We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking decor”

The Embassy Theatre
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking decor”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've attended many events here over the years, and every experience has been great. The Embassy is one of the highlights of Fort Wayne. It is beautifully designed and just taking in the visual is enough to keep anyone from boredom while waiting for the concert, or production. I love bringing people from out of town to the Embassy, as it's something I know they will enjoy and I can take pride in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    27
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
2,132 reviews
613 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,260 helpful votes
“It first opened back in 1928”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I go to Fort Wayne on a regular basis as I used to live in Fort Wayne and several family members and friends still live in Fort Wayne. I have been to The Embassy Theatre many times. The Embassy Theatre is surely a big historic landmark in the city of Fort Wayne. This place is amazing. It's a gorgeous theater built in the 1920s and restored to its original look and feel. The theatre itself is clean and comfortable and in tact for the most part from when it first opened back in 1928 with perhaps a few added modern luxuries. Restored beautifully, the Embassy is a visual delight. It's a tribute to the community to have saved it from the wrecking ball, ensuring locals and visitors, a great place for the performing arts. It was originally built as a movie palace featuring the Grande Page Theatre Pipe Organ---which has luckily remained in it's home and is still played! It's gorgeous inside. I don't know how to describe it, other than it's hard to imagine a structure this beautiful could exist in a town like Fort Wayne. The actual theatre is intact and provides a beautiful sound, while remaining incredibly intimate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience EXCEPT....”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I love going to the Embassy but on my last visit, it wasn't a good experience. I went to a rock concert. As the concert started, two drunk girls stood up- hugging and dancing. COMPLETELY blocking the view of myself and another patron. He tried complaining and was told there was nothing they could do. He moved. To a much further away seat. I stayed and strained, trying to see the show past these two idiots. Except for beer breaks, they stood in front of me the entire show. They even spilled a beer on a guy sitting in front of them and nothing was done! So beware if its a concert as such.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lottylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Renovated Old Time Theatre”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just the right size to make you feel like part of the show. Lots of activities to choose from but the Loretta Lynn concert is why i was there. The stay at the Clarion Hotel Fort Wayne on Coliseum was a great location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank R_Skippy_Gard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and beautiful”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great theatre. Simply beautiful and cool. The embassy theatre is surely a big historic landmark in the city of Fort Wayne.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Embassy Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Embassy Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing