We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asian Food Sophistication” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ichiban Asian Fusion

Ichiban Asian Fusion
Ranked #88 of 645 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Asian Food Sophistication”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Ichiban is a must for anyone with a taste for Asian fare. The physical space is uptown and inviting, the service is very attentive and the food will match many of the best Asian restaurants in the country.

Our party of three enjoyed the lunch specials that were reasonably priced at $7.50 each, including soup (the Clear soup is the best of its kind that I have tasted). My wife and son enjoyed noodle dishes that required doggie boxes. My peanut curry dish was sensational. The sushi was fresh, flavorful and artfully presented.

We were looking for a restaurant close to Interstate 69 as we were traveling to Indianapolis. A search on TripAdvisor sent us to Ichiban, a gem that I look forward to enjoying again.

Cheers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Me and my husband were looking for a good Saturday night dinner and preferably Asian cuisine. We went to Ichiban today and we loved it. The dishes we tried were really well cooked and tasted authentic. I like a bit of spice in my dish and ordered accordingly. I was properly explained about the amount of spice by the manager Ms. Sue. It was a Thai dish which originally are quite hot & spicy due to the tropical climate there. But the dish I had was a superb blend of spice and flavor adjusted quite aptly to American taste while retaining the authenticity. My husband ordered Teriyaki which is a pure Japanese dish and the that too was delicious. We belong from Asia and I think this is the best Asian food we had in a long time after coming to US. The variety in the menu is worth notable.
The ambience was nice and romantic. Although we went there mainly to have specialty cuisine, the set up was quite romantic for us with the candles and low lighting. And finally the staffs were very friendly. The manager Ms. Sue herself along with Ms. Anna asked repeatedly about our needs. I liked my dish so much that I personally thanked the Malaysian cook Mr. Alung.
We did not try but the restaurant has a quite expansive Susi bar as well. I will recommend this restaurant to all my friends especially Asians.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Somreeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Reminds me of home- Malaysia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I am a Malaysian and my husband has been going back and forth from USA to Malaysia for almost a year in 2010-2011. We come here almost every weekend for some Malaysian food because both of us love Malaysian food so much and it's close to authentic. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank izzafarihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprised by taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

In real state, location is everything; in the food world, it's about finding greatness in odd places. When a restaurant is beside a strip joint and a tire place, greatness isn't expected. I almost didn't go into Ichiban, even after reading the reviews. Could they have paid someone to say great things? But we had driven there, so we went in and I was surprised by the calm and elegant atmosphere. Our waitress, Anna, was great! She suggested that I try the seafood eggplant, my husband had the tamarind beef. Awesome taste, great presentation. But this place is for people who love flavor for their palette. I highly recommend and will go back to try more things in their menu. My husband also enjoyed his malaysian beer. Go! Try it!

Helpful?
Thank Hobbes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been here several times now and I have had several dishes. Every one has been great. My fav is the Crispy Tamarind Beef. The Sushi has also been great every time. Give this place a try, you won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadhouseMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Asian Fusion also viewed

 
Fort Wayne, IN
 

Been to Ichiban Asian Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing