We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hey, Candlewood!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Hey, Candlewood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

First off, I LOVE the blankets. The blanket/throw at the end of the bed was perfect to throw over our shoulders while watching movies in the middle of the night! It's such a risk though, to have bright white linens, and blankets. With that being said, there were a few stains on the bed spread and on the towels, but I suppose that is to be expected. I work at a Candlewood, so I understand.
Either way, the stay was great. The front desk was super helpful, with the few questions I did have. One thing though, was the doors bang super loud! The chair in one of our rooms was peeling pretty badly though. 129? or 128? I don't remember.
End of the day, great stay, friendly staff, pretty pool.
We brought my mom down for her birthday weekend.
She had a blast, and that's all that mattered.
Thanks Candlewood!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Jessica C.,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed the blankets and our helpful front desk staff. I was especially happy to hear that your mother enjoyed her birthday with us. I'm sorry the furniture wasn't satisfactory and the shutting doors were loud. We will use your feedback as opportunity to look at improvement. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Warmly,
Andrea H.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    7
    12
    5
See reviews for
22
9
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colt
Level Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This motel was very clean. The room was spotless. This is a very nice place to stay and has reasonable rates. There is a furnished kitchen with stovetop and microwave. There is a large bar that separates the kitchen from the living room area. The rooms are nice size. The bathroom was large and the towels were fluffy and fresh. The bed was in a room by itself. The bed was cozy and the sheets were soft and fresh. The only problem we had here was when we arrived, we were given the key to a room that had already been occupied. I opened the door and walked in on the man who was already settled in the room. The girls at the front desk apologized and gave us some points on our account to make up for the mistake. We were then given another room which was great! Rest assured we double latched our door! I wrote the corporate office and told them about the issue. They have not responded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Kattoe,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our property. We appreciate your business. I am so glad you enjoyed our clean hotel and the kitchen in your room. I apologize for the mix up at check-in. We never want anyone to feel unsafe. We will make sure we use this as an opportunity for training. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Andrea Hill
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at this location at least 8 times in the past 4 years. This time was quite different from the last. For some reason, they changed the Pantene shampoo to some off-brand...my wife is still grumbling. For some reason, they do not offer complimentary free drinks for each night you stay...only giving one per trip. For some reason, the furniture in our room was ready for the dump (fake leather on chairs bubbling and peeling). The service was ok, but by Candlewood standards, ok just doesn't cut it. There were granola bar wrappers under the chair which tells me they are not properly vacuuming which makes me think about what else are they cutting corners on. My wife thinks they are going to sell the hotel or it is going to change names...I think she is right. This is our last time staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdau75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear pdau75,

Thank you for your time in posting your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stays previously. I apologize that your stay with us this time was less than satisfying. Your comments will be used as opportunity for improvements. We hope you will consider being our guest again.

Sincerely,
Andrea
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wasn't quite sure how to rate this hotel, so I decided to give it an average grade.
Positive... Staff and front desk. They were tremendous. I had a great time talking and joking with those girls.
Average.... The rooms. Plenty or room. But, the suite aspect is a kitchenette in the room and nothing more.
Negatives.... Some of the furniture. One of the rooms we rented hat furniture that was broken and well worn.
Would I stay again? To be treated right? Yes. For the rooms? Maybe...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear drwn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. I am very pleased to read that you had a great time with our staff.

On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find our rooms to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies if this aspect didn't meet your expectations.

Rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed and will be used to target opportunity areas. We all look forward to having the pleasure of serving you once again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
571 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed in a suite. It was large as hotel rooms go. It has a small kitchen with a full frig, counter top stove with two burners, mircowave, dishwasher, dishes etc. It has a seperate bedroom with a flat screen in it.. There is also a flat screen in the living room with a couch and chair.

The desk is set up so you can see the TV as you work and the outlets are easy to reach to plug your computer into.

They only clean the rooms once a week, so you do not have daily service.

The front desk is friendly and always very nice. They have an exercise room and a laundry room. It is a pet friendly hotel and there were a number of pets staying when I was there.

This hotel is for extended stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear JeffreyTravel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed our front desk and that they were friendly. It is great to hear your stay was satisfactory. We look forward to having you be our guest again!

Sincerely,

Andrea
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Candlewoods have always been a great hotel to stay in but this hotel did not live up to expectations. The outside and lobby of hotel are well maintained. The beds are very uncomfortable. The hotel must cater to pets because my room had pet hair and a smell of pets not to mention all the damage to the furniture from the cats and dogs in the room, I even included pictures of damage. This hotel is designed for extended stay, disturbing to think that pets stay in hotel for days at a time while owners are away. The staff is great and very friendly.

Room Tip: If not traveling with pets ask for a room that has not had pets living in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckghutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear chuckghutch,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am happy to know that you found our staff to be friendly. However, please accept my apologies that you were inconvenienced by the condition of the bed that you were given and maintenance levels being sub par. I have taken note of your feedback and I will be relaying this to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed at our hotel.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Typical Candlewood if you have ever stayed at one before.

Staff was extremely friendly, and helpful. Hotel was clean and extra towels were given to us upon request. Close to the expressway but outside noise was minimal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canoe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Wayne
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ft. Wayne North
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Wayne North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Wayne
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Fort Wayne
Comfort Inn Fort Wayne
#27 of 49 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 49 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne
Address: 5251 Distribution Dr, Fort Wayne, IN 46825-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know what you need at the Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne hotel. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands their unique needs. We are conveniently located off I-69 and Lima Rd. (Exit 311A) walking distance to Spiece Field house and just minutes from all major companies, area attractions, and universities. Each suite is spacious and built with you in mind, with the comforts of home. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy movies from our free video lending library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or indoor heated pool. Work efficiently at your over size executive desk using our free high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy cooking in a a full kitchen complete with microwave and a full-size refrigerator, dishwasher, and a 2 stove top burner. Please visit our Candlewood Cupboard, where you can purchase breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks, at valued prices or visit any of our close dining restaurants. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. While here for special projects, audits, relocation, sales, construction, temporary assignment, tournaments, or leisure our professional staff can help. We are proud to offer our guests Priority Club Rewards good at over 3500 hotels worldwide. We value your privacy; therefore, we provide weekly housekeeping service. Come and experience our friendly staff and let us show you a truly remarkable hotel that offers value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne Hotel Fort Wayne
Candlewood Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing