We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Wayne Children's Zoo

Fort Wayne Children's Zoo
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award ...and also voted Indiana's #1 Summer "Gotta-Do" Attraction in a contest sponsored by the Indiana Office of Tourism & Development. The Fort Wayne Children's Zoo is operated by the non-profit Fort Wayne Zoological Society under a cooperative agreement with the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreations Department. The zoo receives no tax funding for operations and operates solely on earned revenue and donations. Our Mission: Connecting kids and animals Strengthening families, Inspiring people to care. The zoo is closed for the season. Plan a visit when we reopen for the season on April 25, 2015.
Rome City, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fort Wayne has a good zoo for a city this size. It is about a 3/4 day experience or less. Things arent expensive or extravagant. Just a nice family fun day

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    128
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been, taking my children and friends, to this great
place, for 25 years..
It has added so many, attractions, over the years.
Really enjoy, the African veldt, and Austrailian
adventure.
The kids, still enjoy the train ride, and feeding
the farm animals.Will continue, enjoying this
zoo, for years to come. Would definately, recommend
to everyone !!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the ten most family friendly zoos in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I know it may be "home town pride", but our Fort Wayne Children's Zoo is one of the ten most family friendly zoos in the country, according to Parents Magazine. We've taken friends from England to tour our zoo and they were impressed at the scope of the exhibits and the quality of the habitats for the animals. It is good value for the money and I buy a membership every year because it gets no tax money, yet manages to consistently deliver a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DixieLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“girls day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I like that you can take an afternoon to go through the zoo and are able to see all of the animals,not too over crowded

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy42380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a great zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I grew up coming to this zoo, every year my mom would get a membership and we'd go a lot. We stopped when us kids got older...but now that we're having kids of our own I'm remembering why I loved this place so much!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Wayne Children's Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Fort Wayne Children's Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing