We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful zoo!”

Fort Wayne Children's Zoo
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award ...and also voted Indiana's #1 Summer "Gotta-Do" Attraction in a contest sponsored by the Indiana Office of Tourism & Development. The Fort Wayne Children's Zoo is operated by the non-profit Fort Wayne Zoological Society under a cooperative agreement with the Fort Wayne Parks and Recreations Department. The zoo receives no tax funding for operations and operates solely on earned revenue and donations. Our Mission: Connecting kids and animals Strengthening families, Inspiring people to care.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Twelve Mile, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful zoo!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our family goes to the zoo a couple times a year - we absolutely love it! It's clean, shaded, great picnic area and reasonable prices. They have a wonderful and safe "Zoo Halloween". My kids choose to go here instead of trick or treating at home! The animals have beautiful habitats too. We make a day of it when we go - it's so much fun!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lpaul1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    132
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
296 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Zoo”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very good zoo. Our family has been to many of the big zoos around the US and this one is right up there. This is considered a children's zoo and is arguably the best in the nation at what they do.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Family Had a Blast!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took our children and grandchildren to the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo. It was very hot that day, but they had a nice shaded picnic area before you went in to the zoo. The grandkids loved it, we went on a river ride through Australia, and on a sky lift through Africa. We took lots of great pictures to remember the day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieJMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Giraffes Stole the Day!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great children's zoo. My grandaughters enjoyed it. Great little picnic area just outside the entrance. Nice exhibits. Feeding the giraffes was by far the highlight! Pricing reasonable! Would have liked a little more time, only made it to two of the three areas. Very good for a small zoo. Recipricates with a lot of zoos, my son & daghter-in-law got in for half price on their Oakland, CA membership! A little disappointed with the sky ride - not much to see from up there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best children's zoos in America!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is easy to get around from area to area and is designed for easy access to exhibits. Most of the animals are in natural settings and there are lots of educational signs to really inform you about what you are seeing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snowbirds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Wayne Children's Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Fort Wayne Children's Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing