We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belterra Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on November 30th. The first room we were given had a horrible cigerette smoke smell so we complained and we were quickly moved to another room. I did find it odd that the the room we had......it had a small flats deem th in the bathroom area but a very small old school non hd tube tv in the bedroom area. Casino and staff were very nice and very friendly. Overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckc5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 707 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Visited here for the first time to play in the Heartland Poker tournament. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Dined in the Cafe, Buffet, and Steakhouse and all were at least average or above average for a casino resort of this type. There weren't a lot of options since the tournament was on the property but I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be quite a walk down the hallway. Ask for closer to elevator if this is a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recently visited this resort with my wife on 11/20/12. 1st problem we occured was trying to call the resort for directions and general information thru the toll free number which was constantly busy and when we did get through - I was on hold for 8 to 10 minutes at a time. Checking in was pleasant the staff was friendly and full of useful information. 2nd problem was with the bell staff is that I needed a luggage cart to take my own luggage up from my car in the self parking lot and was told that carts weren't available for guests unless we rented one from the resort or used the bell staff service at an average of $5.00 per bag to and from the room. - 3rd problem - No volumn to HBO and other movie channels. 4th problem - They charge $9.95 for internet usage from your room or around the resort. - There was a telphone in our bathroom that didn't work and to top it off we were awaken to a fire alarm the day of our departure from the 14th floor. 5th - Finally - The only other problem we had was our room had a musty and smoky smell to it but overall Our stay at this resort was pleasant and had a good time in the casino and actually broke even. My wife enjoyed shopping at the Ten dollar store and both gift shop and candy store. We also enjoyed a snack at Jeff rubys after a night at the resorts casino. Overall we enjoyed our stay for the value we paid from WGRR and enjoyed our delicious meals at the passport buffet lunch time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelone_intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have been traveling to Belterra since I turned 21. It is absolutely fabulous. The architecture and design are breath-taking. The shopping is divine and the food is to die for. I live about an hour away and tend to go there to get away from work and stress. Belterra has SO MUCH to offer. They have a spa, a golf course, a lounge, a stage area where celebrities perform, and of course, the casino!!! It is so much fun! The rooms are large and accomadating. The beds are very, very comfortable. Belterra has free valet parking or you can self park. They have the Ultimate Buffet, the Aquarium Cafe, the Casino Cafe, and of course room service. I love their breakfasts which has an omelette station. The casino has a smoke free level. They have recently changed their chairs which were cloth to leather and honestly, it has made a wonderful change. They have added sanitizers to the casino, which is VERY important with all of the touching of the machines and sicknesses going on. I am taking my mother next month and we are looking forward to it. We try to go to Belterra every four months or so! We love it and I bet you will, too. It is just like Vegas, but closer (and BETTER, in my opinion!!)

Room Tip: A room with a jacuzzi is always fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

On a weekend tour of Indiana "riverboat" casinos, my spouse, a friend and I visited Belterra. This place literally seems to rise up out of farm fields so it's quite a site to see when you come up on it after a scenic trip along the Ohio River. We didn't stay in the hotel on this trip though all of the common areas we were in were very nicely done.

We were treated quickly and courteously at the desk where we signed up for slot club cards. That was no mean feat as they were running hot and heavy at the "will call" window for the sold out Montgomery Gentry concert in their auditorium later that evening. We didn't have tickets so we got out of the way and headed into the casino.

They've converted a former riverboat casino into an enclosed one with two casino levels but, other than that it's not very wide, it's lost most of the feeling of being a riverboat. It's ornately decorated but very dark. Additionally, it's not well ventilated at all so, for a non-smoker, during busy times, it can be quite cough inducing. For some reason Indiana's non-smoking law for public areas doesn't extend to casinos. It's a shame. This one has newer games than one 20 miles up river and a great side room just for video poker but it's much harder to spend more time in it than the "other" property unless you're a smoker and, therefore, immune to the stench and bad air.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, Manager at Belterra Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello and thank you for visiting Belterra! We are very glad to read about the level of service we provided you and appreciate your compliments about our property. We have many things that set us apart from our competitors but we take pride in making those our level of service and our property. As you may know, we have been open for 12 years now so we can certainly appreciate your comments about the layout of the casino. You will be happy to know that in 2013 we are going to be upgrading the casino floor with new lighting, carpets, and more. Again, thank you for playing at Belterra and we hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is completely overrated!! It's dirty and far from the "non-smoking" rooms they advertise!! Our room reeked of smoke and the entire place, even halls and elevators are smoky. The linens in our room even smelled of smoke. It's pretty disgusting and makes for a miserable stay for anyone who doesn't enjoy smelling like an ashtray.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, Manager at Belterra Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello Laura! Thank you for visiting us and for your feedback. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your experience while staying in our hotel. We are proud of our rooms as they are consistently listed as the best in the market so naturally we are interested to learn more about your experience and the floor on which you stayed. Please follow up with me at snewsome@belterracasino.com. I hope to hear from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

From the first step into the hotel you get an instant scent of pure smoke. Basically every person in the casino smokes constantly. There is no non-smoking level like some casinos. Our non-smoking room smelled terrible reaking of smoke. I get the feeling they either rotate their smoking/non smoking rooms, or just let guests do whatever they want. If you don't mind smoke I guess it's fine, but this day and age they seem to not care much about what non-smokers think.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deejay82miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, Manager at Belterra Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello and thank you for visiting Belterra! We appreciate your comments about smoking, however these types of matters are governed by state law. As far as rooms go, these are designated by floor as smoking or non-smoking and they do not change. We did recently convert some smoking rooms to non-smoking when state law changed but many steps were taking to ensure the smell was eliminated. In any case, if you're unhappy with a room our front desk is more than happy to relocate you to a more acceptable room. We would like to learn more about which room you were in, please Email snewsome@belterracasino.com. I hope to hear from you and see you again at Belterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
#1 of 4 in Dry Ridge
557 reviews
22.3 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 3 in Williamstown
131 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richwood-Cincinnati South
22 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Florence Cincinnati Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belterra Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belterra Casino Resort

Address: 777 Belterra Dr, Florence, IN 47020-9432
Location: United States > Indiana > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $93 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belterra Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Indiana, Belterra Casino Resort is the every day escape for Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio. Belterra is just a short drive from Cincinnati, Lexington, Louisville and Indianapolis boasting over 600 guest rooms & suites, high-end shopping, concerts, meetings rooms, delicious restaurants and player-friendly gambling Belterra is easily the best experience in the region. Our multi-level casino features 1,300 slot machines, friendly odds and expert dealers. Take some time for yourself too in Beleza, Belterra's premier spa. Experience for yourself, escape to Belterra today! *Must be 21 years of age to enter the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Belterra Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belterra Casino Resort And Spa
Belterra Hotel Florence
Belterra Resort Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing