We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente!”
Review of Salsa Grille

Salsa Grille
Ranked #51 of 655 Restaurants in Fort Wayne
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were looking for a place for lunch between Indianapolis and Detroit and thanks to TA, we discovered this local gem. It's about a mile off the highway (Coldwater Road exit) in strip mall.

As someone else mentioned it's not a sitdown restaurant, it's a fresh food fast place like like Qboda, Rio Wraps, Chipotle, Moe's, or Baja Fresh where you pick the wrapper and fillings. The entire menu was under $7.

There were several things that made this standout among its chain competitiors - authentic spices on meats, availability of either corn or flour tortillas and their homemade salsa bar (way more than your run of the mill tomato varieties in various heat levels). The pineapple/harbenaro salsa and avocado cream where our favorites.

They have a variety of fountain soft drinks and an entire case of Mexican bottled sodas. They had a few Mexican grocery items available for sale along with desserts like flan and tres leche cake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryBluEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Holy Cow!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is not a waiter/waitress sit down restaurant. You grab a tray, order the food and move down the line. It's similar to a Chipoltle. BUT they have yummy frozen margarita's and beer. The workers who fix your meal are very friendly and offer great suggestions. The salsa bar is unique and fresh and the prices are right on. We have been back and had the same great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fun_Traveler_258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“REALLY good!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter kept telling me that Salsa Grille was the place to go, finally I tried it. LOVE the quesadilla and to be honest is the only item I ever order on the menu. The service is great and the salsa bar options are amazing. I would say the the ONLY downfall of the restaurant is the seating which can be limited and due to the order and then sit style sometimes the tables are not the cleanest. This is easy to overlook once I start eating. A must try in Fort Wayne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jibbymr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Fresh Salsa Bar Adds Pizzazz”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This recently opened, locally-owned Mexican restaurant had customers standing in line for a good reason -- It's terrific! Menu items are "How do U want it?" style ... Choose your "outer layer" (taco/burrito/quesadilla/nachos/crispy tortilla shell/or simply a bowl). Then select what "U want inside" .... the veggie style consists of scrumptious sauteed fresh peppers, sweet onions, zucchini & spices. 7 meat options are also on the menu. Many ingredients are available to add, such as beans, rice, guacamole, cheeses, etc. Complimentary unlimited chips are included ... Perfect for sampling the fabulous (complimentary) fresh salsas! My favorite is the grilled pineapple & chipotle salsa (made of fresh, charred pineapple, smoky chipotle chilies, & lime). Prices are really reasonable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank avilladawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average. Not bad but not really good.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

With a name like salsa grill I'm thinking salsa, right? Not really. Average again. Food wasn't bad but a cut under chipotle. Not bad to try, good portions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Grille also viewed

 

Been to Salsa Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing