We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun at the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo”

Fort Wayne Children's Zoo
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award ...and also voted Indiana's #1 Summer "Gotta-Do" Attraction in a contest sponsored by the Indiana Office of Tourism & Development. The Fort Wayne Children's Zoo is operated by the non-profit Fort Wayne Zoological Society under a cooperative agreement with the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreations Department. The zoo receives no tax funding for operations and operates solely on earned revenue and donations. Our Mission: Connecting kids and animals Strengthening families, Inspiring people to care.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun at the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our zoo is an amazing place. People do not realize the size of the zoo or the number of animals and exhibits it contains. It is such a great place to visit and we always enjoy our time there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank spookiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    129
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I grew up going to this zoo, so I have seen it evolve year after year. There is a wonderful petting zoo area for the children. the rides such as the lazy river and the train are always enjoyable too. They have a wonderful overnight program and summer camps for kids, you should visit the website and see if either are occurring during your trip, the kids will truly enjoy it. This is a educational and kids focused zoo, so it is better for families, but I am sure couples would enjoy it as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank indianamom0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect for pre-schoolers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not too big and not too small, the Fort Wayne Zoo caters to little ones. Too bad the safari cars are no longer running but feeding the giraffes makes up for it. A day at any zoo can be pricey and this one is no different so be prepared to spend around $20.00 per person.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR ANYONE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had been a member for several years when I was in my 20's-30's and had small kids. Now I am 67 and take the Grandkids. The place is easy to journey around to everything the zoo offers.
It has all of the animals you would want to see except for an Elephant, Rhino, or Hippo. It has a nice sky ride.as well as a jeep ride out into what is called an African village. It has a real nice rainforest area and a real nice Australian area complete with log ride. It has a train ride that goes out and around a small lake. The price has gone up over the years but the quality has also gone up and I strongly recommend it to anyone that has at least l/2 a day to enjoy the facility.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for families or adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This zoo is fantastic. The zoo has three basic areas Africa, Indonesia, and Australia. The zoo has a really nice lay out so you do not get tired going from one exhibit to the next. I would expect to spend all day if you go, however since we live close we usually pick one or two areas to explore that day and really hang out with the animals. The zoo is clean and employees are friendly and helpful. Be sure to check out what time they have daily feedings. Bill the lion is awsome and will come right up to the glass. The zoo offers a number of rides, giraffe and goat feeding and several restaruants. You can also purchase a membership to the zoo which allows you to receive discounted admission to more than 140 zoos throughout North America.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderingfeet_FtW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Wayne Children's Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Fort Wayne Children's Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing