We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Older rooms but clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Hall's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Don Hall's Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Older rooms but clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are a bit dated, carpeting in hallways and rooms are stretched out (ripples that guests trip over), walls are a bit thin. Pluses: staff is friendly, location was fine for our traveling volleyball team. Rate was very reasonable.
Would not have paid top dollar for rooms this dated when there are newer properties nearby (at higher rates). Only stayed one night and didn't spend much time in the room.
Decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant because heavy snowing and blowing discouraged us from going out to explore the area. Food was good, atmosphere was very cozy on a snowy January night. Service in the restaurant was prompt and friendly. We had a rather large group for dinner and they kept our water glasses full, food was served quickly and kept our separate guest checks straight.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for large groups traveling together.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolodo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
59
44
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed as a business trip was my 1st time in Fort Wayne In. Ate a Golden Corral Down the Street for lunch my 1st day had Dinner and Breakfast at Hotel
Food was good & pricing was reasonable Hot tub & pool clean Took a Moment to walk over to a store ( Windows Doors & More ) and you have to See this showroom it was the most amazing set up you will ever see.

Room Tip: Twin full size beds in room Balcony was large view of court yard would of been better my side of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianLee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I know a lot of people only write a review when something isn't to their liking, so I take most of them with a grain of salt. Great value for the price - fantastic food, comfortable room, indoor and outdoor pool, live entertainment, great staff, family friendly. PLUS LOCALLY OWNED!
Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjtrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Dinner and Sunday Breakfast Buffet included in price of room. Both were excellent! Will come back for food even if not spending the night. Rooms clean, staff friendly. Had no issues whatsoever. Didn't use the pools or hot tub, but both looked nice. Some may think the decor is out dated but I found it charming.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigisue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My mom and I stayed here. We went to our room and it was so hot and stuffy, also very dusty. The next morning we went to check out and the lady at the counter was very rude. They even read my comment card I left in front of everyone. The lady then said "Oh it wasn't good enough for her." This place was horrible, im never going back again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bear1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Wow, I am sorry and surprised about your stay. Typically we keep the rooms at cooler temperatures to help save energy. Also, we pride ourselves in being very clean and have developed a reputation for cleanliness over the years. Evidently we had a bad day. We are very sorry about your stay and and sincerely apologize. Thank you for the review though. Good or bad we appreciate them all because they help us improve for our future guests. Best of luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Large hotel, room was comfortable. Staff was pleasant although busy. We were able to get an early check in which was great. We called for extra towels and they were delivered pronto!! During the night we heard a little noise from the ballrooms but nothing that was bothersome or kept us awake. The price was excellent. The only downfall was that if we wanted breakfast it was an extra charge. It wasn't really a big deal though as there was a wide array of restaurants within minutes of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found this in an internet search, attracted to it because both indoor and outdoor pools. The whole hotel looks like it is out of the 1960's but is in very good condition. You can tell the maintenance and care crew do a great job with this place. The beds comfortable, did not find anything worn out or not functional. Loved the doors that opened into the room from the hallway of the building and the doors opening out to the pool and courtyard. The restuarant and lounge in the hotel were superior too, not cliche, but very nice, made me feel like I should dress for dinner. All that is missing is a lounge act and the place would be just like a cruise ship in the past.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SigRhoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Wayne
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ft. Wayne North
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
Hyatt Place Fort Wayne
#9 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Hall's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Hall's Guesthouse

Property: Don Hall's Guesthouse
Address: 1313 West Washington Center Rd, Fort Wayne, IN 46825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Wayne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Wayne
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Hall's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Don Hall's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Hall`s Guesthouse Hotel Fort Wayne
Don Halls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing