We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chinese Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yen Ching

Yen Ching
Ranked #36 of 403 Restaurants in Evansville
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
321 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed both our food and service at Yen Ching. The food was hot and fresh. The portions were very generous on the lunch menu so I can only imagine what the dinner portions must look like! The server was very friendly and personable. One small hiccup would be on pricing. The prices on the check were different from menu prices. I inquired about this and was explained that taxes are added to each item individually. I did not fully understand this as it was always an even amount like .50 or .75. Any, the food and service are excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A family tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family doesn't go out to eat a ton, but when we are all back in town, we make sure to include Yen Ching as an outing. We have been coming here for as long as I can remember, and have yet to be disappointed in a visit. Generous servings prepared fresh as well as friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have eated at Yen Ching over 20 years - despite not living in Evansville. We eat here when traveling. Excellent Chinese food - the best I've had anywhere. Ingredients are fresh and excellently prepared. Great atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjandljtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go there several times a month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yen Ching is Evansvilles best known Chinese restaurant. Been in business forever, same owners, wins the "Best of Evansville" award every year. Clean, high quality, unreal service, great prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! Always order the crab rangoons, hot braised chicken, & hot tea. They have a great Sunday buffet. Must eat here!

Helpful?
Thank Lizweigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yen Ching also viewed

 

Been to Yen Ching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing