We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

King Chef Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 185 Restaurants in Fishers
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Recently, my husband & I went for dinner. We used to love everything we were served. However, this time, my husband ordered Chicken Fried Rice. The rice was hard & the chicken that was cut in cubes was very dried out. On the other hand, the egg drip soup was very good. My husband is not one to complain so he did not say anything. When the waitress came with our check, I mentioned that the rice was not very good & what was wrong with it. Her advise was that we needed to say we want the rice moist because some people like it the way it was served. No apology. I was disappointed in her comment so I said something to the cashier (who looked like she may be the owner) and she made no comment & proceeded to take our payment. A few months ago, I had lunch with a couple of my friends and all of our lunches were not good at all. We didn't complain. I thought this was unusual because the restaurant used to be quite good. Again, very disappointed and do not plan on going back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food for reasonable price”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I eat here about once every few months. The food is usually pretty good. I usually eat the sesame chicken mild with fried rice, egg drop soup, and spring rolls. However, on this trip I ate the sweet and sour chicken. Which was also good. I will note on this trip that the fried rice seemed to be burnt or had an overcooked taste to it. Friends and family have ordered various meals than me and they've always liked them. I've taken out of town guests here for a quick bite of in and out lunch and they've always enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drivesguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is great but hospitality lacks”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I have been going to King Chef since it opened. The first owners were great. Very friendly and hospitable. They would go around the restaurant and talk to people and their children. Very nice people. Now when we visit the owners are very unconcerned and unfriendly. The quality of the food is slowly decreasing from good wholesome food as it was when it first opened to mediocre in quality. We used to frequent the restaurant 2 to 3 time weekly but now it's rare going there. Sorry but we're old customers and know the quality of food the previous owners served. All of the servers are gone that used to be there as well. I noticed the business has slacked off considerably.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
207 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Been there many times and each has been a great experience. The menu is diverse, the quality exceptional, the service first rate and a final bill that is most reasonable. Their Happy Family Plate is awesome with a great mix of seafood, vegetables and a perfect sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent food, great service”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was really salty and tasted a bit processed. The service was prompt, quick and friendly. We had leftovers and ultimately threw them away as the thought of eating that stuff again wasn't appealing. The search continues for good Chinese food in the Indy area...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JackJennPetefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Chef Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Fishers, Hamilton County
 
Fishers, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 
Fishers, Hamilton County
 

Been to King Chef Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing