We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great customer service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed a few days to go to an event on site and they did a good job of taking care of us. From the front desk, to those organizing the conference rooms and the food at the event, everyone was friendly and helpful at every turn.

It's quite a recent build, the rooms are nicely equipped, clean and tidy with little evidence of that tired look hotels get with time. Stayed in a King room, which came with the usual fittings you'd expect of a Courtyard. It's a little hard to comment on value for money, as this was covered by my work, you'll have to make that call yourself!

There's also a convenient parking deck next door, which is $7 a day (if I remember), ask for it when you check in.

I try not to give out 5 stars on here undeservedly, but the location, comfort, quality and staff all justify it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank co_fragment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We're so glad you had such a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for the review and we all look forward to the next time we can be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    125
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
83
57
20
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very clean. Places to eat onsite us nice. The rooms are spacious (we had a king suite). Nice work area in the room and the free WiFi is a plus. Location in the heart of downtown Ft.Wayne makes this hotel a nice choice if you plan on visiting. My only negative about this hotel is the $7.00 per night to park in the parking garage attached to the hotel...but everything this hotel has to offer offsets the cost to park.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrothead_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sure hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 4 days & couldn't find one problem with this hotel. Front desk staff are cheerful, tuned-in, and efficient. Properly greeted us every time we passed the front desk. Told front desk of a problem with the hairdryer when I went down for breakfast and a replacement was in my room when I finished eating. Parking is $7 per day with unlimited ins & outs. Good water pressure----mine was shower only which is not a problem to me. Good beds, nice linens & all furnishings in good shape, nice TV. Window that opens, but if you are facing the ballpark you may get french fry smalls from the kitchen exhaust fans -- which was quickly fixed by a change of rooms & a higher floor. Breakfast is on your own nickel, which I consider a good thing so I get to choose how I want my eggs prepared and I love the Starbucks coffee.Friendly greeting from every staff person in every area of the bulding. Outstanding job done by the folks at the Grand Wayne Courtyard.
City of Ft Wayne -- you need some interesting evening destination dining choices in downtown Ft. Wayne that aren't pizza, fast food, or noisy sports/Irish bars or that require an 8 block hike to the river after a long day on my feet at the convention center. Something quiet with wine and tablecloths & table service, please.

Room Tip: Ballpark side north half is over the exhaust fans of the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Wow, what a thorough review! Thank you so much. I'm always excited to hear that my team has taken such great care of our guest. It sounds like this experience achieved our constant goal to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in Fort Wayne. We look forward to many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend conference. Arrived a little early but early check-in was no problem to a very helpful front desk staff at the Courtyard. Location was within walking distance to others places we needed to go. There was also a very good restaurant in the hotel -- great service and maybe the best hamburger I've ever eaten. Our only disappointment was having to pay for a bagel, muffin, juice, and coffee for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side were very noisy because of bands playing across street but they did stop ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
"There was also a very good restaurant in the hotel -- great service and maybe the best hamburger I've ever eaten." - I will be certain to share this quote with my team. Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our Culinary and Champions Restaurant team takes great pride in all they do and we're thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very comfortable, clean room with a great bed. But what made it really excellent to me was the attitude of the staff - all were pleasant, friendly and happy to help. And the real clincher - there were plenty of hangars in the closet!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Carol, Thank you so much for your review and the time it took you. We take great pride in taking care of our guests. In fact, we rank in the TOP 2% in overall satisfaction throughout the Marriott system and it's because of guests like you who recognize this and wonderful associates committed to excellence. Thanks again and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed during the annual Fort4Fitness walk/run event. Nice, quiet hotel. Disliked having to pay to park but was very, very glad they had several parking spots reserved for guests. The only thing that was bothersome was that the gate leading into the ballpark was closed on Saturday. The reason we stayed here was for connivence yet they had the most convenient aspect not functional. I understand that this may or may not be the hotels doing. The elevators were quick, the place and hallways were quiet. Check in was simple and they answered all our questions. Though we didn't use the restaurant or coffee shop it was nice to have them available. The seating area out back with the (not being utilized) fire pit was posh and large.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeocachingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We were all so excited to see all of our guests for the Fort 4 Fitness event. I understand the frustration of the ballpark gates not being opened as they most often are. For this event though, there are thousands of people and the park needs to control the entrance and egress tightly. We hope to see you again next year for the run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown Deer, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding. Perfect location for us as wedding reception was across the street. We also used the beautiful patio for family baby shower, with men, women, kids, more than 20 of us, we brought food and drinks. Staff was very accommodating. The "artificial" fires were turned on in the evening as it cooled off. Very nice. The lobby was a also a great meeting place for family, with a nice "cafe" type area at one end that sold coffee, breakfast items etc. Attached to the hotel is a nice sports restaurant that several in our group went to. (although I did not)
Rooms were very comfortable, loved the beds. Nice sized rooms too.
The "Tincaps" baseball field was right outside our window. What a beautiful field! The hotel is in walking distance of many things downtown. And several fast food restuarants within a few blocks for inexpensive fast food if you want it. This was my first visit to Fort Wayne and staying here was the perfect place to be.
The hotel does have a pool, but is more just to get in the water. I saw a few people and some kids in it. It is in a room with no windows to the outside. A few chairs to sit in but no tables, etc. Not a place to hang out, and no hot tub. So don't come here for the pool.
Also be aware that parking is not free. There is a very nice parking structure next to the hotel (that is shared with the baseball field and other venues.) It does not cost much and is very nice. There is a short covered walkway between the hotel and parking structure.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Wow Diane, I don't know that I could write a better review myself. Thank you for taking the time to let our future guests know what a great value and experience they'll receive by staying with us. Happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Fort Wayne at the Grand Wayne Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
#10 of 44 in Fort Wayne
439 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
#5 of 44 in Fort Wayne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest
4.0 mi away
Don Hall's Guesthouse
Don Hall's Guesthouse
#8 of 44 in Fort Wayne
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center
Address: 1150 S Harrison St, Fort Wayne, IN 46802-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Wayne
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center is a perfect choice among hotels in Fort Wayne, Indiana for those who want to stay connected to the city's largest event space via sky bridge and make a home-away-from-home in accommodations that are near the top attractions in Fort Wayne. Our hotel offers breakfast and Starbucks® beverages in The Bistro restaurant each day, which is an ideal way to start a morning. We have Champions Restaurant & Sports Bar right outside our hotel doors, so guests can enjoy lunch, dinner, and evening drinks while watching the bar's 30 HDTVs - all of which are tuned to major sporting events. Come stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center and enjoy proximity to Embassy Theater, Parkview Field, Foellinger-Freimann Botanical Conservatory, and many other downtown Fort Wayne attractions. Should you need a Fort Wayne hotel to host your business event at, we offer 7 meeting rooms that come with personalized service and modern technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown At The Grand Wayne Hotel Fort Wayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing