We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inside; wish we had more of a description on the menu items”

Don Hall's Tavern At Coventry
Ranked #10 of 655 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dayton
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside; wish we had more of a description on the menu items”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

While at a seminar in the area, my friend and I decided to go to the Tavern at Coventry for dinner. It wasn't crowded, being after 7 pm, and the service was quick and friendly. My friend asked if one menu item was "spicy," and our server went to the kitchen to ask. Upon her return, she said, "No, not spicy at all." Well, it was terribly spicy, and my friend could not eat it. My dinner was decent, except for really overcooked broccoli.
Still, the atmosphere was gorgeous and the people friendly, if not knowledgeable about the menu items. A little pricey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estellaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    69
    36
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great salad called Strawberry Fields Salad”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a great salad called Strawberry Fields Salad that my fiance and I split, along with an appetizer of spinach and artichoke dip. We were stuffed!!! Normally if you order spinach and artichoke dip at a restaurant you get a very small portion size, not so at Tavern At Coventry! The spinach and artichoke dip came in a huge dish and it was SOOO much for us to eat! The Strawberry Fields Salad was great as well, definitely enough to share! It was really nice to order while sitting outside on their deck that can be shaded if you ask. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allybabalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little disappointed!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went here since it was close to my hotel and read favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. The restaurant is comfortable and inviting. My server was attentive and friendly. I was somewhat disappointed in the food. I ordered angel hair pasta with shrimp and crab and found it rather bland.The Caesar salad was iceberg lettuce with a glob of Caesar dressing in a small container. Come on! How hard is it to mix a fresh Caesar salad. I would not serve that to myself at home. The cheese garlic bread was good. I really wanted to give Don Hall a higher rating but the Caesar salad thing was inexcusable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaser1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeshore, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Friendly Place”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We popped in after walking from our hotel. We sat at the bar and had the best bartender ever. His name was Bailey and he was fast and very friendly. Drinks were strong and cold and our food was awesome. We met other people while sitting at the bar and everyone was very friendly. Even with the reputable chain restaurants in the area, this is the place to go.....no question!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GWing51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“yummy fish and sides!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Halls served our group of twenty or so. Several choices for enter and desert. Everyone was happy. I had salmon with fabulous sweet potato fried shred. mmmmm. so good I went back for same dinner when we were back in town this month. Next night I ordered the tuna over wild rice. Excellent partnering of enter components. Another great fish dinner. my partner had haddock and was equally impressed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Hall's Tavern At Coventry also viewed

 

Been to Don Hall's Tavern At Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing