We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the Price,Good Local.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine for the Price,Good Local.”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

.Location is great, Bed was firm, pillows were fine. We had 2 dbl beds so each bed had 2 pillows. The room was very clean. The bathroom smelled of bleach lightly. That was fine for me. The breakfast area is small, some fruit danish and cereal coffee. OK.. Very friendly and helpful up front. Note to the wise you can get a free workout pass for the gym close by. American Health Fitness. www.ahfc.com 1 day or 2 week pass on line, has a nice pool as well.

Room Tip: No printer @ biz center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    66
    48
    42
See reviews for
64
39
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

In tight times this property fits the bill for a on a budget traveler. Good location, clean rooms, and comfortable bed make this a good buy. While it is an older facility, it has been updated and has the amenities for short stays. Only negative comment would be the complementary breakfast (but it is free!). Overall left with a feeling of best bang for the buck feeling.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pote97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you want a clean cheaper hotel that's close to Malls & restaurents - this one could suit your needs. Many famous restaurants surrounding this hotel for food - so good place for 2 or 3 days. Hotel is located behind famous Bob Evans Restaurent. It's a plus. It is recommmended for family as well as business visitors. The hotel staff is also friendly and always willing to help us when needed. Great service. Thank you for making our stay pleasant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deepal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Bad check in experience (charged more than rate I was quoted, AAA wasn't honored), pubic hairs found in and on shower, dried vomit looking substance found on blankets. Asked for refund, was denied, switched to another room which seemed ok, but was itchy and creeped out all night. Trash trucks outside window dumping dumpsters at 4:30 am, VERY loud. Checked out as soon as I could. At check out, was given a partial refund (AAA rate plus 10% for having to switch rooms). I travel a LOT and I would NOT stay here again. If it's bad enough to want to leave after driving 9+ hours, it's bad. While I appreciate the partial refund and switching my room, when a customer shows you dried vomit and dried dirty rags that were in the shower, within' an hour of checking in (keep in mind, I unloaded my car and went to eat at Bob Evans~~on property), and asks for a refund to leave and go elsewhere, you should honor their request and think "would you stay there or allow your family to sleep in those conditions??" No, you'd want to leave as well. Breakfast was very basic and in a room that was gutted to put breakfast items in. When I changed hotels in the morning, the hotel I went to told me they get people from that hotel all the time with the same complaints. Spend the extra and stay elsewhere, trust me.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. I have never wanted to leave a place so bad! Dumpsters are outside of room windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsysoul73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Since I was without a car rental until my checkout date, I LOVED the idea that HJ location was not only set on one of the most major thoroughfares in Ft. Wayne therefore allowing it to be so close in proximity and walking distance to the major mall-laundry facility-eateries-car rental depots but because it is situated so far back from this major road, you never heard any of that constant taffic going by-it was not only cozy-looking and so cozy-situated being way back behind the Bob Evan's Rest but it is so nice and quiet staying there like you are out in the country! You get the best of both worlds! I was able to finish all of my shopping needs by just walking saving me a bundle of money on a car rental-I didn't have to feel scared or panicky of losing my independence!! Anybody who had to pick me up would say how easy it was to find it and they didn't have to go out of their way from their location in gas and mileage since it is so ideally and centrally located on this major road that is highly travelled. The entire staff went way above and beyond on their hospitality and warm friendliness that you get the feeling of that "homey Midwestern welcomeness!" It felt more like your home you were coming back to in comparison to some other lodging places that don't make you feel this way-other places I stayed at in comparison would give you such a "cold" feeling and I felt very welcomed here at HJ's. Then, when I looked at the price for rooms here-that TOTALLY sold me!!!! Two other things that really impressed me: The sharp-looking uniforms that front desk attires and I was so CRAZY about my humongo desk in my room (being a paperwork and business person-that really stood out for me) I'm sure many business people will agree!!!! You def have a really good thing going on here-I will stay here again most def-pls keep it going on!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was on business trip to Fort Wayne, IN and this place was close to the meeting place. Check In-Check Out was smooth, room was clean, bed was comfortable and had good sleep. And there are plenty of restaurants around to eat. Morning breakfast was basic but Bob Evans in the same parking lot worked well for me. Didn't use workout room but there was one. Wi-Fi Internet was better than many other places.

Room Tip: I called hotel directly, they have many discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somtrip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel is kind of hard to see from Coliseum Blvd.. We drove past it and had to turn around. Not a big deal, though.
Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Reception was very pleasant and informative.
Very quiet, close to restaraunts and shopping.
It was within walking distance from where we were going, so that was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof_tande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Wayne - North
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 44 in Fort Wayne
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Wayne North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Wayne
Days Inn Fort Wayne
#33 of 44 in Fort Wayne
124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 44 in Fort Wayne
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Fort Wayne
Super 8 Fort Wayne
#34 of 44 in Fort Wayne
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum

Property: Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum
Address: 522 E Coliseum Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1216 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North is near the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, location of many concerts and events. Shopping and dining options are numerous, with both the Northcrest Shopping Center and Glenbrook Square Shopping Mall a short walk away. Indiana University Purdue and Fort Wayne Zoo are less than 2 miles from this Magnuson Hotel property. Guests of the Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North can enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast and stay connected with free wifi throughout the hotel. Parking is always free, with plenty of room for oversized vehicles. All guest rooms come equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Fort Wayne North - Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing