We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff was exceptional. The breakfast was really bad and under stocked. I expected the breakfast to be at least comparable to other holiday Inn's. The room never got very cool even after asking staff to look at unit. The door lock system worked very poorly it took an upward of 6 times to get the door card to work in the doors. Multiple guest had this issue. As I said in the beginning the staff was exceptionally friendly. The hotel was very clean and the issues listed above were the only issues we had.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I am so sorry you experienced these issues during your recent stay with us. We did have an issue with the key machine and are happy to say that it has been corrected with new equiptment. We will be sharing your feedback with our staff to make sure we are offering all options on our breakfast buffet as it is a great ammenity for our guests when done correctly. I am hopeful you will come back and try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

If the hotel itself was equal to the staff this would rate excellent, unfortunately it doesn't. As my husband and I talked about it we decided the hotel itself was more like a lower end hotel, with a few upgrades, trying to be a high end hotel. We saw several things around the hotel that were in need of repair (corner moulding for example) and just tired looking. It was a clean hotel and the beds were quite comfortable. The staff was outstanding! Breakfast left something to be desired, it seemed the eggs were powdered eggs. In my opinion those are just yucky. They do have oatmeal, yogurt, breakfast meat, fruit and the like so I'm sure it would be enjoyable for most people. We were there for a wedding and got a discounted rate, I was glad because I don't think it is worth the regular price. We have stayed other places in Evansville and the hotels were nicer for an equal price.

Room Tip: do not stay on the first floor it is very noisy and the rooms are freezing! I also would try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank besnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We want to take a moment and thank you for your feedback. I have shared your comments with our staff and we will be working hard to improve some areas that you have mentioned. We hope you come back soon and notice some of our changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I choose Holiday Inn airport Evansville since it is close to work. The rooms average but clean! I enjoy the indoor space , I was here a few times this passed winter it was nice to have space to work or walk around or eat when the is cold. Food is great free breakfast , the meals from the bar are of large sizes and taste great. I will be staying here in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank br5498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for business. The people who work here are great, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the food/drinks are superbly priced.

Couldn't have wished for a more comfortable base!

Nice big room's with massive comfortable beds. Plenty of choice at breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip to Evansville! We enjoy getting feedback from our guests and I will be sure to share this with our entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Within the last 14 months the facility became a Holiday Inn and the owners rennovated the entire building with outstanding results. Tamara, at the front desk, is an asset to any organization. She is knowledgeable and friendly and makes everyone feel at home. The graduation came off without a hitch, thanks to the great staff.

Room Tip: Look for a corner room when overlooking the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We are so happy to have our guests notice our recent renovation and appreciate the changes we made as we converted to a full-service Holiday Inn property. We thank you for the time you took to let other travelers know about our facility and our outstanding team members! Tamara is the best! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a favorite spit for visitors to the University of Evansville. I cam sure see why. This is a spacious hotel with all the comforts of a big city 4 star hotel, but with a decidedly lower cost.

The amenities are super, terrific indoor pool, first class exercise room and an unbelievable breakfast buffet. And super nice staff

It is really worth it to stay at the Airport Holiday Inn when traveling to Evansville. Whether it is for business or travel you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property! We sincerely appreciate your visit and hope to see you back at our location soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were in town for my daughter's graduation. The Holiday Inn Express on the West side of Evansville is much nicer than the Holiday Inn at the Airport. The HI at the Airport was more expensive (about $50.00 more) and is in need to some room renovations. There was a large gap between the carpet and the wall paper, big enough for a large mouse or insects to enter if it so desired. The bathroom was small and the wastebasket was placed in front of some very bad wallpaper. I did not shower the morning of departure because I just didn't feel as though the room was clean. There was no microwave or refrigerator in the room, for the price I expected them. The noise from a wedding reception was tremendous. I understand that they paid for the facility also, but the music was so loud and thumping I had to wad up toilet paper and put in my ears just to go to sleep. They could have at least kept the doors to the banquet room closed. I did call the front desk and the young lady was very nice and offered me additional priority points for this inconvenience. On the morning of departure, we were at the breakfast bar at 9:15. Breakfast is supposed to be served until 10. They were out of pastries, fruit, & yogurt. The apple, o.j., and milk containers were empty. We had to go back after our meals to get our drinks. The cereals are not kid friendly. On the morning of check-out, I discussed my concerns regarding my stay with the gentleman who checked me out. He said, "I told you when you checked in that we had a wedding party of 60+ people checking in and we were operating at 90% so running out of breakfast items is going to happen." I would think that if they were expecting a wedding party and that USI was having a graduation that weekend that they would have prepared for it. That's poor planning as far as I am concerned.The indoor pool appeared nice but it was so crowded that we didn't even try to swim. I will be back to Evansville to visit my daughter frequently but I will NOT be staying here again. I picked this hotel because I thought it would be a little nicer than the HI Express for a special occassion. I was sadly disappointed. My advice, If you are booking a reservation with this hotel inquire about any parties/receptions being held that evening. If so, and you are exhausted, don't plan on getting much peace, quiet, or rest.

Room Tip: Do not get a ground floor close to pool. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We would like to apologize for your experience while staying with us. Your feedback will help us improve our service to all of our guests and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we stand and how we can improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evansville hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
#2 of 36 in Evansville
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Evansville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Evansville, IN
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evansville West
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Evansville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel

Address: 7101 US Highway 41 North, Evansville, IN 47725 (Formerly Marriott Evansville Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Price Range: $102 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether working or relaxing, the Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel is the perfect place to revive. The Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel is less than a mile from Evansville Regional Airport. Your groups and teams are welcome and will be accomodated with large meeting spaces and tons of space to gather in our lobbys and public areas. Our renovation is complete so come and see our new look. Dont miss out on our new offering of a free hot breakfast buffet for all of our guests...the eggs are real and so is the bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Evansville Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Evansville
Evansville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing