We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bandido's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #406 of 649 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just don't.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

In a city with so many wonderful options for Mexican food, please, please go someplace else. Inauthentic food, horrible drinks, do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita_Vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    7
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendallville, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had been eating at Bandido's since around 2000. I can safely say that I haven't been back in years because of the quality and pricing. I used to eat there frequently because the food was delicious and the price you paid wasn't too bad. Over the course of the last 7-10 years the quality has diminished and the prices climbed. I would be okay if they raised the prices and kept the same quality food, however, that was not the case. They went with cheaper ingredients and charge on average $2 more per dinner. The only thing still good about them is their salsa. I would only recommend getting that to go and not even dining in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steelcurtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wren, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time has not been in favor of Bandido's”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The only Bandido's restaurant worth taking a chance on is the Georgetown location. My entire family has frequented Bandido's since they first opened 20+ years ago. Sometimes, we'd even go more than once a week. Typical Americanized Mexican food, but it was good. WAS. Within the last 5 years, this restaurant has really gone to hell in a handbasket. The food is not near what it once was, it's very sad. The VP of the company begged us to give them another chance, even called me personally, promising to send a meal voucher after our horrible experience. Chicken fajita meat that was pink in the center, cold stuffed peppers, stale tortilla chips, dirty tables, and a waitstaff who clearly didn't care whether they received a tip or not. Still haven't heard from them. At least the margaritas are good. Maybe if you get drunk enough on them, their food will taste good too! Went to Northcrest's location this past weekend and our waitress was more worried about texting on her phone than refilling my empty water glass. My favorite part was when she took our plates before we were finished eating, and without asking. They should work on bettering the existing restaurants, rather than building new ones. Wonder why Portland, IN's Bandido's went out of business?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H3613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An average restaurant.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food is just okay, it is not very good Mexican food, but it is in Fort Wayne. I have not eaten there for several years but don't think it has improved much from the past meals.

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Local Mexican restaurant.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There are a number of Mexican food places in Ft. Wayne. Bandido's is a more American-ized than many of the others. They are known for their Margarita's and offer several varieties of same. Homemade chips and salsa are good. They could be better by increasing cleanliness, drab interior (Georgetown location), and a bit more authentic Mexican food. They have a following and support local students and charities.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandido's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bandido's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing