We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #103 of 648 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned restaurant that has served Ft. Wayne since 1973. We serve over 150 tequila's! Voted Fort Wayne's Best Mexican Restaurant by the Fort Wayne Newspapers Reader's Choice Awards in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014 & 2015!
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I ate here a couple of times giving them the benefit that maybe i didn't like that dish. However every thing I came here, I just don't like there food. I don't think its average or good. I think it taste horrible and i would rather have taco bell or go to Cebollos to be honest. I think they are over rated and once people actually taste other authentic Mexican food they will think so too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelBark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
306 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“El Azteca”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Best Mexican Restaurant in Fort Wayne. Great food - the atmosphere is comfortable. Always a great place to eat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuenosNachos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Supersize me..”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We ate here recently, party of 5 to include children, and found the complimentary chips and salsa filling. The main dishes were large and we ended up taking two boxes home. Next time, I'll split a dinner plate with someone. The quality and presentation of the food was average, meaning no dish was exceptional or of particularly note. This place is a Fort Wayne fixture and beloved by many. Service was appropriate: quick and attentive. The interior decor is dated but clean. If you're looking for bulk sizes, average taste, fast service, and reasonable price, then this place may fit your bill; but, you may want to loosen your belt if you decide to eat all of your dinner in one sitting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamuraiSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

great services,maragarites are great an the food is excellent

Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Every time we've eaten here the service has been extremely slow. Food is pretty unremarkable. Do people in Fort Wayne have something against spices?

Helpful?
Thank kaymad41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

 
Fort Wayne, IN
 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing