We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belterra Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best in the world”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

belterra is the best casino in the world i wouldnt go no where else. easy to love hard to leave is 1000% true. i go alot an i always relaxed an have fun it is a nice get away clean fun great food in the buffet. its a place i would tell others to go to in fact i do. i tell them once u go to belterra you wont even think of another casino

Room Tip: any of the rooms are fine doesnt matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    192
    122
    67
    46
See reviews for
80
350
23
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

From the moment you arrive, you are treated as royalty. Greeted with a smile at the reception desk and asked what can be done to make your trip more pleasant. No early check in fee or crazy resort fee as you find in Vegas. Housekeeping staff was quick to replace my feather pillows with foam so my allergies would not act up.
All the dealers are friendly and call you by your name after your first visit...how cool is that!
Everyone is treated like a high roller with big rooms and great food. Check out the fried chicken at the Buffett...it is to die for.
I pass two other casinos on my way to Belterra and you will too once you have visited.

Room Tip: Not a bad view from any room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have one word with which to describe Belterra Casino Resort & Spa, and that word is FANTASTIC!

Situated under an hour's drive from either Louisville or Cincinnati, the location could not be more convenient. Just a few minutes off I-71, it is right down the road from the Kentucky Speedway and the quaint little town of Vevay... full of delightful eateries, museums, and antique shops. It truly feels a world away, but the gas gauge protests otherwise.

The hotel was definitely designed with escape in mind. This is definitely not a place where one "visits", but where one "stays". There is a difference, and the folks at Belterra have easily mastered the differentiation. Every modern amenity is at your fingertips, but the scenery and ambiance are not spoiled by the often stark and bland attributes that they often convey. In other words, imagine a beautiful garden retreat... peaceful and serene, but with wonderfully efficient hair dryers, fluffy towels, and the most comfortable mattress in this hemisphere. Yes... you have arrived.

The bathrooms are both beautiful and functional, and each deluxe room comes complete with a large whirlpool tub. An upgrade to a suite will provide even more elegance and yes, an even bigger tub! However, all of these rooms are spacious, with more area to just "move around in". Again, this is the perfect scenario for a long weekend getaway

Situated on the banks of the lovely Ohio River, many rooms offer a lovely view. After hours playing the odds, it is so relaxing to sprawl out in a comfortable lounge chair and watch boats sail by, or see the sun set, or rise... depending on just how long you were chained to the new "Cheers" slot machine.

And, as denoted in the name, there is a spa! With so many services offered, ranging from a full service salon to the best pedicure in town, the Beleza Spa and Salon offers everything you could possibly need to feel pampered and relaxed. If getting that heart rate going is more like what you have in mind, the cardiovascular fitness center is available.

If you'd still like to stretch your legs a bit, and spend the day on an 18 hole championship golf course, guess what? Yes... Belterra has that covered, as well. This is an aesthetically beautiful course, with sweeping views of the Ohio River and Log Lick Creek. There is a large pro shop right on site, as well as a driving range and practice bunkers. It is easy to see why it was voted one of the Top 30 Casino Courses in the United States!

You can also cool off after a day on the course at the luxurious swimming pool. Whether relaxing in the super comfortable chaises, or taking a lap or two, this is the perfect place to catch some rays. Private cabanas are also available to perfectly complete the total experience.

To top off your hotel stay, spend some time in the cozy lobby bar. With a fine selection of spirits, and live music on the weekend, this is the ideal place to unwind. Wonderfully decorated for the holidays, with a warm fire ablaze, this is the place to unwind!

After working up an appetite, Belterra has everything from gourmet meals to quick bites up their sleeve. The Ultimate Buffet is one of my absolute favorite casino buffets. A lot of buffets boast that they have it all, but in this case, it is actually true! Pasta, pizza, wood-burning rotisserie, steak, seafood, and an extravagant salad bar await... all in a comfortable, pleasant setting. If this weren't good enough, the buffet is about to undergo a major renovation. I can't wait to see how they manage to upgrade absolute perfection!

If a romantic dinner is what you have in mind, then Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse will not disappoint! This award winning restaurant has become an absolute favorite for steak, seafood, and other delectable items to tempt your palate. In a warm, cozy atmosphere, it will literally beckon your return.

If you would prefer a more casual option, the selections abound! The Aquarium Cafe offers tasty dining in an exciting area surrounded by aquatic life. Diners may choose between a leisurely meal of steak, pasta, or chicken pot pie in this fantastic setting, or they may enjoy a quick burger or pizza at the bar.

If you can't tear yourself away from the casino floor, the Casino Cafe offers up sandwiches, chicken fingers, and 24 hour breakfast... just steps away from the action!

Believe it or not, that is not all! Ben & Jerry's and Starbucks also find a home at Belterra, as well as the Sweet Spot, an absolute heaven for the sweet tooth. With candy offered by the pound, as well as special treats, flowers, and gifts, make sure to add this to your to-visit-list.

And if you'd like a lovely meal just off the golf course, no problem! Open seasonally, the Out Of Bounds Grill serves up wonderful meals with fresh ingredients and the carefully crafted cocktail.

I suppose I have intentionally saved the casino for last, but not at all going for the "best for last" option. Everything at Belterra is technically "the best". The casino is a riverboat fittingly dubbed "Miss Belterra", and has over 38,000 feet of gaming space! There are over 1,500 slots and video poker machines, as well as both smoking and non-smoking areas for the comfort of all. All of your favorite table games are also present, from craps to blackjack.

Belterra is also proud to offer a live action poker room. A proud host of the Heartland Poker Tour, poker is a pretty big deal here are Belterra. They recently had poker greats Greg Raymer and Darvin Moon in for the tournament, with Raymer being victorious. The tournament is expected to return in March 2013. But on the regular day, the poker room is always abuzz with promotions and daily tournaments which, as every player knows, is the "meat and potatoes" of poker. The room has a comfortable, almost "homey" feel, but don't let that fool you. The action is there, and on any given night, a $100 buy-in could multiply ten-fold.

Belterra is also proud to belong to the Pinnacle Entertainment family, and offers the mychoice rewards program. It is simple to sign up, and it is FREE! I realize that there are a lot of casino loyalty programs around, but this one is seriously, well... awesome. While players can earn the usual comps for meals, hotel stays, merchandise, slot play, and cash, they can also work towards trips to the Wynn and Encore in Las Vegas, and to the immaculate Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas. Really... how cool is that?

If you're in for even more excitement, make plans to see your favorite artist at the Centerstage Showroom. Regularly hosting legends and new, breakout talent, this is an amazing concert venue!

Belterra Casino Resort & Spa is the absolute definition of a getaway. There is excitement, relaxation, and anything and everything else that can be imagined. Borrowing a line from one of my favorite Disney films, it is "practically perfect in every way".

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on November 30th. The first room we were given had a horrible cigerette smoke smell so we complained and we were quickly moved to another room. I did find it odd that the the room we had......it had a small flats deem th in the bathroom area but a very small old school non hd tube tv in the bedroom area. Casino and staff were very nice and very friendly. Overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckc5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Visited here for the first time to play in the Heartland Poker tournament. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Dined in the Cafe, Buffet, and Steakhouse and all were at least average or above average for a casino resort of this type. There weren't a lot of options since the tournament was on the property but I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be quite a walk down the hallway. Ask for closer to elevator if this is a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recently visited this resort with my wife on 11/20/12. 1st problem we occured was trying to call the resort for directions and general information thru the toll free number which was constantly busy and when we did get through - I was on hold for 8 to 10 minutes at a time. Checking in was pleasant the staff was friendly and full of useful information. 2nd problem was with the bell staff is that I needed a luggage cart to take my own luggage up from my car in the self parking lot and was told that carts weren't available for guests unless we rented one from the resort or used the bell staff service at an average of $5.00 per bag to and from the room. - 3rd problem - No volumn to HBO and other movie channels. 4th problem - They charge $9.95 for internet usage from your room or around the resort. - There was a telphone in our bathroom that didn't work and to top it off we were awaken to a fire alarm the day of our departure from the 14th floor. 5th - Finally - The only other problem we had was our room had a musty and smoky smell to it but overall Our stay at this resort was pleasant and had a good time in the casino and actually broke even. My wife enjoyed shopping at the Ten dollar store and both gift shop and candy store. We also enjoyed a snack at Jeff rubys after a night at the resorts casino. Overall we enjoyed our stay for the value we paid from WGRR and enjoyed our delicious meals at the passport buffet lunch time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelone_intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have been traveling to Belterra since I turned 21. It is absolutely fabulous. The architecture and design are breath-taking. The shopping is divine and the food is to die for. I live about an hour away and tend to go there to get away from work and stress. Belterra has SO MUCH to offer. They have a spa, a golf course, a lounge, a stage area where celebrities perform, and of course, the casino!!! It is so much fun! The rooms are large and accomadating. The beds are very, very comfortable. Belterra has free valet parking or you can self park. They have the Ultimate Buffet, the Aquarium Cafe, the Casino Cafe, and of course room service. I love their breakfasts which has an omelette station. The casino has a smoke free level. They have recently changed their chairs which were cloth to leather and honestly, it has made a wonderful change. They have added sanitizers to the casino, which is VERY important with all of the touching of the machines and sicknesses going on. I am taking my mother next month and we are looking forward to it. We try to go to Belterra every four months or so! We love it and I bet you will, too. It is just like Vegas, but closer (and BETTER, in my opinion!!)

Room Tip: A room with a jacuzzi is always fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
22.3 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 3 in Williamstown
114 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
#1 of 4 in Dry Ridge
491 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richwood-Cincinnati South
19.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dry Ridge
22.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belterra Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belterra Casino Resort

Property: Belterra Casino Resort
Address: 777 Belterra Dr, Florence, IN 47020-9432
Location: United States > Indiana > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belterra Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Indiana, Belterra Casino Resort is the every day escape for Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio. Belterra is just a short drive from Cincinnati, Lexington, Louisville and Indianapolis boasting over 600 guest rooms & suites, high-end shopping, concerts, meetings rooms, delicious restaurants and player-friendly gambling Belterra is easily the best experience in the region. Our multi-level casino features 1,300 slot machines, friendly odds and expert dealers. Take some time for yourself too in Beleza, Belterra's premier spa. Experience for yourself, escape to Belterra today! *Must be 21 years of age to enter the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Belterra Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belterra Casino Resort And Spa
Belterra Hotel Florence
Belterra Resort Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing