We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a neat experience for kids and adults!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Science Central

Science Central
Ranked #6 of 55 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Science Central offers hands-on science education and fun for visitors of all ages. Zoom down a 2-story slide, see a mastodon found here in Allen County, talk a walk on the moon, take part in a live science demonstration and much more!
Twelve Mile, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Such a neat experience for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's been a couple years since we've gone but I love it! Everything is interactive for the kids. They love it!

Helpful?
Thank lpaul1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    23
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have a membership and take our kids to SC once every month or so. The kids love it. There are plenty of things for younger children too, especially ages 3 and up. Plenty of things for older kids. Great demonstrations and hands on activities. A very good place to visit with kids.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJTravelReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a nice experience at Science Central. Our two 7-year-olds and 6-year-old were kept "busy" for about 3 hours. The scheduled demonstrations were cool. Most of the exhibits were in good working condition; a few need some TLC.
The facility is housed in a former electrical plant, which was cool, especially since some of the old equipment is still on display.
The most disappointing aspect of SC was the lack of staff for the "rides" such as the big slide and the high-wire bicycle. If you're visit was not planned in conjunction with when those were staffed, you were unable to experience them. (Difficult to explain to kids too.)
We'd stop back when we were in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kOps210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I took my 3 and 5 year old to this center and they loved it. The different floors were tons of fun for me and them together it was a bit small but still good. The only thing is did not like was the P.A. System. It was very lould and you could not hear what they were saying and swirled every time. Very irritating. But other than that it was loads of fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a very fun and educational place to visit. My kids are 5 and 7 and found lots to do, but so did my 19 month old niece who was with us (although she stayed in the water play area for most of her visit!) The tunnel on the bottom floor can be a bit scary for younger kids since it is PITCH black in parts of it, and so can the 3 story slide since it is fast and steep. My 7 year old tried the slide once and didn't want to go again. Overall was a good place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science Central also viewed

 

Been to Science Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing