We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“bad business practices!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Evansville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Evansville
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bad business practices!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel ... because ... they were closed for renovations when I was supposed to be here. That would be understandable, but here's the problem--there were a block of rooms reserved for a wedding which I was attending. The block of rooms had been arranged for MONTHS before. When I called to make my reservation, I was told "We aren't open then--our hotel is being renovated." I knew that other families involved in the wedding had already made their reservations and THEY HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED that the hotel would now be closed! Nor had the bride or groom been notified to make other arrangements! I tried to make my reservations about 1 month prior to the wedding. I immediately contacted the groom. He and his fiancee went to visit the property and, indeed, the hotel was closed. Mattresses were stacked up in the lobby. They had to quickly make alternate arrangements at the Hampton Inn (north Evansville by the airport--great hotel!) and contact everyone traveling to the wedding of the change. There were attendees spanning from the east to the west coast and from Michigan to Florida. This could have potentially made for a miserable experience for dozens of people and have been a real downer for the bride and groom. I am SO disappointed with this Holiday Inn Express. I hope they seek to improve their business practices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    29
    13
    17
See reviews for
41
24
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
618 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Evansville Holiday Inn Express (North) is right off the interstate.
There seems to be several Holiday Inn properties in Evansville.
So make sure you are at the right one.
This is a older property mixed in with serval others of different brands right off the highway.
The rate fits the property,
That's not a bad thing.
Some of the reviews seem to be unfair.
This place is less expensive then the other IHG properties in town so you are getting what you pay for.
Leaving late I actually met the NEW owner and I look forward to some of the changes they are going to make.
You don't always have to be the newest in town to earn business, they seem to understand that and making up for it with friendly staff.
I am looking forward to the changes myself but please give the new owners a chance.
It was ok for a over night stay while in the area.
The staff was nice and everything was clean.
Good luck.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel46804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are excited about the changes to come with the new ownership, we are definitely moving forward on improvements.
Thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again and for you to return and see the wonderful changes that the new owners will be doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful enough. Hotel is nothing to rave about. I might have expected more from a H.I. Express. Room was clean enough, but the hallways looked a little on the dirty side. It's an OK place to get a nights rest, and access to I-64 is easy. I'd probably look for something else next time in Evansville, however.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I'm going to echo my Yelp review:
For a Holiday Inn, I would've expected better.
The bedding was clean, but the pillows should have been thrown out years ago (lumpy is the only word I can use to describe it).
For someone that is 6' tall, I understand that the shower head might be a little shorter than I need, but it's a little ridiculous when the water is coming out below my chin.
We tried using the in-room heater, but it's as loud as a lawn mower (and smelled like something was burning).
The walls were thin enough for us to hear the conversation of the people in the next room. It was also thin enough for us to hear the metal clanging within the walls as well.
The breakfast was pitiful, but I'm not sure why I've been expecting anything more at budget hotels lately. The eggs were somehow goopy but also overcooked. The sausage left an oily coating on the inside of your mouth. The only upside is that you wouldn't have noticed these things because you had to wait 20min for each one to be brought out separately. I feel bad for the guy running the kitchen because the two people working the front desk were just talking in the front office while he did his best to get the breakfast out.

Just spend the extra $15/night for something that won't make you cranky in the morning. It's just not worth it.

Also, the gym has two old treadmills and an old elliptical.
The pool had water in it and looked clean. The hot tub did not have water in it, but somehow managed to grow a nice film of algae to cover the bottom.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are musty and need a deep cleaning. Just don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Robert S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Evansville hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Besides being located in a very convenient location for my stay, this hotel hasn't really been an enjoyable stay.

I'm typically not one to complain, but I feel that peow should be aware of the quality of the goods/services they are purchasing when they pay for a room here.

1). About 50% of my showers have been cold. I work in the oil and gas industry, so I need to shower upwards of twice a day on occasion.

2). The front desk lost my truck keys. I alternate shifts with my coworkers and we always leave our keys at the front desk in an attempt not to wake each other up when going to the rig. After two years of giving our keys to the front desk, this is the first time anyone has lost our keys. When I asked the attendant for them, she looked for a few seconds and said she didn't know where they were. She acted like she didn't care and that she didn't have to look for
them.

Everything else has been fine. The cleaning staff is thorough and friendly, and they leave nice notes and chocolates for the guests each time the room is cleaned.

If you like hot showers, don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrismorris009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Chrismorris009,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our cleaning staff friendly and their service exceeded your expectations. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The check is was very good. But it appeared later that her family was in the pool and that they were all gathered in her office.
The exercise room was very good. Broken equipment. And then if you wanted to use it you need a key to operate the machine. You just couldn't use your room key...?
Then to top it off the hot tub was out of order.
The next morning Brreakfast was late and I didn't receive a USA today paper either.

Room Tip: The room was $89.00 a night. I thought it was still a good value. But I did not return there the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baz197777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear baz197777,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the facilities at our hotel. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I read the previous reviews and thought maybe things had changed since holiday inn shows that they respond to these reviews but don't be fooled, it should not carry the Holiday Inn name. When we come back next year, it will NOT be an option. The floor of our bathroom, room 201, was not clean nor the bed skirt of one of our beds. ( the bed closest to the bathroom). It had been dirty for a while with something sticky and over time things have accumulated on the skirt. I shook it off as much as possible but it should be checked by the staff if these are really read.
On a positive note, the staff was good and so was the breakfast. And there were chocolate kisses on our night stand with a sweet note from the one who cleaned before we got there.
Holiday Inn, please take note, there is a reason why these comments are so negative.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lazybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Lazybu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am happy to know that the breakfast served suited your liking and the service received was up to par. Please accept my apologies though if the condition of the room was less than satisfactory. Rest assured, we will use your feedback for upgrades needed.

Again, thanks for your review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evansville
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Evansville North/Haubstadt
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Evansville North
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#23 of 35 in Evansville
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Evansville East
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#27 of 35 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#21 of 35 in Evansville
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Evansville

Property: Red Roof Inn Evansville
Address: 19600 Elpers Road, I-64 and US Hwy 41 on exit 25A, Evansville, IN 47725 (Formerly Apar Inn and Suites)
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Evansville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEW Red Roof Inn & Suites Evansville North. Our hotel was renovated in 2015 to include several new guest rooms to fit your budget. Evansville is a vibrant, energetic city in Southern Indiana where the sky, literally, is the only limit. It is a dynamic city that boasts fresh air and the friendliest people you'll ever find. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure there is plenty to keep you entertained during your time here. Only a short 10-15 minute drive to Downtown Evansville and close to numerous local attractions, shops and entertainment venues. Keep up-to-date thanks to free WiFi, swim with the kids in the indoor pool or work out in the fitness room. Visit other places such as the Eastland Mall and the Ford Center. Make it a working vacation and bring the family to enjoy a memorable experience with us! Don't forget to Stay Smart and Eat Smart with our complimentary hot breakfast and enjoy a robust cup off coffee anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Evansville North (i-64 And Us 41)
Holiday Inn Express Evansville North (i-64 & Us 41) Hotel Evansville
Holiday Inn Evansville
Evansville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing