos overwhelmed the flavor of the meat. I also likely made an error in selecting corn tacos rather than flour tacos, as the corn tacos themselves have a strong flavor. If I had this to do over again, I would stay with flour tacos. I would also go with The Bob Marley, Mahi Mahi and Chili Glazed Shrimp - all of which had high praise from my dining partners. Although we pretty much opted for tacos on this first visit, their selection of entrees was very intriguing. In the vein of "never look back," I think that I will focus on this part of the menu in a future visit.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We had just finished at the Vera Bradley outlet sale and needed a light lunch. We found the Hoppy Gnome. A very diverse menu. They offer half salads. We had the fattous, one with steak one plain. Very flavorful. We saw the street tacos and they looked delicious.
Service was fast and friendly
The prices were very reasonable

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank kmanduss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Hoppy Gnome, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you for visiting kmanduss! Hope your time with us was as fun as your time at the outlet sale! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to your next visit. Have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

I tried the caramel apple salad. Delicious! and their brisket taco. It was also very good. They have a variety of tacos to suit any taste.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Aggie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Hoppy Gnome, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you so much for visiting Aggie80! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We were just passing through on our way home after a long vacation and travel. Googled places that were listed as having a gluten free menu and The Hoppy Gnomes website/menu enticed us enough to get off the road. And we were not disappointed. Knowledgeable about gluten. GREAT waitress. Service was wonderful, they do a little snack for kids as soon as you sit down, well worth it. Food was delicious. We tried 3 kinds of tacos, a cocktail, a kids drink and a salad and no one was disappointed with any of it.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meagan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Hoppy Gnome, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

WOW! Thank you for all the kind words Meagan! We're thankful Google helped steer you our direction :) Hopefully we'll see you again in the future, but if not, thanks so much for giving us a try. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoppy Gnome also viewed

 

Been to The Hoppy Gnome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing