We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“science central”
Review of Science Central

Science Central
Ranked #6 of 56 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Science Central offers hands-on science education and fun for visitors of all ages. Zoom down a 2-story slide, see a mastodon found here in Allen County, talk a walk on the moon, take part in a live science demonstration and much more!
Bluffton, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“science central”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place was not to bad. This used to be a power plant from what I'm told. Has a lot of interesting things and fun things to do. My kids enjoyed the water tables that they played with, I liked the work lab that they did for the kids, and had them volunteer to do experiments. My only down sides is there are vending machines to eat from, but no real food to buy. I'm very safety minded, and there was big steel beam girders that was part of the building structure, and they had no padding on them. If a child was to fall and hit 1 of many it could be a problem, so keep an eye on them. Staff was friendly, and they do offer a military discount, (active or former). good place to go if you are looking for somewhere not super packed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dhall835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    62
    25
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kid heaven”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Not a lot of places around that invite kids in and tell them to touch. Everything from tunnels to water. Areas are appropriate for certain ages making sure everybody has a good time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Kids will have a good time”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Plenty to do, with a few demos and talks across the day. It's an open friendly place with enough to keep kids engaged for at least a couple of hours.

Major weakness is that there is no real cafeteria, just a few vending machines.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EdwardJAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent children's science playground”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is in a converted power plant and serves as an excellent learning venue,, both for modern science and the history of electrical transmission, much of which started with GE and it's predecessor the Old Dudlow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh From Mixology”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Too be fair I was working with Ivy Tech, serving at the Mixology event. But I loved it. It brought back SO many fond memories of going there as a child. I can only imagine that children these days would love it just as much. And there were so many new things I got to peek at. I think I'll have to go back as a paying customer and really enjoy it again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science Central also viewed

 

Been to Science Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing