We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People were great, unhappy about place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Evansville
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was very upset, picked this hotel so we could have pool and hot tube and pool was freezing and you couldn't get close to it. The hot tub my bath was hotter then it. Didn't get a wake up call like we asked. Won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ragtrt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Ragtrt27,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the pool and hot tub. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have never had this happen before: the desk staff couldn't find the rollaway we requested for 40 minutes, then a "manager" called and told us it was against Indiana law to have two double beds and a rollaway in a room, citing a violation of fire code. When we looked into it, there doesn't seem to be any such law. The staff was argumentative and unapologetic, and when we asked for the manager upon checking out we were told he was "off duty" and could not be reached. What kind of manager leaves the premises when he knows there is a customer service issue at hand? And why the strange lie? If they'd told the truth at some point (maybe a missing rollaway??) we could have accepted it as bad luck and stayed. Our experience was just appalling. It's too bad because the room seemed nice and clean.

We did receive a call from the innkeeper the next day. He was very nice, but unfortunately it was too little and too late.

FYI, the pool and hot tub were closed due to a botched painting job when we were there so call before you go...if you still want to stay here. :(

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear JenniInOz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry about the policy regarding fire code and the poor customer service you received from our front desk. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stopped on the way to Mid America Truck Show in Louisville. The room was clean and quiet. Located right off I64. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was good eggs biscuits/gravy sausage cereal. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Denny's across street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenSt.louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni R, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I just wanted to take the time to thank you for coming and staying with us. We hope you decide to stay with us again when traveling through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel briefly as a stop over on a cross country trip. I think that we were there for 6 hours. Anyway, the hotel was clean and quiet, and the beds are comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful, which was nice because we checked in at 1130 pm and were ready for bed. I am not sure how this happened, but the amount I paid for my room was $10 less than what my quote was. All of those factors allow me to give it an excellent rating, even though I did not stay there for long. Just remember the affordable price when you stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgfsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni R, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We are so glad that you decided to stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel. If you are ever in the area again we hope you decide to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

With a rate of $59 per night there leaves little room for disappointment. But this property was a pleasant surprise! Clean, neat and everything worked. Breakfast was more than adequate with pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs, biscuits, fruit, yogurt, etc.
Away from the main road (I64) so quiet. A great value.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor of three. Get a room on the third floor, no foot traffic noise from abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here two nights in December 2012. First night (a Monday) had a room next to the elevator. Heard elevator-related noises all night long. Also heard trains several times during the night. Second stay was on Friday night of the same week. Had a different room with no noise issues; however, the hot water system in the hotel died sometime during the night, so there was no hot shower available on Saturday morning. The desk man was very apologetic, said he'd been working on the problem for the past four hours when we checked out at 8 a.m. The breakfast was typical HI Express fare - adequate on Tuesday morning after 8 a.m. Large early crowd on Saturday morning had almost totally depleted the breakfast bar. Not being inclined to wait around for replacement vittles, we checked out and found a McD's down the road. We stay in Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express a lot and this is the first time we've had anything resembling a disappointing experience. It wasn't awful, just not up to our experience-based expectations. Would probably use this hotel again, but would insist on a room not near the elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms next to elevator may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Evansville, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear BristolTennessee,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Evansville North.

I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

I do hope that if your travel plans bring you to the area in the future, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Upon arrival, opening the car door, I was blasted with the aroma of what must have been a nearby feed yard. I do have to say ,however, the odor was not present in the room and was also not present outside the next morning (with the winds in the same direction. There were quite a few semi tractors & trailers in nearby parking lots. I guess the aroma could have been coming from one of them.

We arrived a night. As we were looking for the hotel, it was a little difficult to spot; the sign was not illuminated--the only one dark among several other hotels. With the illumination of parking lot flood lights the exterior looked inviting.

The lobby was clean and the clerk was friendly & helpful. She didn't acknowledge us as being Priority Club members as the previous two hotel clerks had in Memphis & Knoxville. This isn't very important to me, but I thought it was worth mentioning. Our reservation had already been set up. All I had to do was initial and sign in.

The room was clean & functional. The bathroom wallpaper was bubbling & peeling in several places. One thing I will never understand is why hotels wallpaper bathrooms, especially bathrooms with jetted tubs; as this bathroom was equipped. I didn't try the jetted tub (for potential health concerns) so I don't know if it was functional. The handicapped stabilization bar next to the tub was loose. It was safe, it was just loose.

As I was getting ice I noticed a notice on the swimming pool room stating that the hot tub was inoperative.

In the morning, we were in a hurry to leave, so grabbed a bagel & drink. Noticed the hot plate/waffle maker was marked inoperative.

Checkout process was a breeze. Regardless of my seemingly negative review, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
13.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
12.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Evansville East
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#23 of 36 in Evansville
61 reviews
13.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Evansville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Evansville

Address: 19600 Elpers Rd, I-64 and US Hwy 41 on exit 25A, Evansville, IN 47725-8591 (Formerly Apar Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range: $61 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Evansville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This non-smoking Red Roof Inn Evansville is situated at the intersection of U.S. 41 and I-64. We are conveniently located near Cambridge Golf & Country Club, Vanderburgh County 4-H Fairgrounds, Toyota Manufacturing Corp., Vincennes University Extension, and Evansville Regional Airport. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The Eastland Mall is a 20 minute drive from this hotel and the Tropicana Casino is located about 20 miles in downtown Evansville. Our banquet/meeting room can accommodate up to 40 people. Red Roof Inn Evansville is 100% non-smoking and offers a meeting room that can accommodate up to 40 people, free hot breakfast available from 6:00 am to 9:00 am (includes sausage, fresh eggs, cinnamon rolls, cereal, bagels & cream cheese, bread, orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice, coffee, tea, and milk), and a business center. All rooms include free WiFi, flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. Some rooms offer in-room coffee, microwave & refrigerator. One well behaved family pet per room (only one pet allowed per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Evansville North (i-64 And Us 41)
Holiday Inn Express Evansville North (i-64 & Us 41) Hotel Evansville
Holiday Inn Evansville
Evansville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing