We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yuck!!!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I hate that I waited so long to review this place. Had to use it for a trip to see my step-son play soccer. It was the cheapest and closest to our destination. Saw the mixed reviews but decided to give it a shot. Oh boy where to start..... Walls looked like they were from a daycare because of how dirty they were and the smell in the hallway was not too pleasant. Our sheets had ciggarette holes. Our bathroom was awful. My fiance had a hard time shaving because the lighting was so bad. Oh did I mention the walls were dirty in the washroom too. Our shower curtain did not close properly and was being held shut to the wall by push pins...yes push pins.(and have pictures to prove it and will post.) The tub backed up so bad that we had to wait 15 minutes before the next person could shower. I sent HJ a email and surprise surprise no response nor an apology for the conditions of the hotel. Never again will I stay at this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrios86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    66
    48
    42
See reviews for
64
39
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was called out for a last minute business trip and glad I chose not to pay much attention to the other reviews because my 2 night stay here was great! Very courteous and friendly staff that made me feel welcomed to a new area. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough for me to get a good nights rest. I didn't notice much of a paint smell as mentioned in other reviews but I was glad to see new paint instead of chipped paint. There are also nearby places to eat which was a plus for me too. I would definitely come back here if I'm ever in the area again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Its a great place, Friendly & helpful staff. Close to lots of fast food places. Rooms had some smell of paint, but i guess owners had to renovate them sometime, I rather have renovated rooms then peeled off paint n stains over it. Room cleaning service was excellent. Im not early bird, so I didn't try the breakfast, but when you have lots of restaurants around & specially IHOP around the corner why wake up early.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Room was newly painted and smelled strong of paint fumes. The bed was obviously lower on one side and upon looking at it the bed frame was not correctly put togther and it was duct taped together. The shower had absolutely no water pressure, most of the water came out of the faucet instead of the shower head. Nothing was pluged in (tv, lights, heater, fridge, microwave). Also there wasn't a clock in the room. This was my 2nd time staying here and I don't remember it being this bad. It has really gone downhill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Saralyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was a inexpensive rate but I would not go back. The hotel smelled of paint, there were no drinking cups in the room(but a coffee pot), a we were given two hand towels that were passed off as bath towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

TERRIBLE! Room looked as if was painted by a 2 year old. Paint all over every fixture! Remote did not work


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Wayne - North
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 44 in Fort Wayne
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Wayne North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Wayne
Days Inn Fort Wayne
#33 of 44 in Fort Wayne
124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 44 in Fort Wayne
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Fort Wayne
Super 8 Fort Wayne
#34 of 44 in Fort Wayne
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum

Property: Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum
Address: 522 E Coliseum Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1216 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North is near the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, location of many concerts and events. Shopping and dining options are numerous, with both the Northcrest Shopping Center and Glenbrook Square Shopping Mall a short walk away. Indiana University Purdue and Fort Wayne Zoo are less than 2 miles from this Magnuson Hotel property. Guests of the Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North can enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast and stay connected with free wifi throughout the hotel. Parking is always free, with plenty of room for oversized vehicles. All guest rooms come equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing