We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possible sale or change of ownership?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at this location at least 8 times in the past 4 years. This time was quite different from the last. For some reason, they changed the Pantene shampoo to some off-brand...my wife is still grumbling. For some reason, they do not offer complimentary free drinks for each night you stay...only giving one per trip. For some reason, the furniture in our room was ready for the dump (fake leather on chairs bubbling and peeling). The service was ok, but by Candlewood standards, ok just doesn't cut it. There were granola bar wrappers under the chair which tells me they are not properly vacuuming which makes me think about what else are they cutting corners on. My wife thinks they are going to sell the hotel or it is going to change names...I think she is right. This is our last time staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdau75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear pdau75,

Thank you for your time in posting your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stays previously. I apologize that your stay with us this time was less than satisfying. Your comments will be used as opportunity for improvements. We hope you will consider being our guest again.

Sincerely,
Andrea
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wasn't quite sure how to rate this hotel, so I decided to give it an average grade.
Positive... Staff and front desk. They were tremendous. I had a great time talking and joking with those girls.
Average.... The rooms. Plenty or room. But, the suite aspect is a kitchenette in the room and nothing more.
Negatives.... Some of the furniture. One of the rooms we rented hat furniture that was broken and well worn.
Would I stay again? To be treated right? Yes. For the rooms? Maybe...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear drwn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online. I am very pleased to read that you had a great time with our staff.

On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find our rooms to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies if this aspect didn't meet your expectations.

Rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed and will be used to target opportunity areas. We all look forward to having the pleasure of serving you once again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed in a suite. It was large as hotel rooms go. It has a small kitchen with a full frig, counter top stove with two burners, mircowave, dishwasher, dishes etc. It has a seperate bedroom with a flat screen in it.. There is also a flat screen in the living room with a couch and chair.

The desk is set up so you can see the TV as you work and the outlets are easy to reach to plug your computer into.

They only clean the rooms once a week, so you do not have daily service.

The front desk is friendly and always very nice. They have an exercise room and a laundry room. It is a pet friendly hotel and there were a number of pets staying when I was there.

This hotel is for extended stays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffreyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear JeffreyTravel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed our front desk and that they were friendly. It is great to hear your stay was satisfactory. We look forward to having you be our guest again!

Sincerely,

Andrea
Director of Sales
Candlewood Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Candlewoods have always been a great hotel to stay in but this hotel did not live up to expectations. The outside and lobby of hotel are well maintained. The beds are very uncomfortable. The hotel must cater to pets because my room had pet hair and a smell of pets not to mention all the damage to the furniture from the cats and dogs in the room, I even included pictures of damage. This hotel is designed for extended stay, disturbing to think that pets stay in hotel for days at a time while owners are away. The staff is great and very friendly.

Room Tip: If not traveling with pets ask for a room that has not had pets living in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckghutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear chuckghutch,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am happy to know that you found our staff to be friendly. However, please accept my apologies that you were inconvenienced by the condition of the bed that you were given and maintenance levels being sub par. I have taken note of your feedback and I will be relaying this to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed at our hotel.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Typical Candlewood if you have ever stayed at one before.

Staff was extremely friendly, and helpful. Hotel was clean and extra towels were given to us upon request. Close to the expressway but outside noise was minimal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After kind of a rocky start our 2 night getaway turned out great. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and told we had been upgraded to a queen suite. We also received two coupons to choose a soda in the "market". We head to our room and open the door and there are tools, a cleaning cart and carpet shampooer in the room. We head back to the desk and she apologizes for our inconvenience over and over. She had written the room number down incorrectly. For all of our "trouble" she gave us extra points on our Priority Club rewards card, which we told her wasn't necessary, but she insisted. Room was spotless and has everything you need. The only thing that could have made this better would have been a king size bed. I guess we are just spoiled with a king size at home. No complaints here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side might be less noisy. Nothing kept us awake, but there was traffic noise on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkmingomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Candlewood Suites is the very first hotel I personally paid to stay in overnight. I found the full kitchen equipped with dishes and complimentary coffee and popcorn very impressive and useful for my situation. I was throwing my boyfriend a birthday party so the full kitchen and the bar table helped a great deal with setting the food out for everyone and having places to seat five or six people. The hotel room was spacious and the internet connection was excellent. My only conplaint would be that the bed was too firm. I guess I can't really complain because I read a couple reviews about the beds and decided to book a room anyway. Luckily, the sofa bed was very comfortable, though. I would and definitely will book more nights at the Candlewood Suites hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x3angelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Wayne - North
1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Wayne North
8.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fort Wayne
Staybridge Suites Fort Wayne
#19 of 44 in Fort Wayne
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne
Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne
#26 of 44 in Fort Wayne
205 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Wayne
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
#11 of 44 in Fort Wayne
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne

Address: 5251 Distribution Dr, Fort Wayne, IN 46825-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range: $91 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know what you need at the Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne hotel. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands their unique needs. We are conveniently located off I-69 and Lima Rd. (Exit 311A) walking distance to Spiece Field house and just minutes from all major companies, area attractions, and universities. Each suite is spacious and built with you in mind, with the comforts of home. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy movies from our free video lending library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or indoor heated pool. Work efficiently at your over size executive desk using our free high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy cooking in a a full kitchen complete with microwave and a full-size refrigerator, dishwasher, and a 2 stove top burner. Please visit our Candlewood Cupboard, where you can purchase breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks, at valued prices or visit any of our close dining restaurants. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. While here for special projects, audits, relocation, sales, construction, temporary assignment, tournaments, or leisure our professional staff can help. We are proud to offer our guests Priority Club Rewards good at over 3500 hotels worldwide. We value your privacy; therefore, we provide weekly housekeeping service. Come and experience our friendly staff and let us show you a truly remarkable hotel that offers value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne Hotel Fort Wayne
Candlewood Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing