We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice theatre, but you can get lousy audiences”

The Embassy Theatre
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Van Wert, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice theatre, but you can get lousy audiences”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've always enjoyed going to the Embassy. Nearly always super entertainment reasonably priced. It's a big old showcase place, I'm sure it's a challenge to keep it fresh and in good repair. Visit, you won't be disappointed with the theater itself.

Our most recent visit however was a real disappointment. It might be time for the Embassy to consider STRONGLY asking people to keep their smartphones off ringer AND in their pockets. I had a patron in the seat next to me who took photos, videos and posted them to facebook all during the concert. With the lighted screen shining in my eyes.

Unfortunately, this seemed to be occurring in dozens of places around the audience. It seems this particular venue's slipped from what we see in other, similar venues. And, yes, we were all of similar "vintage,' no big age differences in the audience.

I realize this isn't the theater's fault, and no, you'll never overcome the lack of respect for the performers and other patrons in some folk's minds, but... how about some signage and an announcement politely asking folks to respect the performance and the other patrons.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    27
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a GREAT place to take in a show or concert. Years ago many of the larger employers in town held their Christmas parties for their employees here. Many of the past entertainers have been here. The "Festival of Trees" is held here and is worth the money. Entertainment here has declined over the years but the beauty of the facility is still worth the trip if you come.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap movies, uncomfortable seats.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Third week of movies out there for 6 bucks. Snacks are expensive. Seating is old but reasonably clean. Sound and picture quality is not first rate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank formathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketucky Louisville
1 review
“Historic landmark”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Embassy Theater, located in Fort Wayne, was built in the 1920s, and it`s a beautiful and huge theater, perfect to host all kinds of different events, from musicals, to rock concerts. I visited The Embassy on various occasions, and I was never disappointed. The architecture and the structure are really amazing, conserving a classic feel, and providing a great view. Also, the sound is wonderful, the theater having a really good acoustic, and the chairs are very comfortable. The balcony is amazing, but I don`t recommended it if you have a fear of heights. Visiting this theater is a must if you go to Fort Wayne.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lohanmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beauty beyond compare for it's size.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The historic Embassy Theater is an iconic theater & ranked as one of the best historical theaters in Indiana. I have attended many Broadway traveling productions & concerts by top name artist there.The seating is comfortable & quite honestly there's really not a bad seat in the house. Each row is staggered so as not to block your view. Wish all theaters were like it! While you're in your seat waiting for a show to start, make sure you looke at the beauty of the fescos, chandeliers, walls, ceiling, & sconces. They are all gorgeous! The balcony is a wonderful place if you want to save a bit on ticket prices, but beware the steps are quiet narrow leading up to it. Just be careful. The volunteer workers are very knowledgable about the theater & serve as ushers & will see to it that you get to your seats easily. They also serve snacks & drinks at pretty reasonable prices before the show & at intermissions. During the early part of December the Festival Of Trees is something you should really not miss especially if you like Christmas! It's truly amazing. The Embassy is something you should not miss. It is handicap assessible with a special seating area for wheelchairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Embassy Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Embassy Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing