We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“LOVE THE STEAKS AND SALAD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Como

House of Como
Ranked #60 of 393 Restaurants in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LOVE THE STEAKS AND SALAD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We eat here every few months, the steaks are GREAT! the place is pricey, but we feel it's worth it for special occasions. You can eat here on a budget, but when we come, we can't pass up the steaks!

The interior is very eclectic and dated....come for the food, not the decor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best food in Evansville - unique taste treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've eaten here for more than 40 years and haven't found a better restaurant in Evansville or in neighboring Henderson, KY or Owensboro, KY. The Arabian offerings are a particular delight. A favorite is the yebra malfoof -- rolled cabbage leaves filled with beef and rice served in a tomato sauce. Italian selections are excellent as well. Service is top notch and friendly. Bar drinks are generous and well-prepared. Recent upgrades have made the interior much more inviting. Don't be put off by the exterior or neighborhood; they are part of the charm. Take cash - no credit cards accepted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Diverse menu with generally great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We hadn't been to the House of Como in years, but that unique Reservations-Only (on-the-weekend), Cash-Only place that serves up Italian and other Mediterranean specialties was as good or better than we had remembered. Where can you go that still has handwritten bills, and where the service is uniformly attentive and friendly? The house salad with flatbread is fresh and delectable; the dressing light and lively. My lamb chops were tasty, but just a bit on the small side (for the $25/with two sides meal price). The fresh shrimp my wife had was also delicious, but the 6 jumbo shrimp were the entire meal. And I don't recommend the baklava...it was a piece measuring 1"x1"..and while exquisitely tasty, come on....give me a little more for my $3.50!! From the other reviews, I guess I should try steak or an Italian dish next time, if I hope to get my money's worth. But we will come again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food--best steaks in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of our fav places to go. The food is excellent! My husband loves their steaks. He has eaten at alot of steaks at the big steak restaurants in bigger cities, but still tells me this one is the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank serendipity06Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the outside fool you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place has the best steaks handsdown! It's pricey, but you'll be moaning with every mouthful. Make sure you're hungry if you order the T-bone or New York Strip. You'll be trying to picture the size of the cow it came from. They buy their beef daily and select every cut. The kabob is filet and melts in your mouth. Perfect for someone without a massive appetite. It comes with jasmine rice cooked with almond slivers and seasoned beef. It's served wrapped in their handmade Arabic flatbread. Check or cash only! Now I have to go just from writing this review!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToxicChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Como also viewed

 

Been to House of Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing