We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a night with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Log Inn

The Log Inn
Ranked #6 of 403 Restaurants in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good for a night with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

There has been a wait every time I go there of at least 45 minutes to an hour. They are also cash only. The atmosphere is friendly and rustic. I love their family style meals. The service is ok and the food is pretty good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    55
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home style cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We love The Log Inn. They're usually busy so there may be a wait, but it's worth it. We always order the family style with chicken, but there are other meat options. It comes with tolls, cole slaw, mashed potatoes, corn, and either peas or green beans. They also have items that you can order from the menu, but we've never tried anything else. When my boys are leaving for college or come home for a visit we always have to visit The Log Inn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memory of Abe Lincoln”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went the nite of the Lincoln 150 Anniversary...as usual it was awesome..very crowded for a Tuesday nite, we were seated at the last table in the dining room around 6:30pm. We all ordered a different entree so we could taste different things. The fried chicken was golden brown and very hot, the livers and gizzards were cooked to perfection and the ham steak was huge and tasty. We did mashed potatoes, peas, cole slaw and corn. Everything was wonderful and as busy as they were we had excellent service and the food came in a timely fashion. A must for good home cooking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of 25 and they put us all together and our waitress was great and the food was great like always I have been here several times and love the family style food and I guarantee you will not go away hungry great chicken and roast beef

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have an Historic Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Log Inn is a locally-owned family business about 30 minutes north of Evansville. It used to be a stage coach stop and trading post in the 1800s. The old part of the restaurant is an actual log cabin with a pot belly stove in the center. The walls are decorated with history - including Abraham Lincoln items. He once ate there in 1844.

The menu is filled with traditional home cooking, but the best way to dine is family style. Each person gets a choice of meat, and the whole table shares items like mashed potatoes, gravy, vegetables, and rolls. If you don't leave with a full belly, it's your own fault.

It's a little out of the way, but the Log Inn is a great place for a hearty meal and a little history.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Log Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Log Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing