We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Indiana Historical Restaurant”
Review of The Log Inn

The Log Inn
Ranked #4 of 408 Restaurants in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Southern Indiana Historical Restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went to the Log Inn recently to celebrate - nothing special, my wife, daughter, and I just enjoy the food at the Log Inn. They serve some of the best fried chicken in southern Indiana and service is always attentive. Eating family style is the way to go at the restaurant. Choose between fried chicken, ham steak, or roast beef - we each get a different meat and share, there's always enough. They keep a constant supply of veggies and mashed potatoes & gravy on the table. The one place in the tri-state to take visiting guests. And there is the historical connection to Abe Lincoln.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiteman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    59
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place to Eat!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My family has celebrated many events at The Log Inn as well as just dining there for fun. The Log Inn is north of Evansville and was a stop for travelers in the 1800s. Abraham Lincoln stopped there. Much of the building is still the original log with some newer additions. How can I describe the food? Amazing. I have never ordered from the menu. We always have family style. Each person chooses his meat: chicken, roast beef, ham, fish. Every side is brought in large bowls for everyone. I order fried chicken all white and they give me two breastsand two wings. The beef looks like a roast! The slaw is famous in the area. It is a sweet, vinegar slaw and is so delicious. Other sides include mashed potatoes, corn, green beans, white or dark gravy, and rolls. Refills are constant. If you have any room left, the inn has wonderful homemade desserts. The atmosphere is great and it seems it is still a bustling stop. There is plenty of parking as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“simple down home food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice people, simple basic no-frills American food. Good when you want something uncomplicated, especially if you have finnicky eaters in the family who are not in the mood to experiment with new dishes or flavors. Known for fried chicken. Lots of large families and grandparents when we were there. Fantastic selection of pies. Very crowded on a Saturday evening - uncomfortably so. Outdated decor. Teeny tiny Kiiiens under the outside wood stairs - just wanted to scoop them up and bring them home!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great place to meet”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Best fried chicken and family style meals make a great place for dinner!
Good friendly service and generous portions. If it's just 2 of you, a la carte sides are enough for 2 and it costs less than family style. They do not take credit cards but there is an ATM on site.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We went with a group of people and got the family style dinner. It was awesome! The corn and mashed potatoes were prepared perfectly. Living near south Saint Petersburg, I am used to eating good fried chicken and the Log Inn's definitely met my expectations for quality and flavor. I would recommend this restaurant without reservation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kornellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Log Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing