We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sports”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Since I was without a car rental until my checkout date, I LOVED the idea that HJ location was not only set on one of the most major thoroughfares in Ft. Wayne therefore allowing it to be so close in proximity and walking distance to the major mall-laundry facility-eateries-car rental depots but because it is situated so far back from this major road, you never heard any of that constant taffic going by-it was not only cozy-looking and so cozy-situated being way back behind the Bob Evan's Rest but it is so nice and quiet staying there like you are out in the country! You get the best of both worlds! I was able to finish all of my shopping needs by just walking saving me a bundle of money on a car rental-I didn't have to feel scared or panicky of losing my independence!! Anybody who had to pick me up would say how easy it was to find it and they didn't have to go out of their way from their location in gas and mileage since it is so ideally and centrally located on this major road that is highly travelled. The entire staff went way above and beyond on their hospitality and warm friendliness that you get the feeling of that "homey Midwestern welcomeness!" It felt more like your home you were coming back to in comparison to some other lodging places that don't make you feel this way-other places I stayed at in comparison would give you such a "cold" feeling and I felt very welcomed here at HJ's. Then, when I looked at the price for rooms here-that TOTALLY sold me!!!! Two other things that really impressed me: The sharp-looking uniforms that front desk attires and I was so CRAZY about my humongo desk in my room (being a paperwork and business person-that really stood out for me) I'm sure many business people will agree!!!! You def have a really good thing going on here-I will stay here again most def-pls keep it going on!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    66
    48
    42
See reviews for
64
39
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was on business trip to Fort Wayne, IN and this place was close to the meeting place. Check In-Check Out was smooth, room was clean, bed was comfortable and had good sleep. And there are plenty of restaurants around to eat. Morning breakfast was basic but Bob Evans in the same parking lot worked well for me. Didn't use workout room but there was one. Wi-Fi Internet was better than many other places.

Room Tip: I called hotel directly, they have many discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somtrip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel is kind of hard to see from Coliseum Blvd.. We drove past it and had to turn around. Not a big deal, though.
Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Reception was very pleasant and informative.
Very quiet, close to restaraunts and shopping.
It was within walking distance from where we were going, so that was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof_tande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

It was nice stay with my wife in this hotel for the 4th of july long weekend. Great service and rooms where the way i thought of, neat and clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Reasons why you should not stay here (in no particular order):
1. Rooms small and damp and smell like mildew.
2. Both pillowcases were covered in stains.
3. Both (thin) towels stained.
4. Dead bug found in the bathroom.
5. Kleenex box empty upon arrival.
6. Crusty piece of cheese (we hope nothing worse) stuck between keys in remote control.
7. Ironing board covered in some brown stain.
8. Door would not deadbolt.
9. "Fitness Room" actually regular (which is small) room, with treadmill and stationary bike.
10. We are embarrassed to have paid $60 for this dump. Had trouble sleeping because I was just uncomfortable in my surroundings. NOT WORTH IT.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spantscleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Wayne hotels

Ontario
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I would not recommend this to anyone; the hotel looked nice from the outside and this is where the friendliness ended. The room smelled awful, musty, stale air; and the black mold behind the peeling wallpaper in the shower was the last straw.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highway_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2009

It was a great pleasure staying at the perfact Howard Johnson at 522 E. Coliseum Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana. The Customer Service was excellent.
The Motel location at the heart of the City of Fort Wayne, surrounded by a many fine restaurants, biggest Mall in the area, Coliseum Sports complex, Indiana-Purdue University and many great places...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Wayne
Days Inn Fort Wayne
#34 of 44 in Fort Wayne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Wayne
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Fort Wayne
Comfort Inn Fort Wayne
#25 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Fort Wayne
Super 8 Fort Wayne
#33 of 44 in Fort Wayne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 44 in Fort Wayne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum
Address: 522 E Coliseum Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN 46805-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Fort Wayne - Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing