We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here for a family wedding. Our room was clean and comfortable. Most notable was the staff. They were friendly and helpful throughout the entire weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We are so happy to hear what a wonderful experience you had at the hotel while at the family gathering. We host many weddings and love to be able to take such great care of the friends and family. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    118
    32
    13
    12
See reviews for
67
52
19
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our first experience with the Courtyard Downtown Fort Wayne was less than positive. We stayed there in November of last year for a brief overnight stay and if you see my previous review, you will see we had a multitude of issues. I have to give kudos to Dale and the management there though as they have handled every concern I have had with their property and been very proactive and welcoming us back. We have had return stays in both January and April. Both stays were comfortable and well managed. The odor in the rooms has been discovered to be a problem with ventilation of the mini-fridge units, so if you book with the hotel, just ask them to unplug the mini fridge for you and the smell will dissipate in no time. The plumbing seems to be working much better and the rooms are always professional, clean, and well kept. The staff at the front desk is stellar and deserving of a much higher flag than Courtyard. As before, the hotel is very well located to the downtown restaurants and entertainment. The $7 parking for us is not a problem as we enjoy having a safe place to park the car with in/out privileges. We will be back again soon, as the convenience and well kept nature of the property is highly suitable to our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Andrew, THANK YOU for your second review of the hotel. You are a perfect example of why I like to personally review and respond to each and every review the hotel receives. You experienced an issue that needed to be addressed, we worked hard to address it (and continue to do) and you return as a loyal guest which is what it's all about. Thank you for your time and continued visits. We value you and your views greatly. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed at this Courtyard on a number of occasions and it has become one of my favorite Marriott properties. The staff are always extremely helpful and courteous, the parking in the adjacent garage is excellent, the rooms are clean and updated, and the location in the middle of the city is very convenient. In the summer the location next to the local minor league baseball make for a fun atmosphere and convenient if you are interested in going to a game. the meeting rooms are modern and well planned. I like the Starbucks in the lobby for a quick cup of coffee in the morning, but the restaurant is a little lacking in selection and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the baseball stadium - you can watch the game but it is far enough away n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandkm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I'm particularly grateful for your specific comments on the professionalism of our associates, meeting rooms, parking options, Starbucks and proximity to Parkview Field, home of the Fort Wayne Tin Caps. We sure look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Ft Wayne is a hidden gem and this Courtyard is really awesome. It's beautiful, modern, and within walking distance of several restaurants. The rooms smelled clean and fresh, were very comfortable and have a mini-fridge, and microwave, as well as large flat screen. You can open the windows for fresh air, and some rooms have views of the Single A ball park which is behind the hotel (this team is a big deal in Ft Wayne). The staff was wonderful, really wonderful, from check in to check out. The courtyard has comfortable seating and firepits, it is a great place to sit and have a drink with friends or just enjoy the evening. I would recommend this hotel even if you have no reason to be in Ft Wayne. It's the best Marriott I've encountered, and you can tell a lot of thought went into making sure that guests have a very good experience.

Garage parking is limited in the during a ballgame, it's a little frustrating because you pay for parking. Also it is very loud at night, especially if there is a ballgame. If you are light sleeper or need quiet for whatever reason, this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: As for a high room facing the ball park (if you are interested in baseball). During the summer mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JperiodSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review! We are thrilled that you had such a great experience in Fort Wayne and our hotel. We look forward to serving you again very soon. Our goal is to always exceed each guest's expectation and I'm very happy to hear that we achieved that goal on your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stay at the Marriot for an event at the Embassy theater. Everything was there as promised, no disapointments. The room was new condition, nice flat screen, coffee maker, blow dryer.
The Champs sports bar was in the same building, which was good for a quick meal and drinks. Starbucks was there for the complimentary made to order breakfast, for a pleasant surprise. There was also an express checkout. The embassy theater was also contained in the same building. The only cons I can think of are; the wifi code had to be re-entered as you move about the hotel. Was surprised by the pay parking garage.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a view of the Tincaps ball diamond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for joining us to see the wonderful Embassy Theatre! We are very fortunate to have such an amazing facility connected right to the hotel. We're thrilled you took the time to tell other travellers about us. Thanks for staying and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night and found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean, easy to get to, and well priced. Covered parking was $7 a day, while the hotel has a very nice little patio area out back, complete with a small fireplace and several spots to sit and relax after a long day. My room was clean, included fridge and microwave, and the bed was just right. The bathroom had a great glass shower, but no tub for those who are into having a bath. With no breakast included, a small bistro is on sight serving Starbucks coffee and making excellent breakfast sandwiches - service was fast and friendly.

The location of this hotel has something to be desired if you're looking for something other than a ballgame or show at the nearby Embassy Theatre. I walked for 30 minutes around the hotel and found nothing but churches, a library, Rallys, Wendys and alot of concrete. Thankfully the on sight sports bar had good, reasonably priced food, with very friendly staff. The apple cobbler was awesome !! (We ate there for both lunch and dinner).

When leaving the parking garage we found ouselves being assisted by some guy who was standing there taking our room cards for us, apparently to help expedite the process which apparently is sometimes cumbersome. Concerned about what data might be on our magnetic strips, we're FAIRLY certain he deposited the keys in the box there. My coworker and I would have been far more comfortable, if this helpful individual had wore some form of ID or uniform which indicated he had anything to do with the parking garage or hotel.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for it's great service, and clean, reasonably priced rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeekerRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. The apple cobbler is also my favorite. Your comments regarding the hotel are very appreciated. I assure you the folks at the garage were in fact employees of the city (unfortunately we do not own the garage) but I will address your concern over uniform and identification. They are only present when there are very high demands in the downtown area for parking in order to expedite exit from the garage. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here while attending a small trade show. The room was clean and comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower. Everytime I walked past the front; someone from the desk staff would greet me or ask if there was anything they could do. I rode on the elevator one morning and a staff member asked me about my stay and wanted to know if there was anything she could do to improve my stay.
The parking garage was easy to use and very close.
The restaurant in the lobby had really good breakfast sandwiches.
The free 4 wheel carts were very helpful moving luggage and supplies.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ball park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Kelly,

Thank you so much for your comments. We're sure glad you stayed with us and had such a pleasant experience. We do have amazing associates and it always makes my day to hear they exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Fort Wayne at the Grand Wayne Convention Center
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
#5 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
#4 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
#9 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center
Address: 1150 S Harrison St, Fort Wayne, IN 46802-3011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Wayne
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center is a perfect choice among hotels in Fort Wayne, Indiana for those who want to stay connected to the city's largest event space via sky bridge and make a home-away-from-home in accommodations that are near the top attractions in Fort Wayne. Our hotel offers breakfast and Starbucks® beverages in The Bistro restaurant each day, which is an ideal way to start a morning. We have Champions Restaurant & Sports Bar right outside our hotel doors, so guests can enjoy lunch, dinner, and evening drinks while watching the bar's 30 HDTVs - all of which are tuned to major sporting events. Come stay with us at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center and enjoy proximity to Embassy Theater, Parkview Field, Foellinger-Freimann Botanical Conservatory, and many other downtown Fort Wayne attractions. Should you need a Fort Wayne hotel to host your business event at, we offer 7 meeting rooms that come with personalized service and modern technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown at Grand Wayne Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Wayne Downtown At The Grand Wayne Hotel Fort Wayne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing